RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8 : By Title : m


Books

Maggie's Door

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

We will dance on the cliffs of Brooklyn.Maggie’s Door is the story of the journey from Ireland to America told by both Nory and her neighbor and friend Sean Red Mallon, two different stories with...

Magic in Manhattan: Bras & Broomsticks and Frogs & French Kisses

By: Sarah Mlynowski

Bras & Broomsticks and Frogs & French Kisses now available in one volume!What if all your wishes could come true?In Bras & Bromsticks, fourteen-year-old Rachel learns the outrageously...

Magic Tree House Fact Tracker #14: Ancient Rome and Pompeii

By: Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce
Illustrated by: Sal Murdocca

Track the facts with Jack and Annie!   When Jack and Annie got back from their adventure in Magic Tree House #13: Vacation Under the Volcano, they had lots of questions. How did ancient...


Magicalamity

By: Kate Saunders

Tom is in shock. He's just discovered that his dad is an escaped fairy on the run. And that he must trust his life to three dangerous fairy godmothers he's never met. Two of them are hardened criminals,...

Mamba Point

By: Kurtis Scaletta

When his dad gets a job at the U.S. embassy in Liberia, twelve-year-old Linus Tuttle knows it's his chance for a fresh start. Instead of being his typical anxious self, from now on he'll be cooler and...

Man in the Moon

By: Dotti Enderle

JANINE IS PREPARED for a sticky, boring summer on her family’s land in the middle of nowhere. Far from town and with only her ailing brother Ricky for company, Janine spends half her time stuck inside...


Man O'War

By: Walter Farley

Mare's War

By: Tanita S. Davis

Meet Mare, a World War II veteran and a grandmother like no other. She was once a willful teenager who escaped her less than perfect life in the deep South and lied about her age to join the African American...

Mariposa and the Fairy Princess Junior Novelization (Barbie)

By: Molly McGuire Woods
illustrated by: Random House

Girls ages 8–12 will love reading the whole story of Barbie's latest film. This Junior Novelization features eight pages of full-color images taken directly from the movie!


Resources

Magicalamity

By: Kate Saunders

BOOK TALKS
Tom Harding thinks he has a normal life with his normal parents who run a normal deli.  Until one morning, he discovers that not only is his dad a fairy, but he has also been accused of...

The Magician

By: Michael Scott

Read the second book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
   After...

Download Resource

May B.

By: Caroline Starr Rose

BOOK TALK
Meet Mavis Betterly, loving called May Betts by her brother Hiram, and cruelly called May B. by the kids at school because she has trouble reading.  May is crushed when her parents decide...


The Maze Runner Trilogy

By: James Dashner

Read the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of...

Download Resource

The Mighty Miss Malone Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

"We are a family on a journey to a place called wonderful" is the motto of Deza Malone's family. Deza is the smartest girl in her class in Gary, Indiana, singled out by teachers for a special path in life....

Download Resource

Milkweed

By: Jerry Spinelli

A stunning novel of the Holocaust from a Newbery Medalist

He's a boy called Jew. Gypsy. Stopthief. Filthy son of Abraham.

He's a boy who lives in the streets of Warsaw. He's a boy...

Download Resource

Mister Max and the Book of Lost Things Book Talk

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Iacopo Bruno

BOOK TALK
Max’s parents are actors and when they receive an offer to travel to India to perform for the Maharajah, the family immediately makes a plan for the voyage.  However, for some unknown...

Mister Max Reader’s Theater Activity Kit and Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Iacopo Bruno

Newbery medalist Cynthia Voigt presents a rollicking mystery in three acts!

Max's parents are missing. They are actors, and thus unpredictable, but sailing away, leaving Max with only a cryptic...

Download Resource

Mistress of the Storm

By: M. L. Welsh

Book Talk
The Storm is coming and Verity has no idea that her life will change so drastically because of a ship and Captain Abednego.  Well, not just the ship; there’s also her grandmother-who-really-her-grandmother,...


Moon Over Manifest

By: Clare Vanderpool

Winner of the 2011 Newbery Award.

The movement of the train rocked me like a lullaby. I closed my eyes to the dusty countryside and imagined the sign I’d seen only in Gideon’s stories:...

Download Resource

Mountains Beyond Mountains

By: by Tracy Kidder, adapted for young people by Michael French

BOOK TALK
Mountains Beyond Mountains introduces Dr. Paul Farmer, a remarkable man who spends his time treating the illnesses of the poor and disenfranchised.  Working in impossible circumstances,...

Mountains Beyond Mountains Educator’s Guide

By: by Tracy Kidder, adapted for young people by Michael French

Tracy Kidder's critically acclaimed adult nonfiction work, Mountains Beyond Mountains has been adapted for young people by Michael French. In this young adult edition, readers are introduced to Dr. Paul...

Download Resource

The Mourning Emporium

By: Michelle Lovric

BOOK TALK
Bajamonte Tiepolo is back, spreading his magic across the globe--from the island of Hooroo in the South Pacific to London, where Queen Victoria is on her death bed.  Now there are two cities...

Mr. and Mrs. Bunny–Detectives Extraordinaire!

By: Mrs. Bunny (translated from the Rabbit by Polly Horvath)
illustrated by: Sophie Blackall

BOOK TALKS
When Madeline’s flighty parents are kidnapped, Madeline goes to her even crazier Uncle with the ransom note.  He tries to solve the secret code in the ransom note, but has no luck. ...

Mr. Terupt Falls Again

By: Rob Buyea

BOOK TALK
The seven students that had a special fifth-grade year with Mr. Terupt are granted the rare chance to spend another one with beloved teacher before they move on and graduate from elementary...


Muchacho: A Novel

By: Louanne Johnson

An inspiring YA debut from the author of Dangerous Minds.

Eddie Corazon is angry. He’s also very smart. But he’s working pretty hard at being a juvenile delinquent. He blows off...

Download Resource

My Name Is Mina

By: David Almond

BOOK TALK
 
Mina is not like most other kids her age.  She goes where her imagination takes her, which is usually any place but where she is.  While she is excited to experience all that...

My Name Is Mina

By: David Almond

Award-winning author David Almond reintroduces readers to the perceptive, sensitive Mina before the events of Skellig in this lyrical and fantastical work. My Name is Mina is not only a pleasure to read,...

Download Resource