RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Historical Fiction/19th Century


Browse By:

Featured Books

A Place to Belong

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

Danny and his younger sister, Peg, are placed in St. Joseph, Missouri, with kind Alfrid and Olga Swenson. Danny is thrilled to have a "real" father again, but when Olga suddenly dies, he is devastated—until...

In The Face of Danger

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

Shy Megan Kelly cannot forget the day a gypsy read her palm announcing to all that she would bring trouble to those around her. Afterward, trouble does follow her, until she takes the necessary steps...

Son of Fortune

By: Victoria McKernan

Aiden Lynch is a survivor—only 16 years old, he's seen himself through near-starvation on the Kansas prairie, a brutal journey on the Oregon trail, and backbreaking work in a lumber camp. Now he's...


The Great Trouble

By: Deborah Hopkinson

“A delightful combination of race-against-the-clock medical mystery and outwit-the-bad-guys adventure.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred   Eel has troubles of his own: As an orphan and...

American Tall Tales

By: Mary Pope Osborne
Illustrated by: Michael McCurdy

The perfect addition to every family’s home library and just right for sharing aloud, American Tall Tales introduces readers to America’s first folk heroes in nine wildly exaggerated and downright...

Dog Diaries #3: Barry

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

Barry der Menschenretter—a.k.a. Barry—the most famous St. Bernard dog in history, tells the story of his life for the first time. Eight-thousand feet above sea level, in the treacherous pass...


The Beautiful and the Cursed: Marco's Story

By: Page Morgan

For readers of Lauren Kate's Fallen series comes a digital original short story set in the world of The Beautiful and the Cursed that follows Ingrid and Gabby Waverly and the terrifying forces determined...

The Beautiful and the Cursed

By: Page Morgan

Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.    After...

The Revenant

By: Sonia Gensler

When Willie arrives in Indian Territory, she knows only one thing: no one can find out who she really is. To escape a home she doesn't belong in, she assumes the name of a former classmate and accepts...