RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

War


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Fearless

By: Emma Pass

For fans of The Hunger Games, Matched, Divergent, and The Fifth Wave, this fast-paced futuristic thriller tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cass and her fight to protect her younger...

The Obernewtyn Chronicles #8: The Waking Dragon

By: Isobelle Carmody

The eighth book in the epic series the Obernewtyn Chronicles is full of romance, action, and suspense. Fans of George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series will rejoice to see such a breathtakingly...

Monkey Wars

By: Richard Kurti

“Strikingly original” is how Anthony Horowitz, author of the Alex Rider series, describes Monkey Wars."Kurti draws from history to deliver a powerful allegory . . . [and] keeps this effective,...


Dog Diaries #6: Sweetie

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

George Washington’s transformation from farmer to Father of Our Country—as told by his dog Sweetlips!   Sweetie was the finest foxhound in George Washington’s kennel. But Sweetie’s...

Deep Sea

By: Annika Thor
translated from the Swedish by: Linda Schenck

Readers of Anne of Green Gables and Hattie Ever After will love following Stephie’s story, which takes place during World War II and began with A Faraway Island and continued with The Lily Pond....

Seraphina

By: Rachel Hartman

Lyrical, imaginative, and wholly original, this New York Times bestseller with 8 starred reviews is not to be missed.  Rachel Hartman’s award-winning debut will have you looking at dragons as...


The Red Winter

By: Henry H. Neff
illustrated by: Henry H. Neff

An inventive and action-packed mix of fantasy, science fiction, and mythology, all in a realistic contemporary setting.   Rowan has won a battle, but not the war. With proper allies, Rowan’s...

Unbroken (The Young Adult Adaptation)

By: Laura Hillenbrand

The #1 New York Times bestseller, which is also a major motion picture directed by Angelina Jolie, has now been adapted by the author for young adults. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this riveting...

Toliver's Secret

By: Esther Wood Brady

When her grandfather is injured, 10-year-old Ellen Toliver replaces him on a top-secret patriotic mission. Disguised as a boy, she manages to smuggle a message to General George Washington.


Featured Resources:

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

A Faraway Island

By: Annika Thor
translated from the Swedish by: Linda Schenck

BOOK TALK
The streets of Vienna are swarming with Nazi soldiers and Jewish families aren't safe. Stephie and Nellie Steiner are sent to Sweden to await their parents' escape to Amsterdam, where they...

The FitzOsbornes in Exile

By: Michelle Cooper

Book Talk
After a German attack on their island kingdom, Montmaray, Sophie and the rest of her family are forced to flee to the safety of their Aunt Charlotte’s home in England where life is one...


World at War

By: Meg Rosoff

This award winning novel will soon be released as a movie starring Saoirse Ronan as Daisy.

Fifteen-year-old New Yorker Daisy is sent to live in the English countryside with...

Download Resource

The Winter War: A Novel

By: William Durbin

BOOK TALK
 
You wouldn't think that surviving polio and learning to walk again would be easy, but compared to defending your home from invading Russians, anything else seems easy. In the...

Raven Summer

By: David Almond

Download Resource

Woods Runner

By: Gary Paulsen

Samuel, 13, spends his days in the forest, hunting for food for his family. He has grown up on the frontier of a British colony, America. Far from any town, or news of the war against the King that American...

Download Resource

Badd

By: Tim Tharp

BOOK TALK
Ceejay and her older brother Bobby have always been close. They both feel like they were born into the wrong family. They enjoyed being badasses together in high school… not in a mean...