RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 9-12


Browse By:

Featured Books

Steve Jobs: Insanely Great

By: Jessie Hartland

This fast-paced and entertaining biography in graphic format is a perfect complement to more text-heavy books on Steve Jobs like Walter Isaacson’s biography. Presenting the story of the ultimate...

Damage Done

By: Amanda Panitch

"In the vein of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Panitch’s novel delivers a heart-pounding, emotionally charged story." --SLJ22 minutes separate Julia Vann's...

The Blind Wish

By: Amber Lough

Two sisters. A war. And the wish to end regret. . . . The magical, evocative follow-up to The Fire Wish.  The war: The lies that started the conflict are in the open now, but the war between the humans...


Outrage (The Singular Menace, 2)

By: John Sandford and Michele Cook

John Sandford and Michele Cook follow up their New York Times bestseller, UNCAGED, with the next nail-biting installment in The Singular Menace series. Perfect for fans of The Maze Runner!  ...

La Travesía de Enrique

By: Sonia Nazario

“Un relato conmovedor que le da un rostro humano a los indocumentados, tan bello como marcado de cicatrices. Imprescindible”.—Kirkus Reviews, reseña destacada. Basada en el...

No Such Person

By: Caroline B. Cooney

From the author of the multimillion-copy bestseller The Face on the Milk Carton, this riveting new thriller, set against the backdrop of a bucolic summer town on the Connecticut River, will have readers...


Stone Rider

By: David Hofmeyr

"Intense, original, compelling . . . bristles with attitude. So cool. Just read it."--Michael Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Gone and BZRKIn the vein of the cult classic Mad Max series, crossed...

Show and Prove

By: Sofia Quintero

"A must-read for fans of Walter Dean Myer's All the Right Stuff and other lovers of proud urban realism." —Kirkus Reviews   The summer of 1983 was the summer hip-hop proved its staying power....

Oh, Baby, the Places You'll Go!

By: Tish Rabe
illustrated by: Dr. Seuss

An introduction to the world of Dr. Seuss—for babies and babies-to-be!   Artfully adapted almost entirely from Ted Geisel’s work, this introduction to the world of Dr. Seuss is a must...


Featured Resources:

Reawakened Discussion Guide

By: Colleen Houck
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer, and developer, and education consultant

"A sparkling new novel with a fully imagined world and mythos, and crackling romance! Egyptian mythology has never been this riveting! With sharp dialog and a fun heroine, Reawakened is precisely...

Download Resource

Another Day/Every Day Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie ins)

The eagerly anticipated companion to David Levithan’s New York Times bestseller Every Day
 
In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David...

Download Resource

Chasing Secrets Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Gennifer Choldenko

Newbery Honor–winning author Gennifer Choldenko deftly combines humor, tragedy, fascinating historical detail, and a medical mystery in this exuberant new novel.
   San Francisco,...

Download Resource

Trust Me I’m Lying Curriculum Guide

By: Mary Elizabeth Summers

Fans of Ally Carter's Heist Society novels will love this teen mystery/thriller with sarcastic wit, a hint of romance, and Ocean’s Eleven–inspired action.
 
Julep Dupree...

Download Resource

Stone Rider Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: David Hofmeyr
Guide Prepared by: Marianne Follis, a youth services librarian at Valley Ranch (Ivring) Public Library near Dallas, TX

"Intense, original, compelling . . . bristles with attitude. So cool. Just read it."--Michael Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Gone and BZRK

In the vein of the cult classic Mad Max...

Download Resource

Finding Audrey Book Club Discussion Guide

By: Sophie Kinsella
Guide Prepared by: Rose Brock, an assistant professor at Sam Houston State University

A New York Times Bestseller

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary...

Download Resource

The Indian in the Cupboard Series Educators’ Guide

By: Lynne Reid Banks

Full of magic and appealing characters, this classic novel takes readers on a remarkable adventure.

It's Omri's birthday, but all he gets from his best friend, Patrick, is a little plastic Indian...

