RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8 : By Author : w


Books

The Wanderings of Odysseus

By: Rosemary Sutcliff

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey.From the Hardcover edition.

The War Between the Classes

By: Gloria Miklowitz

What are Amy and Adam going to do about their love life? Neither Amy's traditionalist Japanese parents nor Adam's snobby, upper-class mother will accept their relationship. To make things worse, Amy and...

The Warlock

By: Michael Scott

Read the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.The twins of prophecy have...


The Wave

By: Todd Strasser

This novel dramatizes an incident that took place in a California school in 1969. A teacher creates an experimental movement in his class to help students understand how people could have followed Hitler....

The Wave

By: Todd Strasser

The Wave is based on a true incident that occured in a high school history class in Palo Alto, California, in 1969.The powerful forces of group pressure that pervaded many historic movements such as Nazism...

The Weekend Was Murder

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

From Joan Lowery Nixon, four-time Edgar Allen Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award winner and author of the Orphan Train historical fiction series, comes The Weekend was Murder!    Mary Elizabeth...


The Whole Sky Full of Stars

By: Rene Saldana, Jr.

Barry can punch anyone hard enough to make them see a whole sky full of stars, though that's not really his style. Barry and Alby have been friends since the first grade. They've always protected one another.When...

The Winter Horses

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

The Wrong Hands

By: Nigel Richardson

Fourteen-year-old Graham Sinclair was born with huge, strange hands. He was also born with a secret. The only time he ever told someone his secret, it got him into big trouble. So he won’t be telling...


Resources

Mistress of the Storm

By: M. L. Welsh

Book Talk
The Storm is coming and Verity has no idea that her life will change so drastically because of a ship and Captain Abednego.  Well, not just the ship; there’s also her grandmother-who-really-her-grandmother,...

Heart of Stone

By: M. L. Welsh

BOOK TALK
The town of Wellow is under attack by an unknown enemy, so Verity and her best friends must set out to solve the mystery and save it.  The evil begins with a strange sifting of white sand,...

Belle Prater’s Boy

By: Ruth White

TEACHERS GUIDE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
In this vivid coming-of-age story, two cousins develop a real friendship while discovering the truths about their families and themselves.
Twelve-year-old...


You’ll Like It Here (Everybody Does)

By: Ruth White

Book Talk
Imagine a world with no poverty, no disease, and no crime,  Sounds great, huh?  That’s what Meggie, her brother David, her mom, and grandfather all think, too, when they make an unexpected...

The Other Half of Life

By: Kim Ablon Whitney

Download Resource

Wish

By: N. D. Wilson

BOOK TALK
 
Bee’s brother, Tommy, knows everything there is to know about sharks. He also knows that his life will be cut short by cystic fibrosis. And so does Bee. That’s why she wants...


100 Cupboards

By: N. D. Wilson

BOOK TALK
Henry York has a dream. He is standing on a hill near a large stone, under an ancient tree, with his pet wolf at his side. Something about the place, the stone, and the tree feels vaguely...

Counting on Grace

By: Elizabeth Winthrop

1910. Pownal, Vermont. At 12, Grace and her best friend Arthur must leave school and go to work as a “doffers” on their mothers’ looms in the mill. Grace’s mother is the best worker,...

Download Resource

The Castle in the Attic

By: Elizabeth Winthrop

NOTE TO TEACHERS
The Castle in the Attic
Elizabeth Winthrop
Grades 5 - 8
The Castle in the Attic and The Battle for the Castle are stories of courage and trust, growing up and family....


Dear Levi and Dear Austin

By: Elvira Woodruff

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Dear Levi

and
Dear Austin
Elvira Woodruff
Grades 5-8
Elvira Woodruff details the rich history of two important periods in American history as she captures...

Crow

By: Barbara Wright

Download Resource

Crow

By: Barbara Wright

BOOK TALK
Perhaps you have heard your grandparents talk fondly about “the good old days,” but not everything that happened “in the good old days” was a good thing, especially for African Americans. ...