RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

The Sixty-Eight Rooms

By: Marianne Malone
illustrated by: Greg Call
Format: Trade Paperback
Imprint: Yearling
ISBN: 9780375857119
04/05/2011 - $6.99
Categories: Art & Architecture, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Action & Adventure,

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the first exciting Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—the perfect next step for kids who loved the Magic Tree House series, and readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck! Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the deep inside the Chicago Art Institute they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms. Each room is set in a different historic period, and every detail is perfect. Some might even say, the rooms are magic. Imagine—what if on a field trip, you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you could sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

The New York Times:
 "Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."