RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8 : By Title : a


Books

A Bridge to the Stars

By: Henning Mankell

This poignant novel explores how a unilateral decision can change a life.Two things are hard for Joel Gustafson to cope with: not knowing why, and not being able to do anything about it. Joel’s father...

A Brief Chapter in My Impossible Life

By: Dana Reinhardt

You can tell what really makes Simone different just by looking at her: she doesn't resemble anyone in her family. She's adopted. She's always known it, but she's never wanted to know anything about where...

A Brief History of Montmaray

By: Michelle Cooper

“There’s a fine line between gossip and history, when one is talking about kings.”Sophie Fitzosborne lives in a crumbling castle in the tiny island kingdom of Montmaray with her eccentric...


A Dangerous Promise

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

A Dangerous Promise

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

It's 1861, and although Mike Kelly is far younger than the legal age of 16, he and his best friend Todd secretly join up with the Second Kansas Infantry and become army drummer boys. Mike's dreams of...

A Day No Pigs Would Die

By: Robert Newton Peck

Originally published in hardcover in 1972, A Day No Pigs Would Die was one of the first young adult books, along with titles like The Outsiders and The Chocolate War. In it, author Robert Newton Peck weaves...


A Door Near Here

By: Heather Quarles

Without even noticing, 15-year-old Katherine has become the head of her household. She hasn't had time to notice. Her single mother, an out-of-work alcoholic, has been in bed for weeks, leaving Katherine...

A Family Apart

By: Joan Lowery Nixon


Resources

A Boy and A Bear in a Boat

By: Dave Shelton

BOOK TALK
How much trouble can a boy, a bear and a boat get into?  The boy only wants to cross over to the other side.  But then some “unforeseeable anomalies” get in the way, such as storms...

A Day No Pigs Would Die

By: Robert Newton Peck
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Director of Library Services, the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities, Greenville, South Carolina

TEACHERS GUIDE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
In this classic autobiographical novel set in the 1920s in rural Vermont, 12-year-old Robert Peck comes of age when his father dies and leaves him to manage the...

Download Resource

A Faraway Island

By: Annika Thor
translated from the Swedish by: Linda Schenck

BOOK TALK
The streets of Vienna are swarming with Nazi soldiers and Jewish families aren't safe. Stephie and Nellie Steiner are sent to Sweden to await their parents' escape to Amsterdam, where they...


A Girl Named Faithful Plum

By: Richard Bernstein

BOOK TALK
 
A story about following your dreams and beating the odds, this fascinating account of one girl’s struggle to go from the remote farmlands of China to the world’s stages will...

A Matter of Days

By: Amber Kizer

BOOK TALK
In just 56 days, the BluStar plague has decimated the population of the world. Nadia and her little brother Rabbit are two of the few people who have survived, thanks to a secret vaccination...

A Million Miles from Boston

By: Karen Day

Book Talk
Lucy can’t wait for summer at the Point!  Her family spends every summer in this idyllic and sacred spot on the coast of Maine. Ever since her mom died from cancer when Lucy was six,...


A Passion for Victory (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Benson Bobrick
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children’s book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas...

Download Resource

A Thousand Never Evers

By: Shana Burg

IN KUCKACHOO, MISSISSIPPI, 1963, Addie Ann Pickett worships her brother Elias and follows in his footsteps by attending the black junior high school. But when her careless act leads to her brother’s...

Download Resource

A Thunderous Whisper

By: Christina Diaz Gonzalez

BOOK TALK
Ani and her mother sell sardines for a living while her father is off fighting in the Spanish Civil War.  Her mother is distant and harsh and Ani has no friends since the kids at school...


A Thunderous Whisper and The Red Umbrella

Ani believes she is just an insignificant whisper of a 12-year-old girl in a loud world. This is what her mother tells her anyway. Her father made her feel important, but he's been off fighting in Spain's...

Download Resource

A Volcano Beneath the Snow Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Al Marrin

John Brown is a man of many legacies, from hero, freedom fighter, and martyr, to liar, fanatic, and "the father of American terrorism." Some have said that it was his seizure of the arsenal at Harper's...

Download Resource

The ABC’s of Kissing Boys

By: Tina Ferraro

BOOK TALKS
Appalled :
An understatement for how junior Parker Stanhope feels when she is put on the JV soccer team  especially when all of her friends make varsity.
 Blindsided :
...


Acceleration

By: Graham McNamee

BOOK TALK
Talk about a summer job! Duncan is spending his summer underground the Toronto subway system working in the Lost and Found Department. Bored to tears, he begins looking through the items...

After

By:

BOOK TALK
Lacey, her dad, and two brothers leave the house just like every other Saturday to go eat breakfast, when a crazy woman hits their car and Lacey's life forever changes when her father dies....

After the First Death

By: Robert Cormier

ABOUT THIS GUIDE
In Robert Cormier’s unforgettable novels, an individual often stands alone, fighting for what is right–or just to survive–against powerful, sinister, and sometimes evil people....


Alberic the Wise and Other Journeys

By: Norton Juster
illustrated by: Domenico Gnoli

BOOK TALK
With rich language to wrap your thoughts around, these three short stories read more like cautionary tales.  Discover what changes an average man into an honored wise man. After listening...

