RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Survival


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Bodies We Wear

By: Jeyn Roberts

A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this thriller for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Robin Wasserman.  People say when you take Heam,...

Sky Jumpers Book 2: The Forbidden Flats

By: Peggy Eddleman

Escape one danger. Jump into another. . . .   Twelve-year-old Hope has always felt a little different from everyone else who lives in White Rock. She tries hard, but she doesn’t always think...

Nightmares!

By: Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller
illustrated by: Karl Kwasny

A New York Times Bestseller!Jason Segel, multitalented actor, writer, and musician, teams up with New York Times bestselling author Kirsten Miller for the hilariously frightening, middle-grade novel Nightmares!,...


The Rule of Thoughts (Mortality Doctrine, Book Two)

By: James Dashner

From James Dashner, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Maze Runner series, which includes The Maze Runner—now a #1 movie worldwide—and The Scorch Trials—soon to be a major...

Divided (Dualed Sequel)

By: Elsie Chapman

The hunter becomes the hunted. . . .   West Grayer is done killing. She defeated her Alternate, a twin raised by another family, and proved she’s worthy of a future. She’s ready to move...

Bloodwitch

By: Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

"Atwater-Rhodes made a splash with her first novel, In the Forests of the Night (1999). Since then she has continued writing lush fantasies of fully realized, wellconceived worlds, and the first volume...


The Obernewtyn Chronicles #7: The Sending

By: Isobelle Carmody

Once shunned as a Misfit for the powers that set her apart, Elspeth Gordie has finally found happiness and love. But when she receives the long-awaited summons to begin her final quest, she must slip out...

The Winter Horses

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

ACID

By: Emma Pass

"Jenna Strong is a futuristic Jason Bourne."--Justine MagazineFans of Matched and Divergent will be hooked by this fast-paced, nail-biting survival story, featuring an unforgettable heroine reminiscent...


Featured Resources:

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Shy took the summer job to make some money. In a few months on a luxury cruise liner, he'll rake in the tips and be able to help his mom and sister out with the bills. And how bad can it be? Bikinis, free...

Download Resource

Ice Island

By: Sherry Shahan

What begins as a training run with sled dogs turns into a race against time for Tatum and her new friend, a Siberian Yupik boy named Cole. When a freak blizzard hits this remote island off the coast of...

Download Resource

Dark Water

By: Laura McNeal

A National Book Award Finalist
A Kirkus Reviews Best Books for Teens

Fifteen-year-old Pearl DeWitt lives in Fallbrook, California, where it's sunny 340 days of the year, and where her uncle...

Download Resource

Under the Blood-Red Sun & Eyes of the Emperor

By:

Download Resource

The River

By: Gary Paulsen

NOTE TO TEACHERS
The River was a direct response to readers who sent letters telling me that Brian's story wasn't done at the end of Hatchet. So many wanted to know what happened to Brian after the...

The Brian Books – Gary Paulsen

By: Gary Paulsen

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Message from the Author
The River was a direct response to readers who sent letters telling me that Brian's story wasn't done at the end of Hatchet. So many wanted to know what...


Alida’s Song and The Cookcamp

By: Gary Paulsen

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Life with a boy’s loving grandmother gives him strength and faith in himself, drawing him away from the edge and into the center of life, in these two remarkable novels based on...

The Books of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

Come inside award-winning author Jeanne DuPrau’s imaginary worlds, where the characters may be fictional, but their reactions to potential catastrophes remind us what all humans are capable of when faced...

Download Resource

Different Perspectives on World War II


Download Resource

Milkweed

By: Jerry Spinelli

He’s a boy called Jew. Gypsy. Stopthief. Runt. Happy. Fast. Filthy son of Abraham.

He’s a boy who lives in the streets of Warsaw. He’s a boy who steals food for himself and...

Download Resource

Woods Runner

By: Gary Paulsen

BOOK TALK
 
Thirteen-year-old Samuel Lehi Smith has grown up on the frontier in Western Pennsylvania and knows very little about the war between American Patriots and the British. Then one...

The Ransom of Mercy Carter

By: Caroline B. Cooney

Download Resource