RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Mystery & Suspense : By Author : b


Books

The Haunted Lighthouse

By: Stan and Jan Berenstain
illustrated by: the authors

The vacation of a lifetime! That’s what the Bear Family think they are all in for when they rent the old lighthouse on Rocky Point Island. It may not have electricity, but it does have excitement....

Century #1: Ring of Fire

By: Pierdomenico Baccalario
translated by: Leah D. Janeczko

Every hundred years, four kids from four cities must save the world.Rome, December 29.A mix-up with their reservations forces Harvey from New York, Mistral from Paris, and Sheng from Shanghai to share...

Anna of Byzantium

By: Tracy Barrett

For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.   Anna Comnena has every...


The Secret of the Painted House

By: Marion Dane Bauer
illustrated by: Leonid Gore

When Emily finds a locked playhouse in the woods, she can't resist peeking through the windows. Inside, the walls are painted to look just like the surrounding woods, right down to an identical white playhouse...

Wanted...Mud Blossom

By: Betsy Byars

The Blossom family has an especially eventful weekend during which Junior Blossom loses the school hamster and Pap's dog Mud is put on trial for the hamster's murder!An ALA Notable Children's Book, A School...

Taken

By: Edward Bloor

BY 2035 THE RICH have gotten richer, the poor have gotten poorer, and kidnapping has become a major growth industry in the United States. The children of privilege live in secure, gated communities and...


The Not-Just-Anybody Family

By: Betsy Byars

When Junior Blossom wakes up in the hospital, his  last memory is of crouching on the barn roof with  cloth wings tied to his arms, and of Maggie and  Vern in the yard below,...

A Great and Terrible Beauty

By: Libba Bray

It’s 1895, and after the suicide of her mother, 16-year-old Gemma Doyle is shipped off from the life she knows in India to Spence, a proper boarding school in England. Lonely, guilt-ridden, and prone...

Say It Ain't So

By: Josh Berk

Lenny, Mike, and Other Mike are back in school for the glory that is seventh grade, and this year, Mike is determined to make catcher on the middle-school team. When Mike's hard work pays off and he wins...


Resources

Century #3: City of Wind

By: Pierdomenico Baccalario
translated by: Leah D. Janeczko

BOOK TALK
 
In the third installment of the Century Quartet, Mistral, Elettra, Harvey, and Sheng meet again in Paris to discuss new information about the Star of Stone.  When an archaeologist...

Marion Dane Bauer’s Stepping Stones Books

By: Marion Dane Bauer
illustrated by: Elizabeth Sayles

Download Resource

The Red Blazer Girls: The Mistaken Masterpiece

By: Michael D. Beil

BOOK TALK
 
Friends who solve crimes together, stay together, right?  This is certainly the case with the ever-so-smart Red Blazer Girls who are back at it solving a crime involving a painting...


The Red Blazer Girls: The Secret Cellar

By: Michael D. Beil

BOOK TALK
An antique fountain pen concealing a hidden message is the catalyst for the next mystery Red Blazer Girls tackle.  As Christmas approaches, the girls find themselves spending a lot of time...

Guy Langman, Crime Scene Procrastinator

By:

BOOK TALK
Guy obsesses about death.  He talks to his dead dad in the cemetery and resolves to write down everything his recently deceased father said to him.  When his friend, Anoop, convinces him...

Strike Three, You’re Dead

By: Josh Berk

BOOK TALK
Lenny loves baseball and the Philadelphia Phillies is his favorite team.  Lenny and his two best friends have a fun summer planned of riding their bikes, hanging out and watching the Phillies...


Taken

By: Edward Bloor

Download Resource