RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Summer of the Monkeys

By: Wilson Rawls
Format: Trade Paperback
Imprint: Yearling
ISBN: 9780440415800
12/29/1998 - $6.99
Categories: Animals - Apes, Monkeys, etc., Historical - United States - 19th Century, Family - Multigenerational,

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Summer of the Monkeys is another childhood favorite from the beloved author of the bestelling novel Where the Red Fern Grows.

   The last thing fourteen-year-old Jay Berry Lee expects to find while trekking through the Ozark Mountains of Oklahoma is a tree full of monkeys. But then Jay learns from his grandpa that the monkeys have escaped from a traveling circus and there’s a big reward for the person who finds and returns them.
    His family could really use the money, so Jay sets off, determined to catch them. But by the end of the summer, Jay will have learned a lot more than he bargained for—and not just about monkeys.
    From the beloved author of Where the Red Fern Grows, comes another memorable adventure novel filled with heart, humor, and excitement over the course of one extraordinary summer.

Praise for Wilson Rawls’ Where the Red Fern Grows
 
A Top 100 Children’s Novel, School Library Journal
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of 4 State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!
 
A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased.” —The New York Times Book Review
 
One of the great classics of children’s literature . . . Any child who doesn’t get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years.” —Common Sense Media
 
An exciting tale of love and adventure you’ll never forget.” —School Library Journal
 
A book of unadorned naturalness.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion.” —Arizona Daily Star
 
“It’s a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can’t even go on without getting a little misty.” —The Huffington Post