BOOKS
Bestsellers
Don't know what you want to read? Try a bestseller! Find out what so many others have loved about these books.
 sorted by:
FDR's Alphabet Soup: New Deal America 1932-1939
Written by Tonya Bolden
January 2010 | $19.99

FDR’S New Deal, which followed the 1929 stock market crash, was a hugely influential moment in the history of the United States, encompassing everything from the arts to finance, labor to legislation, and some think it helped bring the country out of the Great Depression. Here, Tonya Bolden, writing in her...

Read More
Into the Firestorm: A Novel of San Francisco, 1906
Written by Deborah Hopkinson
March 2008 | $6.99

“I believe I can just see you on the streets of that bright city.”

Gran’s gone now, but her words live on with Nicholas Dray, almost twelve, as he makes his way from the hot cotton fields to that Queen of Cities: San Francisco. Nick’s on his own for the first time...

Read More
Daughter of Venice
Written by Donna Jo Napoli
December 2003 | $7.99

In 1592, Donata is a noble girl living in a palazzo on the Grand Canal. Girls of her class receive no education and rarely leave the palazzo. In a noble family, only one daughter and one son will be allowed to marry; Donata, like all younger daughters, will be sent to...

Read More
The Crossroads
Written by Chris Grabenstein
May 2009 | $7.99

Perfect for Halloween! From the New York Times bestselling author of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library and coauthor of I Funny and Treasure Hunters, comes a series of spine-tingling mysteries to keep you up long after the lights go out.

Zack, his dad, and new stepmother have just moved back to his father’s hometown, not knowing that their new...

Read More
Anna of Byzantium
Written by Tracy Barrett
October 2000 | $6.99

For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.

   Anna Comnena has every reason to feel entitled. She's a princess, her father's firstborn and his chosen successor. Someday she expects to sit on...

Read More
Scat
Written by Carl Hiaasen
January 2009 | $17.99

From Newbery Honoree Carl Hiaasen comes this New York Times bestseller set in Florida's Everglades in which an eccentric eco-avenger, a stuffed rat named Chelsea, a wannabe Texas oilman, a singing substitute teacher, and a ticked-off panther can’t stop two kids on a mission to find their missing teacher!
 
Bunny...

Read More
Fate
Written by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
March 2009 | $8.99

For the past two years, Bailey Morgan has lived a double life: high school student by day, ancient mystical being by night. As the third Fate, Bailey literally controls the fate of the world, but as Plain Old Bailey, her life is falling apart. She’s got a tattoo that was supposed...

Read More
The Tin Princess: A Sally Lockhart Mystery
Written by Philip Pullman
September 2008 | $7.99

AFTER WITNESSING A mysterious explosion, three young Londoners—Becky, Jim, and Adelaide—journey to a tiny country high in the mountains of Central Europe in 1882. They’re an unlikely trio to lead a country, but when Adelaide’s husband, the new king, is assassinated, she finds herself fighting for the crown—and for her very...

Read More
In the Forests of the Night
Written by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
May 2000 | $6.99

By day, Risika sleeps in a shaded room in Concord, Massachusetts. By night, she hunts the streets of New York City. She is used to being alone. But someone is following Risika. He has left her a black rose, the same sort of rose that sealed her fate 300 years ago...

Read More
Wide Awake
Written by David Levithan
September 2008 | $8.99

The New York Times bestselling author of Every Day delivers an emotional and politically charged novel that’s perfect reading for an election year—and for every year—but most especially for those times when the very democratic process is called into question and basic rights are at risk.
 
In the not-too-impossible-to-imagine future...

Read More
A Swift Pure Cry
Written by Siobhan Dowd
September 2008 | $8.99

Ireland 1984.After Shell's mother dies, her obsessively religious father descends into alcoholic mourning and Shell is left to care for her younger brother and sister. Her only release from the harshness of everyday life comes from her budding spiritual friendship with a naive young priest, and most importantly, her developing relationship...

Read More
A Bridge to the Stars
Written by Henning Mankell
August 2009 | $7.99

This poignant novel explores how a unilateral decision can change a life.

Two things are hard for Joel Gustafson to cope with: not knowing why, and not being able to do anything about it. Joel’s father was once a sailor who lived by the sea. Joel’s mother once lived with them. Joel’s...

Read More
Edge Chronicles: The Last of the Sky Pirates
Written by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell
May 2009 | $8.99

The newest paperback installment in the exciting Edge Chronicles!

Rook Barkwater lives in the network of sewer-chambers beneath Undertown, the bustling main city of the Edgeworld. He dreams of becoming a librarian knight—one of those sent out to explore the mysteries of their world. When his chance comes, Rook grabs it! Breaking...

Read More
What They Always Tell Us
Written by Martin Wilson
February 2010 | $8.99

JAMES AND ALEX have barely anything in common anymore—least of all their experiences in high school, where James is a popular senior and Alex is suddenly an outcast. But at home, there is Henry, the precocious 10-year-old across the street, who eagerly befriends them both. And when Alex takes up running...

Read More
The Buccaneers
Written by Iain Lawrence
February 2003 | $7.99

"There’s pirates in the West Indies. Cannibals. They cook you alive," says Mr. Spencer to his son. These words will come to haunt 17-year-old John as he embarks on his first voyage to foreign lands. Carrying cargo destined for Jamaica, John and his crew of the Dragon set off for waters...

Read More
Prey
Written by Lurlene McDaniel
March 2010 | $7.99

A teacher is supposed to impart a love of learning and a thirst for knowledge. It’s a bit different with Ms. Lori Settles. All the kids are talking about how hot she is–and she is especially interested in Ryan Piccoli. When she starts giving Ryan extra attention, he’s feeling more than...

Read More
The Rising Star of Rusty Nail
Written by Lesley M. M. Blume
June 2009 | $7.99

“A story that is as rich as it is delicious.”—Booklist, Starred

Franny Hansen is a 10-year-old piano prodigy living in Rusty Nail, Minnesota. Once the Coot Capitol of the world, in 1953 it's just a run-of-the-mill town with one traffic light and a bizarre cast of characters. She's long exhausted...

Read More
Demon in My View
Written by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
September 2001 | $6.99

Though nobody at her high school knows it, Jessica is a published author. Her vampire novel, Tiger, Tiger, has just come out under the pen name Ash Night. Now two new students have just arrived in Ramsa, and both want Jessica’s attention. She has no patience with overly friendly Caryn, but...

Read More
1001 Cranes
Written by Naomi Hirahara
June 2009 | $7.99

“A contemplative story.”—Booklist

When twelve-year-old Angela Kato arrives in L.A., the last thing she wants to do is spend the entire summer with her grandparents. But in the Kato family, one is never permitted to complain. Grandma Michi and Aunt Janet put Angela to work in their flower shop, folding origami and...

Read More
Recycle This Book
Edited by Dan Gutman
March 2009 | $7.99

With essays from renowned children’s book authors such as Ann Brashares, Jeanne DuPrau, Caroline B. Cooney, Laurie Halse Anderson, Bruce Coville, Gennifer Choldenko, and over 100 others, each piece is an informative and inspiring call to kids of all ages to understand what’s happening to the environment, and to take action...

Read More

View pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4