RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/20th Century

Browse By:

Featured Books

Full of Beans

By: Jennifer Holm

Newbery Honor Book Turtle in Paradise is beloved by readers, and now they can return to this wonderful world through the eyes of Turtle’s cousin Beans.   Grown-ups lie. That’s one truth...

Horus and the Curse of Everlasting Regret

By: Hannah Voskuil

A mystery-adventure in which a boy, a girl, a pet bat, and a mummy embark on a mission to find a kidnapped girl — and reverse an ancient Egyptian curse.   Peter will do just about anything to...

Sparky (Dog Diaries Special Edition)

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

In this Dog Diaries–meets–Horse Diaries Special Crossover Edition, a no-nonsense fire dog meets her match in the biggest, hottest flames Chicago has ever seen—and a rescue horse with...

The Eye of Midnight

By: Andrew Brumbach

“Combining a 1920s New York setting with ancient Turkish and Arabian folklore and history, this novel reads like a young Indiana Jones adventure. . . . As smart as it is action-packed.” —The...

The Tree in the Courtyard: Looking Through Anne Frank's Window

By: Jeff Gottesfeld
illustrated by: Peter McCarty

Told from the perspective of the tree outside Anne Frank's window—and illustrated by a Caldecott Honor artist—this book introduces her story in a gentle and incredibly powerful way to a young...

The Tin Snail

By: Cameron McAllister

"Half-silly, half-serious and full of human interest."--The Wall Street JournalGet ready for a wild ride with this classic and fun World War II adventure about a boy who helps invent a car the Nazis would...

Dog Diaries #8: Fala

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Scottie dog Fala helps run a nation!   As President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s nearly constant companion, Fala the Scottish terrier was in the unique...

The Seventh Most Important Thing

By: Shelley Pearsall

Shelley Pearsall's story of anger and art, loss and redemption, is a transformative read that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter's Paperboy.One kid. One crime. One chance...

Yard War

By: Taylor Kitchings

“Taylor Kitching’s rousing debut puts you right on the fifty-yard line of a vital historical moment.” —Chris Grabenstein, New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s...

Featured Resources:

Like Water on Stone (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Dana Walrath
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915. 
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire...

Download Resource

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource

A Passion for Victory (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Benson Bobrick
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children’s book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas...

Download Resource

Lara’s Gift Book Talk

By: Anniemarie O'Brien

Lara’s dream is to inherit her family’s tradition of breeding borzoi dogs worthy of the Tsar.  She understands the dogs and feels a special connection to them.  However, when her mother...

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.

Download Resource

Written in Stone

By: Rosanne Parry

   Rosanne Parry author of Heart of a Shepherd, shines a light on Native American tribes of the Pacific Northwest in the 1920s, a time of critical cultural upheaval.


Download Resource

Hattie Ever After

By: Kirby Larson

After leaving Uncle Chester's homestead claim, orphan Hattie Brooks throws a lasso around a new dream, even bigger than the Montana sky. She wants to be a reporter, knowing full well that a few pieces...

Download Resource

Navigating Early

By: Clare Vanderpool

“Just the sort of book that saves lives by igniting a passion for reading.” —James Patterson
“Reminiscent of Huckleberry Finn.” —The Wall Street Journal

Download Resource


By: Patricia Reilly Giff

It's 1944, W.W. II is raging. Jayna's big brother Rob is her only family. When Rob is called to duty on a destroyer, Jayna is left in their small town in upstate New York with their cranky landlady. But...

Download Resource


By: Patricia Reilly Giff

After their parents are killed in an accident, Jayna and her brother, Rob, make a life for themselves as best they can.  Then, Rob is called to the Pacific to fight in World War II, and...