RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

The Trap

By: Joan Lowery Nixon
Format: eBook
Imprint: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780307820457
10/31/2012 - $6.99
Categories: Mysteries & Detective Stories,

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Trap from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Julie has the perfect summer plan. She’ll be with her friends on the swim team, and this year, for the first time, they have a chance to make the Interstates. So when her family tells her she’s being sent to spend the summer with her great-aunt and great-uncle at Rancho del Oro, their ranch in Texas, she feels resentful.
        Once she’s at Rancho del Oro, however, Julie quickly learns that something strange is going on. Pieces of jewelry and other little objects are missing. The older people on the ranch say they may have misplaced the items—but something doesn’t add up. Julie’s Uncle Gabe only broke his ankle when he fell down the stairs from his observatory, but two other men on the ranch have recently died. The deaths have been ruled accidents, but were they? When Julie figures out that Uncle Gabe’s fall was not an accident, she knows she must discover the killer’s identity. Or she could be next.
        Joan Lowery Nixon expertly combines a family story with a compelling mystery to keep her readers guessing until the very end.
 
“With its twists and turns, this page-turner is a must for mystery fans.” –School Library Journal
 
“[The Trap] maintains a fast pace, with likeable, interesting characters and a dash of romance.” –VOYA
 
“A teen reader can identify with…Julie.” –Kirkus Reviews


From the Hardcover edition.