BOOKS
About this Book
Starters
Starters
Enlarge Image

Starters

Written by Lissa PriceAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Lissa Price


· Delacorte Press
· Hardcover · March 13, 2012 · $17.99 · 978-0-385-74237-5 (0-385-74237-1)
Also available as an unabridged audiobook download, eBook and a trade paperback.

  • Add to Barnes and Noble Wish List
  • Add to Good Reads
  • Add to Librarything
  • Add to Shelfari

Praise
“A smart, swift, inventive, altogether gripping story.”
Dean Koontz

“Fans of The Hunger Games will love it.”
–Kami Garcia, coauthor of the bestselling BEAUTIFUL CREATURES/Caster series
 
“STARTERS is a compelling, pulse-pounding, exciting sci-fi adventure with a strong female lead. Don’t miss it!”
New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr

"The only thing better than a terrific concept is one that is as well executed as Starters. Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats."
Los Angeles Times

"Built up to a dramatic climax and a stunning twist, Starters is an addictive and alluring tale about human nature's darker side, and how far we'll go to get what we want. Readers everywhere will want to dive right in, and Hunger Games fans especially will find themselves hooked."
Examiner.com

"This story of those who are not what they seem twists along with multiple-identity switcheroos and chase scenes worthy of a Hollywood blockbuster . . . The inevitable sequel can’t appear soon enough."
Booklist
 
"Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense."
Kirkus Reviews

“Newcomer Price launches a dystopian series that offers . . . a notable command of technique . . . Raising questions about class, property, and body/mind separation, Price's thriller features well-crafted tension, believable villains, and moments of stolen sweetness.”
Publishers Weekly

"Intriguing, fast-paced . . . Fans of dystopian novels will be completely engaged and clamoring for the sequel."
School Library Journal

“Hard to imagine a young adult reader who would not be interested in this book”
VOYA
 
“The concept is compulsively gruesome. . . . Price develops her plot and characters with tight, punchy writing and a sure, confident touch.” 
–The Daily Mail

“This action-packed novel is set in a twisted, hostile world and is a must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast paced, romantic, and thought provoking, the jaw-dropping ending left us starving for a sequel.”
Justine Magazine

“Starters is a dystopian read you'll want to snatch up for yourself . . . With its intriguing plot-twists and dash of romance, Lissa's novel is a bona fide pageturner that proves you can't take anything—or anyone—at face value.”
MTV.com’s Hollywood Crush Blog

“Intriguing, thought-provoking and addictive.”
BookReporter.com
 
“Chilling and riveting.”
Shelf-Awareness.com