BOOKS
About this Book
Jake
Jake
Enlarge Image

Jake

Written by Audrey CouloumbisAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Audrey Couloumbis


· Yearling
· Trade Paperback · August 23, 2011 · $6.99 · 978-0-375-85631-0 (0-375-85631-5)
Also available as an eBook.

  • Add to Barnes and Noble Wish List
  • Add to Good Reads
  • Add to Librarything
  • Add to Shelfari

About this Book
"I'm old enough to stay home alone, you know."

Mom said, "Not a chance. Who's going to lug the loot ba—" and the locks on the door sprung open. I opened the door and unloaded the cart. It took five minutes, probably less.

"Mom?" I said, looking around when I'd finished. I didn't see her. "Mom?" I yelled. "Mom?"


It's a few days before Christmas when 10-year-old Jake's mom slips and breaks her leg. For as long as Jake can remember, it's just been him and his mom, so with no one else to look after him the hospital contacts the gruff granddad Jake only knows through awkward twice-a-year phone calls. When grandad shows up, he's nothing like Jake expected. But as Jake gets to know his grandfather and a makeshift family of friends and neighbors come together around him and his mom, he realizes that this might not be such a bad Christmas after all.

With beautiful spare writing that will appeal to fans of Because of Winn-Dixie and The Higher Power of Lucky, Newbery Honor—winning author Audrey Couloumbis tells a story as warm and welcome as a cup of hot chocolate on a cold day and shows that the best gift of all is the gift of family.