. .


Congratulations to our 2009 ALA Award Winners!

TENDER MORSELS by Margo Lanagan is a MICHAEL L. PRINTZ HONOR winner.

PIANO STARTS HERE: The Young Art Tatum by Robert Andrew Parker was awarded the SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD.
This award recognizes books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Beginning in 2009, this award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.


Oprah's "Kids Reading List" is out! 15 Random House Books made the list. Check out the following books Oprah loves for kids:

What's Up, Duck?: A Book of Opposites
Baby! Baby!
Pat the Bunny
A Kitten Tale
Go, Dog, Go!

Mind Your Manners, B. B. Wolf
Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuwart Little
Nothing But Trouble: The Story of Althea Gibson
My Father's Dragon
London Eye Mystery
Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything In It
Ringside, 1925: Views from the Scopes Trial
Red Glass
The Silver Kiss


Check out Christopher Paolini, on tour for the release of Brisingr!

Find out tour dates here.

Mark your calendars!

Ann Brashares has a new book coming out in January 2009. The book is called 3 Willows.

Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill wins the Michael L. Printz honor.

Established in 1999, the Michael L. Printz Award honors excellence in literature written for young adults.

Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything In It by Sundee T. Frazier wins the Coretta Scott King/ John Steptoe Award for New Talent.

The Coretta Scott King / John Steptoe New Talent Author Award is given to African American authors and illustrators to affirm new talent and offers visibility to excellence in writing or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published book creator.

Author Walter Dean Myers wins the May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award.

This award honors an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, of any country, who will present a lecture at a winning host site.

Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers will publish book three of Christopher Paolini's #1 bestselling Inheritance series!

The third book will be released on September 23, 2008. The series will be expanded to include a fourth full-length novel.

To read the full press release, click here.

Alfred A. Knopf and Crown Books for Young Readers is happy to announce the publication of a new book by Philip Pullman!

Once Upon a Time in the North, the newest adventure in the His Dark Materials universe, is set for an April release.

To read the full press release, click here.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman is the latest pick for the Today Show's "Al's Book Club for Kids"!

This first book from the His Dark Materials trilogy will be featured on the Today Show this fall. For more details, visit the Today Show's website.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman has been named the GREATEST children's book of the past 70 years!

To celebrate the 70th anniversary of The Carnegie Medal, readers were invited to vote on their all-time favorite book from a list of previous Medal winners. The Golden Compass received more than 40% of the votes in this global poll!

Just in Case by Meg Rosoff wins the 2007 Carnegie Medal.

The Carnegie Medal is awarded by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) for an outstanding book for children and young people.

The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon by Mini Grey won the 2007 Kate Greenaway Medal and is nominated for a 2007 Quill Award.

The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by CILIP for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.



Hattie Big Sky
by Kirby Larson and Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm both win Newbery Honors!

The John Newbery Medal and Honor Awards recognize the authors of the year’s most outstanding contributions to children’s literature.

• Click on the book cover to read more!

The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak wins
a Printz Honor.

The Michael L. Printz Award, established in 1999, honors excellence in literature written for young adults.
Small Steps by Louis Sachar wins the Schneider Family Book Award.

The Schneider Family Book Award is for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.
The Pull of the Ocean by Jean-Claude Mourlevat, translated by Y. Maudet wins the Mildred L. Batchelder Award.

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award is for an outstanding children's book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States.
The Killer’s Tears by Anne-Laure Bondoux wins the Mildred L. Batchelder Honor.

Photo © 2003

Lois Lowry wins the Margaret A. Edwards Award.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award is for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults.






Sign up for the Read & Play Newsletter for age-by-age recommendations, discounts, news about upcoming books, literacy activities and more!
Click here for more info...


Hot off the press! Check out some of this month's reading highlights...
See New Releases

Author Photo

Meet Jeff Stone, author of Phoenix

Jeff Stone lives in the Midwest with his wife and two children and practices the martial arts daily.

Read more


Click here for age-appropriate recommendations on our bestselling pre-school, chapter, and middle-grade book series!

For a full list of book recommendations try Search by Theme!


From Dr. Seuss to Dora the Explorer, Random House has books featuring your favorite characters!

. .