Download Resource

Off the Page Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jodi Picoult
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, Oregon

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and coauthor, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and...

Download Resource

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: By Teresa Toten; Guide Prepared By Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland OR

Two-time Governor General's Award nominee Teresa Toten is back with a compulsively readable new book for teens!

When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

Like Water on Stone (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Dana Walrath
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915. 
 
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire...

Download Resource

King Dork Approximately Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Frank Portman
Guide Prepared by: Susan Geye, library coordinator

From Frank Portman comes the long-awaited sequel to the beloved cult classic King Dork, of which John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars, said, “Basically, if you are a human being with even...

Download Resource

Unbroken Family and Educator Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Laura Hillenbrand
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

The #1 New York Times bestseller, which is also a major motion picture directed by Angelina Jolie, has now been adapted by the author for young adults. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this riveting...

Download Resource

Under the Blood Red Sun Educator Guide

By: Graham Salisbury
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

Tomi was born in Hawaii. His grandfather and parents were born in Japan, and came to America to escape poverty.

World War II seems far away from Tomi and his friends, who are too busy playing...

Download Resource

Skink–No Surrender Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Carl Hiaasen
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

Carl Hiaasen serves up his unique brand of swamp justice in the New York Times bestseller Skink—No Surrender.
 
A National Book Award Longlist Selection
 
When your...

Download Resource

The Family Romanov Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Candace Fleming
Guide prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer/developer, literacy specialist, and education consultant.

“[A] superb history.... In these thrilling, highly readable pages, we meet Rasputin, the shaggy, lecherous mystic...; we visit the gilded ballrooms of the doomed aristocracy; and we pause in the...

Download Resource

Wonder Teacher Planner

By: RJ Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

BOOK TALK
Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving...


The Fire Wish Book Talk

By: Amber Lough

BOOK TALK
The story of Najwa, a jinni and Zayele, a princess whose desperate wish lands both girls in trouble, is book one of an exciting new fantasy. Both girls only know of the hatred between the...

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

We Are the Goldens Book Talk

By: Dana Reinhardt

BOOK TALK
Nell and Layla are sisters, the best of friends and each other’s support. Layla willingly paves the way for Nell when she enters high school.  As a freshman, Nell makes the soccer team...


Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Lovely and the Lost Book Talk

By: Page Morgan

BOOK TALK
Moving to France didn’t help Ingrid and Gabby Waverly escape their past in London, it threw them into a nightmare world of demons, hounds and gargoyles. In, The Lovely and the Lost, Page...

Grades 6 and Up Educator Guide Correlated to the Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

Exploring Multiple Perspectives in Young Adult Literature (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

A Michael L. Printz Honor Award Winner

“A gentle, lyrical story of incomprehensible sorrow faced with quiet courage.”—ELIZABETH WEIN, New York Times bestselling...

Download Resource

Splendor Book Talk

By: Elana K. Arnold

BOOK TALK
Scarlett hates the fact that after making such a close connection to Will, he must leave for college.  Floundering to find herself, Scarlett finds help from Will’s father and Sabine,...

Son of Fortune Book Talk

By: Victoria McKernan

BOOK TALK
When Aiden kills a man, he is forced to flee the lumber camp and find passage on a ship to San Francisco.  He proves to the ship captain he works hard and saves the captain’s brother’s...

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

“De la Peña has created a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.”-Entertainment Weekly, A-
 
“Action is first and foremost. ....

Download Resource

Loud Awake and Lost Book Talk

By: Adele Griffin

BOOK TALK
Six weeks before her car plunged into the icy waters under the Bowditch Bridge, 17-year-old Ember Leferrier started taking charge of her future. Eight months after the accident, Ember can’t...

Red Book Talk

By: Alison Cherry

BOOK TALK
Being a redhead in Scarletville doesn’t illicit the usual name calling of carrot top or ginger. In this small Iowa town, redheads receive preferential treatment. And red head Felicity...

Holocaust Remembrance


Download Resource