RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Humor


Browse By:

Featured Books

Babymouse #19: Bad Babysitter

By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

Winner of the Eisner Award and multiple children’s choice awards and with over 2 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and...

Uh-Oh!

By: Shutta Crum
illustrated by: Patrice Barton

A charming summer story that's just right for toddlers, from the team behind the critically acclaimed picture book Mine!   What does a toddler say when she drops her sunglasses in the sand? "Uh-Oh!"...

Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk

By: Liesl Shurtliff

Fans of Adam Gidwitz and Chris Colfer will give a GIANT cheer for this funny fairytale retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk!All work and no play makes Jack extremely bored. And when Jack gets bored, he...


Denton Little's Deathdate

By: Lance Rubin

Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.   Denton Little’s Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day on which they will...

Fly!

By: Karl Newsom Edwards

A charming read-aloud picture book about learning to be yourself, filled with movement and including a page with fun facts about bugs!   Fly can’t wiggle like a worm. He can’t jump like...

The Island of Dr. Libris

By: Chris Grabenstein

Chris Grabenstein, author of the New York Times bestselling Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson, celebrates the power of imagination with...


Mom School

By: Rebecca Van Slyke
illustrated by: Priscilla Burris

In this adorable kid’s-eye view of what would happen if Mom went to school, a little girl imagines Mom School, where all moms learn their amazing skills, like fixing a bike tire and baking cupcakes....

How to Surprise a Dad

By: Jean Reagan
illustrated by: Lee Wildish

From the creators of the New York Times bestsellers HOW TO BABYSIT A GRANDPA and HOW TO BABYSIT A GRANDMA comes a charming new how-to book about surprising dear old Dad!   So you want to surprise...

Families, Families, Families!

By: Suzanne Lang
illustrated by: Max Lang

A host of silly animals in dozens of combinations demonstrate all kinds of nontraditional families! Cleverly depicted as framed portraits, these goofy creatures offer a warm celebration of family love....


Featured Resources:

Comics Squad Book Talk

By: Jennifer Holm, Matthew Holm

BOOK TALK
Do you want to be a member of the Secret Super Ninja Club? Do you like Perilous Pizza? Do you love recess as much as Babymouse? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then Comics...

Cheesie Mack Series

By: Steve Cotler

"Cheesie Mack is a true original." —Gordon Korman, bestselling author of Swindle and Schooled

Ronald "Cheesie" Mack is not a genius or anything, but he remembers everything that happened...

Download Resource

Cheesie Mack is Running Like Crazy

By: Steve Cotler
illustrated by: Douglas Holgate

Book Talk
These are the top 10 reasons Cheesie is running:
 

 He is running from the “F” Mrs. Wikowitz just gave him for not completing her assignment exactly like she said....


Vote

By: Gary Paulsen

BOOK TALK
Vote by Gary Paulsen
When Kevin Spencer decides to run for school president to impress Tina, he has no idea how much of his time and brain will be required to win.  First, he has to...

Summer Reading Brochure

It’s been several months since Lina and Doon escaped the dying city of Ember and, along with the rest of their people, joined the town of Sparks. Now, struggling through the harsh winter aboveground,...

Download Resource

I Don’t Believe It, Archie!

By:

BOOK TALK
Poor Archie!  No one believes him when he tells them his life is anything but normal.  First, he finds himself in the middle of a gravel dump truck incident.  Then, there’s the afternoon...


Jackson Jones and the Puddle of Thorns

By: Mary Quattlebaum

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Meet basketball-loving entrepreneur Jackson Jones, whose tenth birthday and unexpected green thumb bring him disappointment, frustration, and even more negative attention from neighborhood...

The Beast in Ms. Rooney’s Room

By: Patricia Reilly Giff
illustrated by: Blanche Sims

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia Reilly Giff has used her writing talents and experience as a teacher to create the beloved Polk Street School books.
Discover the original...

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Birthday Parties, Science Projects, and Other Man-made Catastrophes

By: Lenore Look
illustrated by: LeUyen Pham

BOOK TALK
Alvin doesn’t really like birthday parties. They are unpredictable and you have to be on your best behavior the whole time. He did want to get invited to Hobson’s party though because...


The City of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

BOOK TALK
Imagine living in a city that is running out of everything -- food, medicine, even electricity. Ember has no natural lighting -- only streetlamps that continually go out, thrusting the entire...

Babymouse #13: Cupcake Tycoon

By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

BOOK TALK
When the school’s library has a major flood and all of the books are ruined, they hold a school fundraiser to replace the books and you wouldn’t believe what they’re selling? Could...

Babymouse #6: Camp Babymouse

By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

BOOK TALK
Babymouse is at it again, and this time she's going to camp. Welcome to Camp Whiskers, a "Place where girls go to get lost"! With cupcakes in tow, Babymouse will join her cabinmates (the...