RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

The Bubble Wrap Boy

By: Phil Earle
Imprint: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780553513158
2015-10-13 - $16.99

"Middle school readers will easily relate to the situational humor and school life, but everyone should read this book for its message. The Bubble Wrap Boy is perfect for fans of R.J. Palacio’s Wonder and will be an excellent addition to any library or classroom."-VOYA

   Charlie Han’s troubles are much bigger than he is. At school he’s branded an outsider, a loser—the tiny kid from the Chinese takeout. His only ally is Sinus Sedgely, a kid with a lower-level reputation than Charlie himself. Life at home isn’t much better. His dad is more skilled with a wok than he is with words, and his mom is suffocating the life out of Charlie, worried about his every move. But when a new passion leads Charlie to the mother of all confrontations, he finds his real mom has been hiding a massive secret. A secret that while shocking, might actually lead Charlie to feeling ten feet tall.
    The Bubble Wrap Boy is a funny and inspiring novel about friendship, family, and one undersized boy's ability to think BIG. 

"Both laugh-out-loud funny and heartbreaking...In the fast-growing bullying genre, Charlie's story stands out. This isn't a kid who will do anything to join the cool clique. This is a story about staying true to yourself and following your passion."-Kirkus Reviews

"Earle excels at showing personal growth in the characters, and it is gratifying to observe the believable evolution of Sinus’s and Charlie’s parents. VERDICT Family drama with a solid mix of action, adventure, and humor."-SLJ   

"Charlie is a character to root for. He is witty and perceptive and has a secret weapon in his best friend, Sinus Sedgely....[The Bubble Wrap Boy is] exciting to read."-Booklist    

"Charlie's amusing sarcasm masks a vulnerability that will resonate with anyone who has felt like an outsider. The humiliation of being the butt of a joke is sensitively rendered, as is Charlie's slow reclamation of his pride in this witty, true-to-life story."-Publishers Weekly