RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Peer Pressure

Browse By:

Featured Books


By: Kevin Emerson

When Anthony's angst-ridden rock 'n' roll lyrics go viral, he's unwittingly cast as the school rebel. The truth is, he's not trying to be anyone's hero. Anthony Castillo needs a new life.  His teachers...

They All Fall Down

By: Roxanne St. Claire

If you can’t wait for the premiere of Fox TV’s hot new series, Scream Queens, you will race through the pages of this pulse-pounding thriller. It’s Pretty Little Liars meets...

Astray (Gated Sequel)

By: Amy Christine Parker

This—a sequel to Gated—is a nerve-fraying contemporary young adult thriller that will make readers question loyalties as it twists truths.   Her life was based on a lie. Lyla Hamilton...

Gated: Extended Book Teaser

By: Amy Christine Parker

A fast-paced, nerve-fraying contemporary thriller that questions loyalties and twists truths. Read the first seven chapters for FREE in this extended book teaser that includes a letter from Amy Christine...


By: Amy Christine Parker

A fast-paced, nerve-fraying contemporary thriller that questions loyalties and twists truths.   Appearances can be deceiving.   Lyla Hamilton is a loyal member of the Community. Her family was...


By: Mark Goldblatt

It's not like I meant for him to get hurt. . . .Julian Twerski isn't a bully. He's just made a big mistake. So when he returns to school after a weeklong suspension, his English teacher offers him a deal:...

Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl

By: Carolita Blythe

Fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rita Williams-Garcia's One Crazy Summer will cherish this gripping story of an African American girl living in 1980s Brooklyn, who overcomes abuse and neglect in discovering...

The Chocolate War

By: Robert Cormier

One of the most controversial YA novels of all time, The Chocolate War is a modern masterpiece that speaks to fans of S. E. Hinton’s The Outsiders and John Knowles’s A Separate Peace.  ...

Tunes for Bears to Dance To

By: Robert Cormier

Money’s tight and Henry is lucky to have the job at Mr. Hairston’s grocery store. His parents are both lost in despair following the death of Henry’s older brother, and Henry is glad...

Featured Resources:

The League Book Talk

By: Thatcher Heldring

No one believes Wyatt Parker is about to start high school. He’s on the small side and getting picked on by the school bully. Girls certainly won’t give him the time of day What’s...

The Chocolate War

By: Robert Cormier

In Robert Cormier's unforgettable novels, an individual often stands alone, fighting for what is right--or just to survive--against powerful, sinister, and sometimes evil people....

Aces Up

By: Lauren Barnholdt

Thirty thousand dollars. That’s the only thing stopping math-wiz Shannon Card from being excited about her early acceptance to Wellesley College. Since her dad’s lost his job, she’s...

Friend or Fiend? with the Pain and the Great One

By: Judy Blume
illustrated by: James Stevenson

Jake and Abigail Porter have names for one another.  He calls her "The Great One" because she thinks she is so great.  She calls him "The Pain" because he is.  Jake only eats "white foods,"...

The Sharp Time

By: Mary O'Connell

Since her mother died, high school senior Sandinista Jones’ (Yes, she’s named after the Clash album.) life has been broken and lonely. And when a teacher does the unthinkable,...

You Against Me

By: Jenny Downham

A story that deals with sensitive issues of assault, this brave and unflinching novel is an honest and realistic portrayal when love comes between family bonds.  When Mikey’s sister claims...


By: Holly Thompson

A classmate commits suicide and Kana must face the reason.  Some friends had mistreated the girl, but what did that have to do with Kana? Her parents want her to reflect on her behavior, so they ship...


By: Jillian Larkin

Gangsters. Jazz Clubs. Speakeasies. Flappers. Deception. Murder. They weren’t called the Roaring Twenties for nothing.  Former friends Gloria, Lorraine and Clara, each go...

The Chamber of Five

By: Michael Harmon

In Jason’s world, money equals power and power equals control.  He easily climbs the ladder to success at theLambertSchoolfor the Gifted and is invited to join the exclusive ruling club,...