RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Survival


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Fearless

By: Emma Pass

For fans of The Hunger Games, Matched, Divergent, and The Fifth Wave, this fast-paced futuristic thriller tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cass and her fight to protect her younger...

Bloodkin (Book 2)

By: Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

Fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone will love this second book in the Maeve'ra trilogy by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes that asks the question: how much is one life worth, and when is the price...

The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials: The Collector's Edition (Maze Runner, Book One and Book Two)

By: James Dashner

Get lost in the thrilling action and twisting plotlines of James Dashner’s #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series. Read the first two books—The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials—discover...


Apollo 13 (Totally True Adventures)

By: Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld

Could you survive an outer-space disaster? Aspiring astronauts and young explorers will love this out-of-this-world Totally True Adventure.   Astronauts Jim Lovell, Jack Swigert, and Fred Haise blasted...

The Great Trouble

By: Deborah Hopkinson

“A delightful combination of race-against-the-clock medical mystery and outwit-the-bad-guys adventure.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred   Eel has troubles of his own: As an orphan and...

The Obernewtyn Chronicles #8: The Waking Dragon

By: Isobelle Carmody

The eighth book in the epic series the Obernewtyn Chronicles is full of romance, action, and suspense. Fans of George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series will rejoice to see such a breathtakingly...


Firefight

By: Brandon Sanderson

A #1 New York Times BestsellerBrandon Sanderson, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Words of Radiance, coauthor of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, and creator of the internationally...

Monkey Wars

By: Richard Kurti

“Strikingly original” is how Anthony Horowitz, author of the Alex Rider series, describes Monkey Wars."Kurti draws from history to deliver a powerful allegory . . . [and] keeps this effective,...

Navigating Early

By: Clare Vanderpool

“Just the sort of book that saves lives by igniting a passion for reading.” —James Patterson   “Reminiscent of Huckleberry Finn.” —The Wall Street Journal  ...


Featured Resources:

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

“De la Peña has created a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.”-Entertainment Weekly, A-
 
“Action is first and foremost. ....

Download Resource

Ice Island

By:

Download Resource

Dark Water

By: Laura McNeal

A National Book Award Finalist
A Kirkus Reviews Best Books for Teens

Fifteen-year-old Pearl DeWitt lives in Fallbrook, California, where it's sunny 340 days of the year, and where her uncle...

Download Resource

Under the Blood-Red Sun & Eyes of the Emperor

By:

Download Resource

The River

By: Gary Paulsen

NOTE TO TEACHERS
The River was a direct response to readers who sent letters telling me that Brian's story wasn't done at the end of Hatchet. So many wanted to know what happened to Brian after the...

The Brian Books – Gary Paulsen

By: Gary Paulsen

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Message from the Author
The River was a direct response to readers who sent letters telling me that Brian's story wasn't done at the end of Hatchet. So many wanted to know what...


Alida’s Song and The Cookcamp

By: Gary Paulsen

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Life with a boy’s loving grandmother gives him strength and faith in himself, drawing him away from the edge and into the center of life, in these two remarkable novels based on...

The Books of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

Come inside award-winning author Jeanne DuPrau’s imaginary worlds, where the characters may be fictional, but their reactions to potential catastrophes remind us what all humans are capable of when faced...

Download Resource

Different Perspectives on World War II


Download Resource

Milkweed

By: Jerry Spinelli

A stunning novel of the Holocaust from a Newbery Medalist

He's a boy called Jew. Gypsy. Stopthief. Filthy son of Abraham.

He's a boy who lives in the streets of Warsaw. He's a boy...

Download Resource

Woods Runner

By: Gary Paulsen

BOOK TALK
 
Thirteen-year-old Samuel Lehi Smith has grown up on the frontier in Western Pennsylvania and knows very little about the war between American Patriots and the British. Then one...

The Ransom of Mercy Carter

By: Caroline B. Cooney

Download Resource