The Killer Inside Me
A Novel
by Jim Thompson

"Uncompromising and wickedly entertaining....
Casey Affleck leads a rich ensemble cast."
—Aaron Hilis, The Village Voice

  • Read an excerpt
  • Print a free reading group guide
  • Watch the movie trailer
  • Visit the official movie site at
  • Buy the book

  • About the Film

    Now a major motion picture from IFC Films, Starring Jessica Alba, Kate Hudson, Casey Affleck, Bill Pullman, Ned Beatty, and Simon Baker. Directed by Michael Winterbottom (24 Hour Party People) from a screenplay by Robert D. Weinbach and John Curran.

    About the Book

    Lou Ford is the deputy sheriff of a small town in Texas. The worst thing most people can say against him is that he's a little slow and a little boring. But, then, most people don't know about the sickness--the sickness that almost got Lou put away when he was younger. The sickness that is about to surface again.

    An underground classic since its publication in 1952, The Killer Inside Me is the book that made Jim Thompson's name synonymous with the roman noir.

    "Probably the most chilling and believable first-person story of a criminally warped mind I have ever encountered."
    --Stanley Kubrick

    "Jim Thompson is the best suspense writer going, bar none."
    --The New York Times

    About the Author

    James Meyers Thompson, (1906 - 1977) was born in Anadarko, Oklahoma. He began writing fiction at a very young age, selling his first story to True Detective when he was only fourteen. Thompson eventually wrote twenty-nine novels, all but three of which were published as paperback originals. Thompson also wrote two screenplays (for the Stanley Kubrick films "The Killing" and "Paths of Glory"). An outstanding crime writer, the world of his fiction is rife with violence and corruption. In examining the underbelly of human experience and American society in particular, Thompson's work at its best is both philosophical and experimental. Several of his novels have been filmed by American and French directors, resulting in classic noir including The Killer Inside Me (1952), After Dark My Sweet (1955), and The Grifters (1963).



    [Home]  [Featured Presentation]  [Coming Attractions]  [Also Playing]  [Vintage Books]  [Film Archive]

    Copyright © 1999, Random House, Inc