RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/Pre-19th Century


Browse By:

Featured Books

Lucy & Andy Neanderthal

By: Jeffrey Brown

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes a hilarious graphic novel series about two young cave kids living 40,000 years ago.“Lucy & Andy are Stone Age rock stars!...

Clara

By: Emily Arnold McCully

This fascinating, informative, and touching picture book by a Caldecott Medalist is based on the true story of an eighteenth-century rhino who toured Europe and started a sensation! Clara is a book sure...

The True Adventures of Nicolo Zen

By: Nicholas Christopher

A richly detailed historical novel from master storyteller Nicholas Christopher that School Library Journal calls “[A] lush tale of music, magic, and intrigue”!   Nicolò Zen is...


The Blind Wish

By: Amber Lough

Two sisters. A war. And the wish to end regret.   The sisters: Najwa and Zayele have just learned they’re half-jinni, half-human twins. Najwa chooses life in the human palace, working for peace...

The Fire Wish

By: Amber Lough

A jinni. A princess. And the wish that changes everything. . . . Beautifully written and accessible fantasy for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rachel Hartman, and Laini Taylor.   In this romantic and evocative...

The True Adventures of Nicolo Zen

By: Nicholas Christopher

A richly detailed historical novel from master storyteller Nicholas Christopher that School Library Journal calls “[A] lush tale of music, magic, and intrigue”!   Nicolò Zen is...


The Waking Dark Chapter Sampler

By: Robin Wasserman

Experience The Waking Dark—read the first seventy pages for free.   A taut, haunting read, The Waking Dark is “a horror story worthy of Stephen King” (Booklist) and will appeal...


Featured Resources:

The Fire Wish Book Talk

By: Amber Lough

BOOK TALK
The story of Najwa, a jinni and Zayele, a princess whose desperate wish lands both girls in trouble, is book one of an exciting new fantasy. Both girls only know of the hatred between the...

The Lovely and the Lost Book Talk

By: Page Morgan

BOOK TALK
Moving to France didn’t help Ingrid and Gabby Waverly escape their past in London, it threw them into a nightmare world of demons, hounds and gargoyles. In, The Lovely and the Lost, Page...

A Passion for Victory (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Benson Bobrick
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children’s book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas...

Download Resource

Will in Scarlet Book Talk

By: Matthew Cody

BOOK TALK
His father missing, their kingdom under attack, and no money to mention, Will Scarlet goes on the run in order to avoid being killed.  His unknowing venture into Sherwood Forest lands him...

Heart of Glass

By: Sasha Gould

BOOK TALK
In Heart of Glass, the sequel to Sasha Gould’s Cross My Heart set in 16th century Venice, Laura della Scala’s life has changed drastically for the better since she discovered her sister’s...

The Lacey Chronicles #3: The Rogue’s Princess

By: Eve Edwards

BOOK TALK

Eve Edward's third installment of the Lacy Chronicles reintroduces the youngest Lacy brother, Kit Turner, now a player in Will Shakespeare’s company. When he is thrown together with...


Spirit’s Princess

By: Esther Friesner

BOOK TALK
Step back to early Japan in this latest gripping novel by Friesner of strong young women in history.  Young Himiko, daughter of the chieftain of the Matsu clan, tries to deny that the spirits...

The Lacey Chronicles #2: The Queen’s Lady

By:

BOOK TALK
After avoiding a loveless match, being rescued by a marriage of convenience, and widowed, Lady Jane Rievaulx is happy to be single and appointed as a Queen's Lady. However, arrival at court...

Sisters of Glass

By:

Download Resource

Picture Book Biography Brochure

In 1934, Ruth Harkness had never seen a panda bear.  Not many people in the world had.

But soon the young Mrs. Harkness would inherit an expedition from her explorer husband: the hunt for...

Download Resource

Cross My Heart

By:

BOOK TALK
While living in a convent was not ideal, at least it was better than the newest surprise Laura della Scala’s father had for her – forced marriage to a lecherous older man to help retain...

Sisters of Glass

By:

BOOK TALK
Can you ever imagine being told to marry a person you do not love, twenty years your elder ,  someone your parents choose for you simply because he has money and political power?  In fifteenth-century...