RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Human & Civil Rights

Browse By:

Featured Books


By: Vince Vawter

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred  "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt...

Nine Days

By: Fred Hiatt

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes...


By: Barbara Wright

The summer of 1898 is filled with ups and downs for 11-year-old Moses. He's growing apart from his best friend, his superstitious Boo-Nanny butts heads constantly with his pragmatic, educated father, and...

Harlem's Little Blackbird

By: Renee Watson
illustrated by: Christian Robinson

Zora and Langston. Billie and Bessie. Eubie and Duke. If the Harlem Renaissance had a court, they were its kings and queens. But there were other, lesser known individuals whose contributions were just...

Laugh with the Moon

By: Shana Burg

Laugh with the Moon is on the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List.  Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver is stuck. Stuck in denial about her mother’s recent death. Stuck in the African jungle for sixty-four...

Sylvia & Aki

By: Winifred Conkling

Sylvia never expected to be at the center of a landmark legal battle; all she wanted was to enroll in school. Aki never expected to be relocated to a Japanese internment camp in the Arizona desert;...

The Hope Chest

By: Karen Schwabach

A perfect Common Core tie-in, The Hope Chest includes backmatter with period photographs, historical notes about the suffrage movement, and a Voting in America timeline. It's also a New York State Curriculum...

The Smart Aleck's Guide to American History

By: Adam Selzer

Do you know America? No, I mean, do you REALLY know America? Would you recognize John Adams in a lineup? Can you identify any presidents between Lincoln and Roosevelt?Hmmm. I thought so.Well, you really...