RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/20th Century

Browse By:

Featured Books

Lillian's Right to Vote

By: Jonah Winter
illustrated by: Shane W. Evans

An elderly African American woman, en route to vote, remembers her family’s tumultuous voting history in this picture book publishing in time for the fiftieth anniversary of the Voting Rights Act...

Dog Diaries #7: Stubby

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

A scrappy stray becomes one of the greatest dogs in military history!   Stubby the war dog narrates the story of his life--from his days as a stray to his time on the battlefields of France! Adopted...

The Wicked, Wicked Ladies in the Haunted House

By: Mary Chase
illustrated by: Peter Sis

Maureen Swanson is the scourge of the neighborhood. At age nine, she already has a reputation as a hard slapper, a loud laugher, a liar, and a stay-after-schooler. The other kids call her Stinky. So sometimes...

Listening for Lucca

By: Suzanne LaFleur

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn...

Like Water on Stone

By: Dana Walrath

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915.  It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire is crumbling...

All the Way to America: The Story of a Big Italian Family and a Little Shovel

By: Dan Yaccarino

“This immigration story is universal.” —School Library Journal, Starred   Dan Yaccarino’s great-grandfather arrived at Ellis Island with a small shovel and his parents’...

The $25,000 Flight (Totally True Adventures)

By: Lori Haskins Houran
illustrated by: Wesley Lowe

Can Charles Lindbergh set a world record? Follow America’s first superstar pilot in this high-flying Totally True Adventure.   In the 1920s, flying was brand new—and very dangerous. A...

The Secret of the Key: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure

By: Marianne Malone
illustrated by: Greg Call

Filled with magic, mystery, miniatures, and adventure, the Sixty-Eight Rooms is the perfect series for fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and The Dollpeople!  ...

Written in Stone

By: Rosanne Parry

   Rosanne Parry author of Heart of a Shepherd, shines a light on Native American tribes of the Pacific Northwest in the 1920s, a time of critical cultural upheaval.   Pearl...