BOOKS
Bestsellers
Don't know what you want to read? Try a bestseller! Find out what so many others have loved about these books.
 sorted by:
King Dork
Written by Frank Portman
February 2008 | $9.99

King Dork will rock your world.” --John Green, New York Times bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars

When Tom Henderson finds his dead father’s copy of J. D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye, his world is turned upside down. Suddenly high school gets more complicated: Tom (aka King Dork) finds himself in the...

Read More
Scat
Written by Carl Hiaasen
January 2009 | $17.99

From Newbery Honoree Carl Hiaasen comes this New York Times bestseller set in Florida's Everglades in which an eccentric eco-avenger, a stuffed rat named Chelsea, a wannabe Texas oilman, a singing substitute teacher, and a ticked-off panther can’t stop two kids on a mission to find their missing teacher!
 
Bunny...

Read More
The Buccaneers
Written by Iain Lawrence
February 2003 | $7.99

"There’s pirates in the West Indies. Cannibals. They cook you alive," says Mr. Spencer to his son. These words will come to haunt 17-year-old John as he embarks on his first voyage to foreign lands. Carrying cargo destined for Jamaica, John and his crew of the Dragon set off for waters...

Read More
Daughter of Venice
Written by Donna Jo Napoli
December 2003 | $7.99

In 1592, Donata is a noble girl living in a palazzo on the Grand Canal. Girls of her class receive no education and rarely leave the palazzo. In a noble family, only one daughter and one son will be allowed to marry; Donata, like all younger daughters, will be sent to...

Read More
The Tin Princess: A Sally Lockhart Mystery
Written by Philip Pullman
September 2008 | $7.99

AFTER WITNESSING A mysterious explosion, three young Londoners—Becky, Jim, and Adelaide—journey to a tiny country high in the mountains of Central Europe in 1882. They’re an unlikely trio to lead a country, but when Adelaide’s husband, the new king, is assassinated, she finds herself fighting for the crown—and for her very...

Read More
Messenger
Written by Lois Lowry
January 2009 | $7.99

Messenger is the masterful third novel in the Giver Quartet, which began with the dystopian bestseller The Giver, now a major motion picture.
 
Matty has lived in Village and flourished under the guidance of Seer, a blind man known for his special sight. Village once welcomed newcomers, but something sinister has seeped...

Read More
Vampire High
Written by Douglas Rees
July 2010 | $9.99

It doesn’t take long for Cody Elliot to realize that his new high school is a little different. The other students are supernaturally strong, don’t like the sunlight, and are always placing orders at the local blood bank. When his new friend shows him his fangs, Cody doesn’t need any more...

Read More
Skellig
Written by David Almond
September 2001 | $6.99

Michael was looking forward to moving into a new house. But now his baby sister is ill, his parents are frantic, and Doctor Death has come to call. Michael feels helpless. Then he steps into the crumbling garage and encounters a strange being who changes his world forever.

Read More
33 Things Every Girl Should Know About Women's History
Edited by Tonya Bolden
February 2002 | $12.95

Here’s the perfect book for anyone interested in learning more about girls and women in the United States from the 18th century to the present. Featuring contributions from a wide variety of women, including well-known nonfiction writers, a children’s librarian, historians, and many more, this latest addition to the 33 Things...

Read More
Wrestling Sturbridge
Written by Rich Wallace
July 1997 | $6.99

The critics' votes are in--Wrestling Sturbridge is a winner!  Now available in rack-sized paperback.

Read More
Alligator Bayou
Written by Donna Jo Napoli
May 2010 | $8.99

An unforgettable  novel, based on a true story, about racism against Italian Americans in the South in 1899.
 
Fourteen-year-old Calogero, his uncles, and his cousins are six Sicilians living in the small town of Tallulah, Louisiana, miles from any of their countrymen. They grow vegetables and sell them at their stand and...

Read More
What They Always Tell Us
Written by Martin Wilson
February 2010 | $8.99

JAMES AND ALEX have barely anything in common anymore—least of all their experiences in high school, where James is a popular senior and Alex is suddenly an outcast. But at home, there is Henry, the precocious 10-year-old across the street, who eagerly befriends them both. And when Alex takes up running...

Read More
The Other Half of Life
Written by Kim Ablon Whitney
May 2010 | $7.99

A heartbreaking novel based on the true story of a World War II voyage.

In May of 1939, the SS St. Francis sets sail from Germany, carrying German Jews and other refugees away from Hitler’s regime. The passengers believe they are bound for freedom in Cuba and eventually the United States, but...

Read More
Prey
Written by Lurlene McDaniel
March 2010 | $7.99

A teacher is supposed to impart a love of learning and a thirst for knowledge. It’s a bit different with Ms. Lori Settles. All the kids are talking about how hot she is–and she is especially interested in Ryan Piccoli. When she starts giving Ryan extra attention, he’s feeling more than...

Read More
Suck It Up
Written by Brian Meehl
August 2009 | $8.99

“A refreshing take on the vampire romance.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred

Are you up to your neck in bloodsucking vampire stories?

Tired of those tales about dentally enhanced dark lords?

Before I wrote this book I thought all vampires were night-stalking, fangpopping, bloodsucking fiends. Then I met Morning McCobb. He’s a vegan vampire who...

Read More
I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It
Written by Adam Selzer
January 2010 | $7.99

Algonquin “Ali” Rhodes, the high school newspaper’s music critic, meets an intriguing singer, Doug, while reviewing a gig. He’s a weird-looking guy—goth, but he seems sincere about it, like maybe he was into it back before it was cool. She introduces herself after the set, asking if he lives in Cornersville...

Read More
FDR's Alphabet Soup: New Deal America 1932-1939
Written by Tonya Bolden
January 2010 | $19.99

FDR’S New Deal, which followed the 1929 stock market crash, was a hugely influential moment in the history of the United States, encompassing everything from the arts to finance, labor to legislation, and some think it helped bring the country out of the Great Depression. Here, Tonya Bolden, writing in her...

Read More
The Necromancer
Written by Michael Scott
May 2010 | $18.99

Nicholas Flamel appeared in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter—but did you know he really lived? And he might still be alive today! Discover the truth in Michael Scott’s New York Times bestselling series the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel with The Necromancer, book four. 

   Sophie and Josh Newman are finally...

Read More
Anna of Byzantium
Written by Tracy Barrett
October 2000 | $6.99

For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.

   Anna Comnena has every reason to feel entitled. She's a princess, her father's firstborn and his chosen successor. Someday she expects to sit on...

Read More
The Rising Star of Rusty Nail
Written by Lesley M. M. Blume
June 2009 | $7.99

“A story that is as rich as it is delicious.”—Booklist, Starred

Franny Hansen is a 10-year-old piano prodigy living in Rusty Nail, Minnesota. Once the Coot Capitol of the world, in 1953 it's just a run-of-the-mill town with one traffic light and a bizarre cast of characters. She's long exhausted...

Read More

View pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4