RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Human & Civil Rights


Browse By:

Featured Books

A Volcano Beneath the Snow

By: Albert Marrin

John Brown is a man of many legacies, from hero, freedom fighter, and martyr, to liar, fanatic, and "the father of American terrorism." Some have said that it was his seizure of the arsenal at Harper's...

Heroes for All Times

By: Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce
illustrated by: Sal Murdocca

Track the facts with Jack and Annie!When Jack and Annie got back from their adventure in Magic Tree House #51, they had lots of questions. How did Florence Nightingale change nursing? Who helped women...

The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins

By: Dr. Seuss

As topical today as when it was first published in 1938, this book tells of Bartholomew Cubbins (from Caldecott Honor winner Bartholomew and the Oobleck) and his unjust treatment at the hands of King Derwin....


The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins: Read & Listen Edition

By: Dr. Seuss

As topical today as when it was first published in 1938, this book tells of Bartholomew Cubbins (from Caldecott Honor winner Bartholomew and the Oobleck) and his unjust treatment at the hands of King Derwin....

Paperboy

By: Vince Vawter

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred  "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt...

Nine Days

By: Fred Hiatt

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes...


Crow

By: Barbara Wright

The summer of 1898 is filled with ups and downs for 11-year-old Moses. He's growing apart from his best friend, his superstitious Boo-Nanny butts heads constantly with his pragmatic, educated father, and...

Harlem's Little Blackbird

By: Renee Watson
illustrated by: Christian Robinson

From Caldecott Honor winner Christian Robinson and acclaimed author Renee Watson, comes the inspiring true story of Florence Mills.Born to parents who were both former slaves, Florence Mills knew at an...

Laugh with the Moon

By: Shana Burg

Laugh with the Moon is on the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List.  Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver is stuck. Stuck in denial about her mother’s recent death. Stuck in the African jungle for sixty-four...