RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Human & Civil Rights


Browse By:

Featured Books

The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins: Read & Listen Edition

By: Dr. Seuss

As topical today as when it was first published in 1938, this book tells of Bartholomew Cubbins (from Caldecott Honor winner Bartholomew and the Oobleck) and his unjust treatment at the hands of King Derwin....

Paperboy

By: Vince Vawter

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred  "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt...

Nine Days

By: Fred Hiatt

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes...


Crow

By: Barbara Wright

The summer of 1898 is filled with ups and downs for 11-year-old Moses. He's growing apart from his best friend, his superstitious Boo-Nanny butts heads constantly with his pragmatic, educated father, and...

Harlem's Little Blackbird

By: Renee Watson
illustrated by: Christian Robinson

Zora and Langston. Billie and Bessie. Eubie and Duke. If the Harlem Renaissance had a court, they were its kings and queens. But there were other, lesser known individuals whose contributions were just...

Laugh with the Moon

By: Shana Burg

Laugh with the Moon is on the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List.  Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver is stuck. Stuck in denial about her mother’s recent death. Stuck in the African jungle for sixty-four...


Crow

By: Barbara Wright

The summer of 1898 is filled with ups and downs for 11-year-old Moses. He's growing apart from his best friend, his superstitious Boo-Nanny butts heads constantly with his pragmatic, educated father, and...

Sylvia & Aki

By: Winifred Conkling

Sylvia never expected to be at the center of a landmark legal battle; all she wanted was to enroll in school. Aki never expected to be relocated to a Japanese internment camp in the Arizona desert;...

The Hope Chest

By: Karen Schwabach

A perfect Common Core tie-in, The Hope Chest includes backmatter with period photographs, historical notes about the suffrage movement, and a Voting in America timeline. It's also a New York State Curriculum...