Alberic the Wise and Other Journeys

By: Norton Juster
illustrated by: Domenico Gnoli

BOOK TALK
With rich language to wrap your thoughts around, these three short stories read more like cautionary tales. Discover what changes an average man into an honored wise man. After listening...

The Alchemyst

By: Michael Scott

Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.He holds the secret that...

Download Resource

The Alchemyst

By: Michael Scott

BOOK TALK
Josh and Sophie, 15-year-old twins, take summer jobs across the street from one another, one in a bookstore and one in a coffee shop. But the arrival of a sinister man in a sleek, dark car...

Alice Miranda Takes the Stage

By: Jacqueline Harvey

BOOK TALK
Alice Miranda is at it again; winning the hearts of the outcasts and saving the day.  In her newest adventure, the girls at the Winchesterfield-Downsfordvale Academy and the boys at the...

Alice-Miranda on Vacation

By: Jacqueline Harvey

BOOK TALK
After her first term at Winchesterfield-Downsdordvale Academy for Proper Young Ladies, Alice-Miranda takes her friend Jacinta home for the holiday break.  The girls have great plans and...


Alida’s Song and The Cookcamp

By: Gary Paulsen

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Life with a boy’s loving grandmother gives him strength and faith in himself, drawing him away from the edge and into the center of life, in these two remarkable novels based on...

All Shook Up

By:

BOOK TALK
What's the most embarrassing thing your parents have ever done? Cleaned your face with a wet finger? Yelled at you in front of your friends? Insisted on walking with you at the mall? Although...

All the Earth, Thrown to the Sky

By: Joe R. Lansdale

BOOK TALK
 
Fans of the legendary Joe R. Lansdale will want to buckle up as they take a road trip with Jack Catcher.  When Jack’s mom dies of sickness and his father of a broken heart,...


All the Way Home

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

TEACHERS GUIDE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
This warm and touching novel tells the story of Brick and Mariel, two 11-year-old friends who know firsthand about adversity and together embark on a journey that...

Download Resource

All the Way Home

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

BOOK TALK
Imagine what it would be like to have a disease that caused your legs to become twisted and almost useless. Living in Brooklyn most her life, polio survivor, Mariel Manning has had to live...

Alligator Bayou

By: Donna Jo Napoli

An unforgettable  novel, based on a true story, about racism against Italian Americans in the South in 1899.
 
Fourteen-year-old Calogero, his uncles, and his cousins are six Sicilians...

Download Resource

Along the River

By: Adeline Yen Mah

Download Resource

Along the River

By:

BOOK TALK
CC suffers a head injury and drifts in and out of consciousness.  There is a reoccurring dream that haunts her and under hypnosis, she becomes Mei-Lan, a girl who lived 800 years ago during...

The Amber Spyglass Deluxe Edition

By: Philip Pullman

BOOK TALK
 
Join Lyra and Will as they travel into the Land of the Dead. Lyra?s parents, Lord Asriel and Mrs. Coulter, continue to play important roles in the action. Lord Asriel sends spies...


Amelia Lost: The Life and Disappearance of Amelia Earhart

By: Candace Fleming

From the acclaimed author of The Great and Only Barnum—as well as The Lincolns, Our Eleanor, and Ben Franklin's Almanac—comes the thrilling story of America's most celebrated flyer, Amelia...

Download Resource

Amen, L.A.

By: Cherie Bennett and Jeff Gottesfeld

BOOK TALK
 
Natalie makes a personal decision that she later regrets the night before her family moves from small-town Minnesota to Los Angeles, California.  Her minister mother has accepted...

The American Story: 100 True Tales from American History

By: Jennifer Armstrong
illustrated by: Roger Roth

American history comes alive in these 100 true stories that define our country.
 
This magnificent treasury tells the story of America through 100 true tales. Some are tales of triumph—the...

Download Resource

Amos Daragon #1: The Mask Wearer

By: Bryan Perro
translated from the French by: Y. Maudet

Book Talk
Born to talented craftspeople, Amos Daragon’s family was the poorest in Lord Edonf’s entire kingdom. The greedy Lord taxed his townspeople so heavily, many could barely survive.  Amos’s...

Andrew Zimmern’s Bizarre World of Food: Brains, Bugs, and Blood Sausage

By: Andrew Zimmern

Book Talk
Are you hungry?  No, I mean really hungry?  Are you so hungry you’d eat just about anything put in front of you?  If so, I have just the meal for you.  How about some aged cheese from...

Anthony Burns

By: Virginia Hamilton

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Anthony Burns:
The Defeat and Triumph of a Fugitive Slave
Virginia Hamilton
Grades 7-10
Anthony Burns may be considered an obscure person in American history,...


Ashes of Roses

By: Mary Jane Auch

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Margaret Rose Nolan is sixteen years old when her family leaves their native Ireland and comes to America in search of better opportunities.

The plan is to stay with Uncle...

Ashtown Burials Series Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: N. D. Wilson

Fans of both Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones will be captivated by the lost civilizations, ancient secrets, and buried treasure found in the third book of the Ashtown Burials series, an action-packed adventure...

Download Resource

Autumn Winifred Oliver Does Things Different

By: Kristin O'Donnell Tubb

Download Resource