RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/Pre-19th Century

Browse By:

Featured Books

The Blind Wish

By: Amber Lough

Two sisters. A war. And the wish to end regret.   The sisters: Najwa and Zayele have just learned they’re half-jinni, half-human twins. Najwa chooses life in the human palace, working for peace...

The Fire Wish

By: Amber Lough

A jinni. A princess. And the wish that changes everything. . . . Beautifully written and accessible fantasy for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rachel Hartman, and Laini Taylor.   In this romantic and evocative...

The True Adventures of Nicolo Zen

By: Nicholas Christopher

A richly detailed historical novel from master storyteller Nicholas Christopher that School Library Journal calls “[A] lush tale of music, magic, and intrigue”!   Nicolò Zen is...

The Day We Danced in Underpants

By: Sarah Wilson
Illustrated by: Catherine Stock

An invitation to picnic with the King of France sends a young boy, his papa, two big dogs, and three wild aunts dancing their way across the French countryside. When the time comes to dine with the royals,...

Kissing Shakespeare

By: Pamela Mingle

A romantic time travel story that's ideal for fans of novels by Meg Cabot and Donna Jo Napoli--and, of course, Shakespeare.Miranda has Shakespeare in her blood: she hopes one day to become a Shakespearean...

The Book of Blood and Shadow

By: Robin Wasserman

It was like a nightmare, but there was no waking up.  When the night began, Nora had two best friends and an embarrassingly storybook one true love.  When it ended, she had nothing but blood...


By: Rebecca Barnhouse

This is historical fantasy at its best. Sixteen-year-old Hild has always been a favorite of her uncle, king of the Shylfings. So when she protects her cousin the crown prince from a murderous traitor,...

Featured Resources:

The Fire Wish Book Talk

By: Amber Lough

The story of Najwa, a jinni and Zayele, a princess whose desperate wish lands both girls in trouble, is book one of an exciting new fantasy. Both girls only know of the hatred between the...

The Lovely and the Lost Book Talk

By: Page Morgan

Moving to France didn’t help Ingrid and Gabby Waverly escape their past in London, it threw them into a nightmare world of demons, hounds and gargoyles. In, The Lovely and the Lost, Page...

A Passion for Victory (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Benson Bobrick
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children’s book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas...

Download Resource

Will in Scarlet Book Talk

By: Matthew Cody

His father missing, their kingdom under attack, and no money to mention, Will Scarlet goes on the run in order to avoid being killed.  His unknowing venture into Sherwood Forest lands him...

Heart of Glass

By: Sasha Gould

In Heart of Glass, the sequel to Sasha Gould’s Cross My Heart set in 16th century Venice, Laura della Scala’s life has changed drastically for the better since she discovered her sister’s...

The Lacey Chronicles #3: The Rogue’s Princess

By: Eve Edwards


Eve Edward's third installment of the Lacy Chronicles reintroduces the youngest Lacy brother, Kit Turner, now a player in Will Shakespeare’s company. When he is thrown together with...

Spirit’s Princess

By: Esther Friesner

Step back to early Japan in this latest gripping novel by Friesner of strong young women in history.  Young Himiko, daughter of the chieftain of the Matsu clan, tries to deny that the spirits...

The Lacey Chronicles #2: The Queen’s Lady


After avoiding a loveless match, being rescued by a marriage of convenience, and widowed, Lady Jane Rievaulx is happy to be single and appointed as a Queen's Lady. However, arrival at court...

Sisters of Glass


Download Resource

Picture Book Biography Brochure

In 1934, Ruth Harkness had never seen a panda bear.  Not many people in the world had.

But soon the young Mrs. Harkness would inherit an expedition from her explorer husband: the hunt for...

Download Resource

Cross My Heart


While living in a convent was not ideal, at least it was better than the newest surprise Laura della Scala’s father had for her – forced marriage to a lecherous older man to help retain...

Sisters of Glass


Can you ever imagine being told to marry a person you do not love, twenty years your elder ,  someone your parents choose for you simply because he has money and political power?  In fifteenth-century...