RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Growing Up


Browse By:

Featured Books

Izzy Kline Has Butterflies

By: Beth Ain

So many moments—big and small—make up a year, and Beth Ain chronicles them all in this heartwarming novel in verse, perfect for fans of Fish in a Tree and verse novels like Brown Girl Dreaming...

Optimists Die First

By: Susin Nielsen

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.  Beware:...

Addie Bell's Shortcut to Growing Up

By: Jessica Brody

A middle school girl finds out that being a teenager isn't all it's cracked up to be in this realistic read about friendship with plenty of LOL moments--and a magical twist!Seventh...


Tooth Fairy's Night

By: Candice Ransom
illustrared by: Monique Dong

Spend a night on the job with the Tooth Fairy in this rhyming Step 1 reader!   In this Step 1 early reader, a twinkly, sneaker-wearing Tooth Fairy zips around a dreamy neighborhood in a typical night...

Disney Princess Beginnings: Cinderella Takes the Stage (Disney Princess)

By: Tessa Roehl
illustrated by: RH Disney

An all-new chapter-book series introducing each Disney Princess as a young girl!Before Cinderella met her fairy godmother or dropped her glass slipper, she was a young girl, and this is her story. Ella,...

Disney Princess Beginnings: Belle's Discovery (Disney Princess)

By: Tessa Roehl
illustrated by: RH Disney

An all-new chapter-book series introducing each Disney Princess as a young girl!Before Belle went to the enchanted castle and met the beast, she was a young girl, and this is her story. At age 7, Belle...


And I Have You

By: Maggie Smith

A celebration of a mother's love for her baby. Perfect for Mother's Day or a shower gift, with a padded cover and space for a personal photo.   A cat has her kittens, a dog has her puppies, a sheep...

Five Days of Famous

By: Alyson Noël

Is being famous the key to living the life of your (tween) dreams? Find out in this modern-day fairy tale from #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël! Seventh-grade girls like guys...

I Don't Want to Be Big

By: Dev Petty
illustrated by: Mike Boldt

Fans of the hit picture book I Don’t Want to Be a Frog will love this silly, stubborn-as-ever companion book. "Reminiscent of Mo Willems’s 'Elephant and Piggie' series"—Publishers Weekly...


Featured Resources:

Time Traveling with a Hamster Discussion Guide

By: Guide prepared by Danielle Zipkin

On his twelfth birthday, Al Chaudhury receives a letter from his dead father. It directs him to the bunker of their old house, where Al finds a time machine (an ancient computer and a tin bucket). The...

Download Resource

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--soon to be a major motion picture! In theaters May 19, it stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything...

Download Resource

Goodbye Stranger Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

“Masterly. . . . Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love.” —The New York Times Book Review
2016 Honor Book in Fiction, Boston Globe Horn Book Award
A...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin L. McQuein

BOOK TALK
Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....

Lara’s Gift Book Talk

By: Anniemarie O'Brien

BOOK TALK
Lara’s dream is to inherit her family’s tradition of breeding borzoi dogs worthy of the Tsar.  She understands the dogs and feels a special connection to them.  However, when her mother...


Muckers Book Talk

By: Sandra Neil Wallace

BOOK TALK
Hatley, Arizona is a mining town and the copper has all been mined.  When the mine closes, the school will also close because people will leave Hatley.  So this is the final year of the...

The League Book Talk

By: Thatcher Heldring

BOOK TALK
No one believes Wyatt Parker is about to start high school. He’s on the small side and getting picked on by the school bully. Girls certainly won’t give him the time of day What’s...

Mister Max Reader’s Theater Activity Kit and Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Iacopo Bruno

Newbery medalist Cynthia Voigt presents a rollicking mystery in three acts!

Max's parents are missing. They are actors, and thus unpredictable, but sailing away, leaving Max with only a cryptic...

Download Resource

Summer Reading Brochure

A modern-day classic. This highly acclaimed adventure series about two friends desperate to save their doomed city has captivated kids and teachers alike for almost fifteen years and has sold over 3.5 ...

Download Resource

Mojo

By: Tim Tharp

BOOK TALK
To junior Dylan Jones, finding classmate Hector Maldonado’s body in a dumpster seems to be the answer to his prayers. At first he’s the talk of the school, and it certainly gives him...

Beholding Bee

By: Kimberly Newton Fusco

BOOK TALK
Orphan. Outcast. Freak. Bee is all of those things. She is taunted by almost everyone because of the birthmark on her face. There are no options for a home or family. She has lived her entire...