RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Humor


Browse By:

Featured Books

Billy and Goat at the State Fair

By: Dan Yaccarino

Two best friends visit the state fair in this tale of courage and corn dogs!   Billy and Goat are best friends, but they have different styles. Billy likes to smell the roses—Goat likes to eat...

The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek

By: Seth Rudetsky

Broadway, New York. The shows, the neon lights . . . the cute chorus boys! It's where Justin has always wanted to be--and now, with a winter internship for a famous actor, he finally has his chance to...

The Pirate Pig

By: Cornelia Funke
illustrated by: Kerstin Meyer

The beloved and bestselling author of Inkheart brings imagination, adventure, and humor to a swashbuckling full-color chapter book!   Who needs a treasure map when you have a pirate pig with a nose...


The First Day of School (Barbie)

By: Mary Man-Kong
illustrated by: Susanna Amati

Girls ages 3 to 7 will love to read how Barbie and her sisters help Chelsea deal with the first day of school in this brand-new series that focuses on the special moments in a girl's life. This full-color...

Cassidy's Guide to Everyday Etiquette (and Obfuscation)

By: Sue Stauffacher

Eleven-year-old Cassidy has just inherited a gift from her late great-grandmother. Unfortunately, that “gift” turns out to be a summer trapped in etiquette school. What good are manners, anyway,...

Ninja Bunny

By: Jennifer Gray Olson

A fresh, funny, and hip picture book about a little bunny who wants to be . . . a ninja!   How to be a SUPER AWESOME NINJA: · Rule #1. You must always work alone. · Rule #2. You must...


Duncan the Story Dragon

By: Amanda Driscoll

A charming story about the joys of reading that is perfect for fans of Dog Loves Books and Stellaluna.Duncan the Dragon loves to read. When he reads a story, his imagination catches fire! Unfortunately...

Duncan the Story Dragon: Read & Listen Edition

By: Amanda Driscoll

A charming story about the joys of reading that is perfect for fans of Dog Loves Books and Stellaluna.Duncan the Dragon loves to read. When he reads a story, his imagination catches fire! Unfortunately...

srsly Hamlet

By: William Shakespeare and Courtney Carbone

Hamlet, one of the greatest stories ever told . . . in texts?!   Imagine: What if Hamlet, the Prince of Denmark, and the tragic Ophelia had smartphones? A classic is reborn in this fun and funny adaptation...


Featured Resources:

The Phantom Tollbooth Educators’ Guide

By: Norton Juster
Guide prepared by: Bev Walnoha, a former teacher at Margaret White Elementary School in Blythe, California

Hailed as “a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention” (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and...

Download Resource

Off the Page Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jodi Picoult
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, Oregon

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and coauthor, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and...

Download Resource

Ninja Bunny Storytime Kit

By: Jennifer Gray Olson

A fresh, funny, and hip picture book about a little bunny who wants to be . . . a ninja!
 
How to be a SUPER AWESOME NINJA:
· Rule #1. You must always work alone.
·...

Download Resource

Comics Squad Book Talk

By: Jennifer Holm, Matthew Holm

BOOK TALK
Do you want to be a member of the Secret Super Ninja Club? Do you like Perilous Pizza? Do you love recess as much as Babymouse? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then Comics...

Cheesie Mack Series

By: Steve Cotler

"Cheesie Mack is a true original." —Gordon Korman, bestselling author of Swindle and Schooled

Ronald "Cheesie" Mack is not a genius or anything, but he remembers everything that happened...

Download Resource

Cheesie Mack is Running Like Crazy

By: Steve Cotler
illustrated by: Douglas Holgate

Book Talk
These are the top 10 reasons Cheesie is running:
 

 He is running from the “F” Mrs. Wikowitz just gave him for not completing her assignment exactly like she said....


Vote

By: Gary Paulsen

BOOK TALK
Vote by Gary Paulsen
When Kevin Spencer decides to run for school president to impress Tina, he has no idea how much of his time and brain will be required to win.  First, he has to...

Summer Reading Brochure

It’s been several months since Lina and Doon escaped the dying city of Ember and, along with the rest of their people, joined the town of Sparks. Now, struggling through the harsh winter aboveground,...

Download Resource

I Don’t Believe It, Archie!

By:

BOOK TALK
Poor Archie!  No one believes him when he tells them his life is anything but normal.  First, he finds himself in the middle of a gravel dump truck incident.  Then, there’s the afternoon...


Jackson Jones and the Puddle of Thorns

By: Mary Quattlebaum

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Meet basketball-loving entrepreneur Jackson Jones, whose tenth birthday and unexpected green thumb bring him disappointment, frustration, and even more negative attention from neighborhood...

The Beast in Ms. Rooney’s Room

By: Patricia Reilly Giff
illustrated by: Blanche Sims

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia Reilly Giff has used her writing talents and experience as a teacher to create the beloved Polk Street School books.
Discover the original...

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Birthday Parties, Science Projects, and Other Man-made Catastrophes

By: Lenore Look
illustrated by: LeUyen Pham

BOOK TALK
Alvin doesn’t really like birthday parties. They are unpredictable and you have to be on your best behavior the whole time. He did want to get invited to Hobson’s party though because...