RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Human & Civil Rights


Browse By:

Featured Books

Dear Malala, We Stand with You

By: Rosemary McCarney

An inspiring letter to Malala Yousafzai, winner of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize, that is both a show of support and a call to action for girls around the world. Malala became the youngest person to...

Follow the Drinking Gourd

By: Jeanette Winter

Illus. in full color. "Winter's story begins with a peg-leg sailor who aids slaves on their escape on the Underground Railroad. While working for plantation owners, Peg Leg Joe teaches the slaves...

A Volcano Beneath the Snow

By: Albert Marrin

John Brown is a man of many legacies, from hero, freedom fighter, and martyr, to liar, fanatic, and "the father of American terrorism." Some have said that it was his seizure of the arsenal at Harper's...


Magic Tree House Fact Tracker #28: Heroes for All Times

By: Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce
illustrated by: Sal Murdocca

Track the facts with Jack and Annie!When Jack and Annie got back from their adventure in Magic Tree House #51, they had lots of questions. How did Florence Nightingale change nursing? Who helped women...

The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins

By: Dr. Seuss

As topical today as when it was first published in 1938, this book tells of Bartholomew Cubbins (from Caldecott Honor winner Bartholomew and the Oobleck) and his unjust treatment at the hands of King Derwin....

The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins: Read & Listen Edition

By: Dr. Seuss

As topical today as when it was first published in 1938, this book tells of Bartholomew Cubbins (from Caldecott Honor winner Bartholomew and the Oobleck) and his unjust treatment at the hands of King Derwin....


Paperboy

By: Vince Vawter

"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred  "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt...

Nine Days

By: Fred Hiatt

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes...

Harlem's Little Blackbird

By: Renee Watson
illustrated by: Christian Robinson

Zora and Langston. Billie and Bessie. Eubie and Duke. If the Harlem Renaissance had a court, they were its kings and queens. But there were other, lesser known individuals whose contributions were just...


Featured Resources:

Paperboy Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Vince Vawter
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred
 
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt...

Download Resource

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

Outcasts United and Out of Nowhere Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Warren St. John and Maria Padian

Download Resource

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

A wonderful middle-grade novel narrated by Kenny, 9, about his middle-class black family, the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan. When Kenny's 13-year-old brother, Byron, gets to be too much trouble, ...

Download Resource

Mountains Beyond Mountains Educator’s Guide

By: by Tracy Kidder, adapted for young people by Michael French

Tracy Kidder's critically acclaimed adult nonfiction work, Mountains Beyond Mountains has been adapted for young people by Michael French. In this young adult edition, readers are introduced to Dr. Paul...

Download Resource

You Never Heard of Willie Mays?!

By: Jonah Winter
illustrated by: Terry Widener

He hit 660 home runs (fourth best of all time), had a lifetime batting average of .302, and is second only to Babe Ruth on The Sporting News's list of "Baseball's 100 Greatest Players." Many believe him...

Download Resource

I Have a Dream (Book & CD)

By: Martin Luther King, Jr.
illustrated by: Kadir Nelson

From Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s daughter, Dr. Bernice A. King: “My father’s dream continues to live on from generation to generation, and this beautiful and powerful illustrated edition...

Download Resource

A Thunderous Whisper and The Red Umbrella

Ani believes she is just an insignificant whisper of a 12-year-old girl in a loud world. This is what her mother tells her anyway. Her father made her feel important, but he's been off fighting in Spain's...

Download Resource

North by Night

By: Katherine Ayres

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Sixteen-year-old Lucinda Spencer views her work on the Underground Railroad as an adventure until she is asked to make the ultimate sacrifice--leaving her family for the sake of another...


Nightjohn

By: Gary Paulsen

NOTE TO TEACHERS
A message from the Author
The way I came into writing Nightjohn, I came in the back door. I worked for several years on research on a book on Sally Hemings, who was a slave girl...

Anthony Burns

By: Virginia Hamilton

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Anthony Burns:
The Defeat and Triumph of a Fugitive Slave
Virginia Hamilton
Grades 7-10
Anthony Burns may be considered an obscure person in American history,...

Crow

By: Barbara Wright

BOOK TALK
Perhaps you have heard your grandparents talk fondly about “the good old days,” but not everything that happened “in the good old days” was a good thing, especially for African Americans. ...