RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/20th Century


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Wicked, Wicked Ladies in the Haunted House

By: Mary Chase
illustrated by: Peter Sis

Maureen Swanson is the scourge of the neighborhood. At age nine, she already has a reputation as a hard slapper, a loud laugher, a liar, and a stay-after-schooler. The other kids call her Stinky. So sometimes...

Listening for Lucca

By: Suzanne LaFleur

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn...

Like Water on Stone

By: Dana Walrath

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915.  It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire is crumbling...


All the Way to America: The Story of a Big Italian Family and a Little Shovel

By: Dan Yaccarino

“This immigration story is universal.” —School Library Journal, Starred   Dan Yaccarino’s great-grandfather arrived at Ellis Island with a small shovel and his parents’...

The $25,000 Flight (Totally True Adventures)

By: Lori Haskins Houran
illustrated by: Wesley Lowe

Can Charles Lindbergh set a world record? Follow America’s first superstar pilot in this high-flying Totally True Adventure.   In the 1920s, flying was brand new—and very dangerous. A...

The Secret of the Key: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure

By: Marianne Malone
illustrated by: Greg Call

Filled with magic, mystery, miniatures, and adventure, the Sixty-Eight Rooms is the perfect series for fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and The Dollpeople!  ...


Written in Stone

By: Rosanne Parry

   Rosanne Parry author of Heart of a Shepherd, shines a light on Native American tribes of the Pacific Northwest in the 1920s, a time of critical cultural upheaval.   Pearl...

Bad Luck Girl

By: Sarah Zettel

Fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners will love the blend of fantasy and jazz-hot Chicago in this stylish series.After rescuing her parents from the Seelie king at Hearst Castle, Callie is caught up in the...

The Secrets of Tree Taylor

By: Dandi Daley Mackall

Thirteen-year-old Tree Taylor has two goals for the summer of '63:  1. Experience her first real kiss. A kiss delivered by a boy. A boy who is not related to her. A kiss worth writing about. 2....