RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Growing Up


Browse By:

Featured Books

Hello Baby!

By: Lizzy Rockwell
illustrated by: the author

A small boy feels the baby kick inside his mother's tummy, hears the baby's heartbeat during a visit to the doctor, and finally gets to say hello in person after the baby is born.Narrating the story himself,...

Finding the Worm (Twerp Sequel)

By: Mark Goldblatt

The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss,...

Big Enough for a Bike (Sesame Street)

By: Random House

Look out! Zoe is ready to ride a bike just like a big kid! It may take a little practice, but soon Zoe learns to ride her tricycle all by herself–zoom zoom!From the Board edition.


Very Bad Things

By: Susan McBride

A dark, moody, boarding-school murder mystery teens won’t be able to put down. Katie never thought she’d be the girl with the popular boyfriend. She also never thought he would cheat on...

Nest

By: Esther Ehrlich

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...

My Brother's Shadow

By: Tom Avery

Fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious...


Little Golden Book Train Stories

By: Gertrude Crampton
Margaret Wise Brown; Marian Potter; illustrated by: Tibor Gergely; Art Seiden

Toot-tooooot! Three classic Little Golden Book train stories are chugging their way into this mini-treasury!   Tootle, The Little Red Caboose, and Margaret Wise Brown’s The Train to Timbuctoo...

Not Exactly a Love Story

By: Audrey Couloumbis

“A fifteen-year-old creates an alter ego to woo his dream girl. Compulsively readable.” —The New York Times   This quirky, flirty, and smart story will appeal to fans of Frank Portman’s...

The True Story of Stellina

By: Matteo Pericoli

Stellina was a bird: “CHEEP.” A very little bird: “Cheep! cheep!”So begins critically acclaimed author Matteo Pericoli’s all-true story of how he and his wife, Holly, came...


Featured Resources:

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin L. McQuein

BOOK TALK
Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....

Lara’s Gift Book Talk

By: Anniemarie O'Brien

BOOK TALK
Lara’s dream is to inherit her family’s tradition of breeding borzoi dogs worthy of the Tsar.  She understands the dogs and feels a special connection to them.  However, when her mother...


Muckers Book Talk

By: Sandra Neil Wallace

BOOK TALK
Hatley, Arizona is a mining town and the copper has all been mined.  When the mine closes, the school will also close because people will leave Hatley.  So this is the final year of the...

The League Book Talk

By: Thatcher Heldring

BOOK TALK
No one believes Wyatt Parker is about to start high school. He’s on the small side and getting picked on by the school bully. Girls certainly won’t give him the time of day What’s...

Mister Max Reader’s Theater Activity Kit and Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Iacopo Bruno

Newbery medalist Cynthia Voigt presents a rollicking mystery in three acts!

Max's parents are missing. They are actors, and thus unpredictable, but sailing away, leaving Max with only a cryptic...

Download Resource

Summer Reading Brochure

It’s been several months since Lina and Doon escaped the dying city of Ember and, along with the rest of their people, joined the town of Sparks. Now, struggling through the harsh winter aboveground,...

Download Resource

Mojo

By: Tim Tharp

BOOK TALK
To junior Dylan Jones, finding classmate Hector Maldonado’s body in a dumpster seems to be the answer to his prayers. At first he’s the talk of the school, and it certainly gives him...

Beholding Bee

By: Kimberly Newton Fusco

BOOK TALK
Orphan. Outcast. Freak. Bee is all of those things. She is taunted by almost everyone because of the birthmark on her face. There are no options for a home or family. She has lived her entire...


Navigating Early

By: Clare Vanderpool

“Just the sort of book that saves lives by igniting a passion for reading.” —James Patterson
 
“Reminiscent of Huckleberry Finn.” —The Wall Street Journal
...

Download Resource

The Tragedy Paper

By: Elizabeth LaBan

BOOK TALK

Seniors must write about a tragedy for their required English paper at Irving High School. The first day on campus, Duncan arrives to find a stack of CD’s and a note left to him...

A Thunderous Whisper and The Red Umbrella

Ani believes she is just an insignificant whisper of a 12-year-old girl in a loud world. This is what her mother tells her anyway. Her father made her feel important, but he's been off fighting in Spain's...

Download Resource