RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/20th Century


Browse By:

Featured Books

All the Way to America: The Story of a Big Italian Family and a Little Shovel

By: Dan Yaccarino

“This immigration story is universal.” —School Library Journal, Starred   Dan Yaccarino’s great-grandfather arrived at Ellis Island with a small shovel and his parents’...

The $25,000 Flight (Totally True Adventures)

By: Lori Haskins Houran
illustrated by: Wesley Lowe

The most exciting adventures are the ones that really happened! This brand-new Totally True Adventures book follow America’s first superstar pilot, Charles Lindbergh.  In the 1920s, flying...

The Secret of the Key: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure

By: Marianne Malone
illustrated by: Greg Call

Filled with magic, mystery, miniatures, and adventure, the Sixty-Eight Rooms is the perfect series for fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and The Dollpeople!  ...


Bad Luck Girl

By: Sarah Zettel

Fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners will love the blend of fantasy and jazz-hot Chicago in this stylish series.After rescuing her parents from the Seelie king at Hearst Castle, Callie is caught up in the...

The Secrets of Tree Taylor

By: Dandi Daley Mackall

Thirteen-year-old Tree Taylor has two goals for the summer of '63:  1. Experience her first real kiss. A kiss delivered by a boy. A boy who is not related to her. A kiss worth writing about. 2....

Dog Diaries #4: Togo

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

Small, feisty Siberian husky Togo—the overlooked sled-dog hero of the 1925 serum run to Nome—sets the record straight in Dog Diaries #4! When a diptheria epidemic breaks out in isolated Nome,...


Land of Hope

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

The family of Rebekah Levinsky emigrates from Russia and settles in New York City, hoping their dreams will come true. But instead of finding streets paved with gold, they find they must work seven days...

Listening for Lucca

By: Suzanne LaFleur

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn...

Golden Girl

By: Sarah Zettel

Fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners will love the blend of fantasy and twentieth-century history in this stylish series.Callie LeRoux has put her grimy, harrowing trip from the depths of the Dust Bowl behind...


Featured Resources:

Like Water on Stone (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Dana Walrath
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915. 
 
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire...

Download Resource

The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource

A Passion for Victory (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Benson Bobrick
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children’s book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas...

Download Resource

Lara’s Gift Book Talk

By: Annemarie O'Brien

BOOK TALK
Lara’s dream is to inherit her family’s tradition of breeding borzoi dogs worthy of the Tsar.  She understands the dogs and feels a special connection to them.  However, when her mother...

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

The Newbery Honor-winning American classic, The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963, celebrates 20 years with this anniversary edition featuring a special letter from Christopher Paul Curtis and an introduction...

Download Resource

Written in Stone

By: Rosanne Parry

   Rosanne Parry author of Heart of a Shepherd, shines a light on Native American tribes of the Pacific Northwest in the 1920s, a time of critical cultural upheaval.

   Pearl...

Download Resource

Hattie Ever After

By: Kirby Larson

After leaving Uncle Chester's homestead claim, orphan Hattie Brooks throws a lasso around a new dream, even bigger than the Montana sky. She wants to be a reporter, knowing full well that a few pieces...

Download Resource

Navigating Early

By: Clare Vanderpool

“Just the sort of book that saves lives by igniting a passion for reading.” —James Patterson
 
“Reminiscent of Huckleberry Finn.” —The Wall Street Journal
...

Download Resource

Gingersnap

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

It's 1944, W.W. II is raging. Jayna's big brother Rob is her only family. When Rob is called to duty on a destroyer, Jayna is left in their small town in upstate New York with their cranky landlady. But...

Download Resource

Gingersnap

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

BOOK TALK
After their parents are killed in an accident, Jayna and her brother, Rob, make a life for themselves as best they can.  Then, Rob is called to the Pacific to fight in World War II, and...

A Thunderous Whisper

By: Christina Diaz Gonzalez

BOOK TALK
Ani and her mother sell sardines for a living while her father is off fighting in the Spanish Civil War.  Her mother is distant and harsh and Ani has no friends since the kids at school...