RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8 : By Title : j


Books

Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk

By: Liesl Shurtliff

Fans of Chris Colfer and Ella Enchanted will give a GIANT cheer for this funny fairytale retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk!All his life, Jack has longed for an adventure, so when giants turn up in the...

Jackson Jones and the Curse of the Outlaw Rose

By: Mary Quattlebaum

JACKSON JONES CAN’T get away from roses. First his mother got him a plot at Rooter’s, a community garden where Jackson planted a rosebush of thorns and no blooms. Now Mr. K., a fellow gardener,...

Jackson Jones and the Puddle of Thorns

By: Mary Quattlebaum

Nothing but a big mess of trouble and weeds..That's what Jackson Jones thinks of the garden plot his mother gives him for his tenth birthday. What happened to the basketball he's hoped and prayed for all...


Jacob's Rescue

By: Malka Drucker and Michael Halperin

Once Jacob Gutgeld lived with his family in a beautiful house in Warsaw, Poland. He went to school and played hide-and-seek in the woods with his friends. But everything changed the day the Nazi soldiers...

Jake

By: Audrey Couloumbis

"I'm old enough to stay home alone, you know."Mom said, "Not a chance. Who's going to lug the loot ba—" and the locks on the door sprung open. I opened the door and unloaded the cart. It took five...

James and the Giant Peach

By: Roald Dahl
illustrated by: Quentin Blake

Roald Dahl's children's classic will be rediscovered with wonder and delight in this handsome gift edition with all-new black-and-white illustrations by Caldecott Honor Book artist Lane Smith (who also...


Jane Jones: Worst. Vampire. Ever.

By: Caissie St. Onge

For Jane Jones, being a vampire is nothing like you read about in books. In fact, it kind of sucks. She's not beautiful, she's not rich, and she doesn't "sparkle." She's just an average, slightly nerdy...


Resources

Jennifer L. Holm Author Study Kit

By: Jenni Holm;

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenni Holm
Guide prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
...

Download Resource

Johnny Swanson

By: Eleanor Updale

Book Talk
Bullied by his classmates, Johnny falls for an advertisement that promises to help him—but it ends up being a scam.  When his family’s greedy landlord raises their rent and threatens...


Juliet Immortal

By: Stacey Jay

BOOK TALK
So, you think you know what happened to Romeo and Juliet?  What if all you read was not the whole truth?  This amazing story will keep you turning the pages as you learn how they were...

Jump into the Sky

By: Shelley Pearsall

BOOK TALK
It is 1945 and World War II is coming to an end.  Levi Battle leaves the comforts of his Chicago home for the prejudice and racism of the South, in an effort to find his father who he believes...

Jump into the Sky

By: Shelley Pearsall

Levi Battle's been left behind all his life. His mother could sing like a bird and she flew away like one, too. His father left him with his grandmother so he could work as a traveling salesman—until...

Download Resource