Random House Audio Listening Library
Harry Lipkin, Private Eye Cover

Harry Lipkin, Private Eye

Written by Barry Fantoni
Read by Arthur Morey

Work ID: 219081

ISBN: 9780449011379

Format: Unabridged Audiobook Download

List Price: $20.00

On Sale Date: Jul 10, 2012



Meet Harry Lipkin, the world's oldest private detective: part Sam Spade, part Woody Allen, all mensch.

Harry Lipkin is a tough-talking, soft-chewing, rough-around-the-edges, slow-around-the-corners private investigator who carries a .38 along with a spare set of dentures. Harry specializes in the sort of cases that cops can't be bothered with, but knows where to find good chopped liver for a fair price. He might not be the best P.I. in Miami, but at 87, he's certainly the oldest.

His latest client, Mrs. Norma Weinberger, has a problem. Someone in her home is stealing sentimental trinkets and the occasional priceless jewel from her; someone she employs, trusts, cares for, and treats like family. With the stakes so low and blood pressure that's a little too high, Harry Lipkin must figure out whodunit before the thief strikes again.
 
Sure to appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith, Harry Lipkin, Private Eye is sharp, funny and irresistible.

“[A] truly fine detective novel—....[the ending is] as startling to Harry as it is to readers. It’s moving, too, and that’s another break from the classic rules of the game. An offbeat beauty.”
--Booklist, starred review