BOOKS
About this Book
Search for the Shadowman
Enlarge Image

Search for the Shadowman

Written by Joan Lowery NixonAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Joan Lowery Nixon


· Yearling
· Trade Paperback · April 7, 1998 · $6.99 · 978-0-440-41128-4 (0-440-41128-9)
Also available as an eBook.

  • Add to Barnes and Noble Wish List
  • Add to Good Reads
  • Add to Librarything
  • Add to Shelfari

About this Book
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Search for the Shadowman from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Twelve-year-old Andy Thomas isn’t thrilled with his teacher’s assignment to explore family history. But when he starts asking questions about his ancestors, he is surprised to discover a black sheep named Coley Joe Bonner. No one wants to discuss what happened in the family’s past. Everyone, including Andy’s own relatives, advises him to stop his investigation. But Andy continues and searches everywhere, from the Internet to the local cemetery, to discover the truth. Will Andy’s search hurt those he loves or make them realize that it’s never too late to seek social justice?
 
“A riveting tale of suspense set against a background of fascinating historical context.” –School Library Journal
 
“Hints of disgrace and treachery…children will read the story for the fun of guessing who is warning Andy off the case.” –Booklist