RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/19th Century

Browse By:

Featured Books

The Revenant

By: Sonia Gensler

When Willie arrives in Indian Territory, she knows only one thing: no one can find out who she really is. To escape a home she doesn't belong in, she assumes the name of a former classmate and accepts...

The Beautiful and the Cursed

By: Page Morgan

Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.    After...


By: Barbara Wright

The summer of 1898 is filled with ups and downs for 11-year-old Moses. He's growing apart from his best friend, his superstitious Boo-Nanny butts heads constantly with his pragmatic, educated father, and...

One Came Home

By: Amy Timberlake

A Newbery Honor BookAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's BookWinner of the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Juvenile Novel “An adventure, a mystery, and a love song to the natural world. . . . Run out and...

The White City

By: John Claude Bemis

In The Nine Pound Hammer, John Bemis introduced middle-grade readers to a whole new approach to epic fantasy, founded on characters and themes from American mythology and lore, including the legend of...

May B.

By: Caroline Starr Rose

I've known it since last night:It's been too long to expect them to return. Something's happened."If May is a brave, stubborn fighter, the short, free-verse lines are one-two punches in this Laura Ingalls...

A Boy Called Dickens

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: John Hendrix

For years Dickens kept the story of his own childhood a secret. Yet it is a story worth telling. For it helps us remember how much we all might lose when a child's dreams don't come true . . . As a child,...

Three Rivers Rising

By: Jame Richards

Sixteen-Year-Old Celstia spends every summer with her family at the elite resort at Lake Conemaugh, a shimmering Allegheny Mountain reservoir held in place by an earthen dam. Tired of the society crowd,...