Random House Audio Listening Library
The Last Winter of Dani Lancing Cover

The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

Written by P. D. Viner
Read by Various

Work ID: 228067

ISBN: 9780804149211

Format: Unabridged Audiobook Download

List Price: $22.50

On Sale Date: Oct 8, 2013



For fans of Tana French and The Silent Wife, THE LAST WINTER OF DANI LANCING is a chilling debut thriller hailed by Sophie Hannah as “brilliant” about one murder’s devastating ripple effects.
 
Twenty years ago, college student Dani Lancing was kidnapped and brutally murdered. The killer was never found. Dani’s family never found peace.

Thrust into an intense devastation that nearly destroys their marriage, Patty and Jim Lancing struggle to deal with their harrowing loss. Patty is fanatically obsessed with the cold case; consumed by every possible clue or suspect no matter how far-fetched, she goes to horrifying lengths to help clarify the past.  Meanwhile, Jim has become a shell of his former self, broken down and haunted—sometimes literally—by his young daughter’s death. Dani’s childhood sweetheart, Tom, handles his own grief every day on the job—he’s become a detective intent on solving murders of other young women, and hopes to one day close Dani’s case himself.

Then everything changes when Tom finds a promising new lead. As lies and secrets are unearthed, the heartbreaking truth behind Dani’s murder is finally revealed.
THE LAST WINTER OF DANI LANCING is a shockingly disturbing and deeply powerful debut, and P.D. Viner immediately joins the ranks of Tana French, A. S. A. Harrison, and Gillian Flynn.




From the Hardcover edition.

“Brilliant!  P. D. Viner’s writing is audacious, clever and bold. I think he’ll go far.” —Sophie Hannah, author of The Wrong Mother
 
“An exciting thriller that is also deeply moving. A hugely impressive debut.” —Mark Billingham, author of Rush of Blood

"Inventive, clever, and beautifully written. This novel of a single crime's ripple effects on the survivors is told with ingenious plotting and rich, true characters. A bold and impressive debut." —Ace Atkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Broken Places

"The Last Winter of Dani Lancing marks the debut of a major new voice in crime fiction. P. D. Viner has crafted a deeply textured psychological thriller that reveals, layer by tragic layer, the damage wrought by a single act of homicide. A remarkably assured and thrilling read. Look forward to more." —Michael Harvey, author of The Innocence Game

“Sharply drawn characters populate the pages of Viner’s accomplished debut, which shifts between past and present, steadily ratcheting up the suspense.”—Booklist
 
“[An] ambitious first novel, a psychological thriller...[with a] satisfying ending.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“A chilly, emotionally charged page-turner…it will hook readers with its intensity and puzzlelike plot.”—Kirkus Reviews

“For those suspense readers who are looking for an extremely deep and involved plot that jumps from character to character and keeps them on their toes at all times, this is the one!... Solid writing from this new author will keep their target reader more than intrigued.” —Suspense magazine


From the Hardcover edition.