RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/20th Century


Browse By:

Featured Books

Like Water on Stone

By: Dana Walrath

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915.  It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire is crumbling...

All the Way to America: The Story of a Big Italian Family and a Little Shovel

By: Dan Yaccarino

“This immigration story is universal.” —School Library Journal, Starred   Dan Yaccarino’s great-grandfather arrived at Ellis Island with a small shovel and his parents’...

The $25,000 Flight (Totally True Adventures)

By: Lori Haskins Houran
illustrated by: Wesley Lowe

Can Charles Lindbergh set a world record? Follow America’s first superstar pilot in this high-flying Totally True Adventure.   In the 1920s, flying was brand new—and very dangerous. A...


The Secret of the Key: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure

By: Marianne Malone
illustrated by: Greg Call

Filled with magic, mystery, miniatures, and adventure, the Sixty-Eight Rooms is the perfect series for fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and The Dollpeople!  ...

Written in Stone

By: Rosanne Parry

   Rosanne Parry author of Heart of a Shepherd, shines a light on Native American tribes of the Pacific Northwest in the 1920s, a time of critical cultural upheaval.   Pearl...

Bad Luck Girl

By: Sarah Zettel

Fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners will love the blend of fantasy and jazz-hot Chicago in this stylish series.After rescuing her parents from the Seelie king at Hearst Castle, Callie is caught up in the...


The Secrets of Tree Taylor

By: Dandi Daley Mackall

Thirteen-year-old Tree Taylor has two goals for the summer of '63:  1. Experience her first real kiss. A kiss delivered by a boy. A boy who is not related to her. A kiss worth writing about. 2....

Dog Diaries #4: Togo

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

Small, feisty Siberian husky Togo—the overlooked sled-dog hero of the 1925 serum run to Nome—sets the record straight in Dog Diaries #4! When a diptheria epidemic breaks out in isolated Nome,...

Land of Hope

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

The family of Rebekah Levinsky emigrates from Russia and settles in New York City, hoping their dreams will come true. But instead of finding streets paved with gold, they find they must work seven days...