RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Poverty


Browse By:

Featured Books

Nancy and Plum

By: Betty MacDonald
illustrated by Mary GrandPre; introduction by: Jeanne Birdsall

It was Christmas Eve. Big snowflakes fluttered slowly through the air like white feathers and made all of Heavenly Valley smooth and white and quiet and beautiful.So begins the story of two orphaned sisters...

Born and Bred in the Great Depression

By: Jonah Winter
illustrated by: Kimberly Bulcken Root

East Texas, the 1930s—the Great Depression. Award-winning author Jonah Winter's father grew up with seven siblings in a tiny house on the edge of town. In this picture book, Winter shares his family...

Trash

By: Andy Mulligan

In an unnamed Third World country, in the not-so-distant future, three “dumpsite boys” make a living picking through the mountains of garbage on the outskirts of a large city. One unlucky-lucky...


The Carpenter's Gift

By: David Rubel
illustrated by: Jim LaMarche

This "new classic" Christmas story brings together two great traditions: the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree and the neighbor-helping-neighbor program of Habitat for Humanity. Opening in Depression-era...

Waiting for the Biblioburro

By: Monica Brown
Illustrated by: John Parra

Ana loves stories. She often makes them up to help her little brother fall asleep. But in her small village there are only a few books and she has read them all. One morning, Ana wakes up to the clip-clop...

Where the Red Fern Grows

By: Wilson Rawls

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend.    Billy has long dreamt of owning...


I Will Save You

By: Matt de la Peña

Newbery Medal-winning author Matt de la Peña’s I Will Save You is a "heartwarming, root-for-the-underdog novel." [SLJ]   Kidd is running from his past and his future. No mom, no...