RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Growing Up


Browse By:

Featured Books

A Song to Take the World Apart

By: Zan Romanoff

What if you could make someone love you back, just by singing to them? Fans of Sarah McCarry's All Our Pretty Songs and Leslye Walton’s The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender...

Polar Bear Babies

By: Susan Ring
illustrated by: Lisa McCue

In this Step 1 Step into Reading Science Reader, polar bear babies learn the skills they will need to survive in the Arctic! Simple, repetitive text takes readers through a day with these little bears...

Going Geek

By: Charlotte Huang

A girl returns to her exclusive east coast boarding school and finds that she's no longer one of the cool kids on campus in this second novel from the author of For...


Monkey: Not Ready for Kindergarten

By: Marc Brown

Marc Brown, creator of the beloved Arthur books and TV show, offers a charming new character—and a fun and reassuring story about preparing for the first day of school.   Kindergarten is...

Just My Brother, Sister, and Me

By: Written and illustrated by Mercer Mayer

Mercer Mayer’s Little Critter spends time with his brother and sister in these classic, funny, and heartwarming stories. Featuring Just Me and My Little Brother and Me Too!, this two-in-one picture...

Being Jazz

By: Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people...


Being Jazz

By: Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people...

The Incident on the Bridge

By: Laura McNeal

From National Book Award nominee Laura McNeal comes a gripping, tautly-told novel that is at once hopeful and harrowing. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and Bone Gap.   When Thisbe Locke is last...

Beard in a Box

By: Bill Cotter

A funny father-son romp for fans of Don’t Push the Button! and Mustache Baby.A young boy longs for a beard like Dad’s, and when he discovers a hair-growth product called Beard in a Box, he...


Featured Resources:

Time Traveling with a Hamster Discussion Guide

By: Guide prepared by Danielle Zipkin

On his twelfth birthday, Al Chaudhury receives a letter from his dead father. It directs him to the bunker of their old house, where Al finds a time machine (an ancient computer and a tin bucket). The...

Download Resource

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller


If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic...

Download Resource

Goodbye Stranger Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

“Masterly. . . . Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love.” —The New York Times Book Review
2016 Honor Book in Fiction, Boston Globe Horn Book Award
A...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin L. McQuein

BOOK TALK
Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....

Lara’s Gift Book Talk

By: Anniemarie O'Brien

BOOK TALK
Lara’s dream is to inherit her family’s tradition of breeding borzoi dogs worthy of the Tsar.  She understands the dogs and feels a special connection to them.  However, when her mother...


Muckers Book Talk

By: Sandra Neil Wallace

BOOK TALK
Hatley, Arizona is a mining town and the copper has all been mined.  When the mine closes, the school will also close because people will leave Hatley.  So this is the final year of the...

The League Book Talk

By: Thatcher Heldring

BOOK TALK
No one believes Wyatt Parker is about to start high school. He’s on the small side and getting picked on by the school bully. Girls certainly won’t give him the time of day What’s...

Mister Max Reader’s Theater Activity Kit and Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Iacopo Bruno

Newbery medalist Cynthia Voigt presents a rollicking mystery in three acts!

Max's parents are missing. They are actors, and thus unpredictable, but sailing away, leaving Max with only a cryptic...

Download Resource

Summer Reading Brochure

A modern-day classic. This highly acclaimed adventure series about two friends desperate to save their doomed city has captivated kids and teachers alike for almost fifteen years and has sold over 3.5 ...

Download Resource

Mojo

By: Tim Tharp

BOOK TALK
To junior Dylan Jones, finding classmate Hector Maldonado’s body in a dumpster seems to be the answer to his prayers. At first he’s the talk of the school, and it certainly gives him...

Beholding Bee

By: Kimberly Newton Fusco

BOOK TALK
Orphan. Outcast. Freak. Bee is all of those things. She is taunted by almost everyone because of the birthmark on her face. There are no options for a home or family. She has lived her entire...