BOOKS
About this Book
Nightmare
Enlarge Image

Nightmare

Written by Joan Lowery NixonAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Joan Lowery Nixon


· Delacorte Books for Young Readers
· eBook · December 18, 2007 · $6.99 · 978-0-307-43358-9 (0-307-43358-7)
Also available as a trade paperback.

  • Add to Barnes and Noble Wish List
  • Add to Good Reads
  • Add to Librarything
  • Add to Shelfari

About this Book About the Book
Read an Excerpt
About this Book

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Nightmare from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Emily has never fit in with her overachieving family. Instead of getting straight As, she sits in the back row and hides behind her hair. As a result, her parents have enrolled her for the summer at Camp Excel, an academic camp for underachievers. Emily doesn’t want to go, and not just because she thinks it isn’t necessary. Since she was a child, she’s been plagued by a recurring nightmare. And something about this camp feels familiar. Has she been there before? Why can’t she remember?
        With the help of two new friends, Emily discovers that her nightmare is not just in her head. Someone at Camp Excel has a secret and will do anything—even kill—to keep Emily from uncovering the truth.
 
“A taut, well-constructed mystery.” –Kirkus Reviews
 
“Readers will once again fall under Nixon’s spell as they enjoy this page-turner.” –School Library Journal
 
“[An] inimitable blend of horror and whodunit.” –Booklist
 
“[Nightmare has] taut suspenseful passages…[and] clever false leads.” –Publishers Weekly