RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8 : By Title : s


Books

Salome

By: Beatrice Gormley

If I'd never hoped to live in a world of goodness and truth—if the priestess of Diana, then Leander, and Joanna, hadn't shown me glimpses of it—maybe I wouldn't have minded being shut out of...

Sarny

By: Gary Paulsen

So many readers have written and asked: What happened to Sarny, the young slave girl who learned to read in Nightjohn? Extraordinary things happened to her, from the moment she fled the plantation in the...

Sass & Serendipity

By: Jennifer Ziegler

For Daphne, the glass is always half full. A situation is better managed with a dab of lip gloss, and the boy of her dreams—the one she's read about in all of her novels—is waiting for her...


Saving Francesca

By: Melina Marchetta

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will.A compelling stoyr of romance, fmaily, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking...

Saving Maddie

By: Varian Johnson

Joshua Wynn is a preacher’s son and a “good boy” who always does the right thing. Until Maddie comes back to town. Maddie is the daughter of the former associate pastor of Joshua’s...


Resources

Sammy Keyes and the Killer Cruise Book Talk

By: Wendelin Van Draanen

BOOK TALK
Cruises are supposed to be relaxing trips where you eat amazing food and visit exotic locations, right?  Wrong.  Leave it to Sammy and Marissa to get mixed up in the drama surrounding...

Sammy Keyes and the Night of Skulls

By: Wendelin Van Draanen

BOOK TALK
 
Zombies! Mummies! And Monsters!  Oh My!  All Sammy wants is to have a normal Halloween—trick-or-treating with her friends, visiting the local haunted house all the kids are...

Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack

By: Wendelin Van Draanen

BOOK TALK
Sammy just can’t get away from crime.  It finds her like a mosquito finds the one place you didn’t spray.  First, the very large muumuu-wearing Mrs. Wedgewood, her grandmother’s...


Scarlett Dedd

By: Cathy Brett

BOOK TALK
Jokes fly when your last name is Dedd.  However, when you accidentally kill yourself and your family, you are now notorious... not necessarily in a good way.  Scarlett was just trying...

Second Fiddle

By: Rosanne Parry

Book Talk
Frequent moves to military bases around the world has made it difficult for Jody to make friends. But while in Germany, Jody meets Giselle and Vivien and their music helps them form a trio;...

Secrets from the Sleeping Bag: A Blogtastic! Novel

By: Rose Cooper

BOOK TALK
Sofia Becker‘s parents  force ask her  to go to summer camp with her best friend, Nona.  She has plenty of reasons for not wanting to go:

 No technology.  If she’s going...


Shabanu, Haveli, and The House of Djinn Educator Guide

Life is both sweet and cruel to strong-willed young Shabanu, whose home is the windswept Cholistan Desert of Pakistan. The second daughter in a family with no sons, she's been allowed freedoms forbidden...

Download Resource

Siren’s Storm

By: Lisa Papademetriou

BOOK TALK
 
Will’s brother, Tim, has been missing since the previous summer from a mysterious boating accident.  His disappearance and other unexplained deaths in a wealthy seaside town...

The Sixty-Eight Rooms Educator Guide

By: Marianne Malone

Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children’s Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature...

Download Resource

Skellig

By: David Almond

David Almond’s Printz Honor–winning novel is a captivating modern classic.

Ten-year-old Michael was looking forward to moving into a new house. But now his baby sister is ill, his...

Download Resource

Sky Jumpers Book Talk

By: Peggy Eddleman

BOOK TALK
Everyone in Hope’s village is good at inventing. They need to be good at it since the bombs destroyed everything 40 years earlier.  Unfortunately, Hope is not good at inventing; in fact...

Sky Jumpers Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Peggy Eddleman

Escape one danger. Jump into another. . . .
 
“Eddleman brings a strong sense of atmosphere to this post-apocalyptic coming-of-age piece, and the underlying message—that it’s...

Download Resource

Snowflakes Fall Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Patricia MacLachlan
illustrated by: Steven Kellogg

In Snowflakes Fall, Newbery Medalist Patricia MacLachlan and award-winning artist Steven Kellogg portray life’s natural cycle: its beauty, its joy, and its sorrow. Together, the words and pictures...

Download Resource

Son of Fortune Book Talk

By: Victoria McKernan

BOOK TALK
When Aiden kills a man, he is forced to flee the lumber camp and find passage on a ship to San Francisco.  He proves to the ship captain he works hard and saves the captain’s brother’s...

The Sons of Liberty #1

By: Alexander and Joseph Lagos
Illustrated by: Steve Walker and Oren Kramek

Download Resource

The Sons of Liberty #2: Death and Taxes

By: Alexander and Joseph Lagos
illustrated by: Steve Walker and Oren Kramek

BOOK TALK
In this intense sequel, two young runaway slaves, Graham and Brody, live in Philadelphia where they work as apprentices in Benjamin Franklin’s print shop.  After murdering the abolitionist...

The Sorceress

By: Michael Scott

Read the third book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
   Nicholas...

Download Resource

Squish #1: Super Amoeba

By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

Book Talks
It’s a bird!  It’s a plane!  No, it’s…it’s…it’s Squish, Super Amoeba!  Join Squish, his amoeba friend, Pod, the very cute paramecium, Peggy, and the most evil amoeba of...


Stargirl and Love, Stargirl

By: Jerry Spinelli

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’s heart with just...

Download Resource

Starstruck

By: Cyn Balog

BOOK TALK
 
Long distance romance is perfect for junior Gwendolyn “Dough” Rielly. Especially since her boyfriend, Wish, can’t see the seventy pounds she’s gained over the past three...

Stealing Magic: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure

By: Marianne Malone
illustrated by: Greg Call

BOOK TALK
Ruthie and Jack find themselves visiting and revisiting the miniature Thorne Rooms in Chicago’s Art Institute.  During their clandestine visits, they discover that items from the dollhouse-like...


The Subtle Knife Deluxe Edition

By: Philip Pullman

BOOK TALK
 
Twelve-year-old Will Parry and his mentally ill mother find themselves hunted by government men who seek answers about a missing folder and his father's disappearance during...

Summer at Forsaken Lake

By: Michael D. Beil
illustrated by: Maggie Kneen

BOOK TALK
Have you ever dreaded going somewhere and then when you get there have a great time?  Nicholas feels like that when he and his sisters are told they will be spending their summer in Ohio...

Summer Reading Brochure

It’s been several months since Lina and Doon escaped the dying city of Ember and, along with the rest of their people, joined the town of Sparks. Now, struggling through the harsh winter aboveground,...

Download Resource