RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8 : By Author : s


Books

Salome

By: Beatrice Gormley

If I'd never hoped to live in a world of goodness and truth—if the priestess of Diana, then Leander, and Joanna, hadn't shown me glimpses of it—maybe I wouldn't have minded being shut out of...

Sarny

By: Gary Paulsen

So many readers have written and asked: What happened to Sarny, the young slave girl who learned to read in Nightjohn? Extraordinary things happened to her, from the moment she fled the plantation in the...

Sass & Serendipity

By: Jennifer Ziegler

For Daphne, the glass is always half full. A situation is better managed with a dab of lip gloss, and the boy of her dreams—the one she's read about in all of her novels—is waiting for her...


Saving Francesca

By: Melina Marchetta

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that's pretends...

Saving Maddie

By: Varian Johnson

Joshua Wynn is a preacher’s son and a “good boy” who always does the right thing. Until Maddie comes back to town. Maddie is the daughter of the former associate pastor of Joshua’s...


Resources

Holes and Small Steps


Download Resource

Under the Blood-Red Sun & Eyes of the Emperor

By: Graham Salisbury

Tomi was born in Hawaii. His grandfather and parents were born in Japan, and came to America to escape poverty.

World War II seems far away from Tomi and his friends, who are too busy playing...

Download Resource

Lord of the Deep

By: Graham Salisbury

Fishing. This is it, the big time. Mikey's 13, a deckhand working on a charter boat in Hawaii. Working for the best skipper anywhere, his stepdad, Bill. Before Bill came along, it was just Mikey and his...

Download Resource

Magicalamity

By: Kate Saunders

BOOK TALKS
Tom Harding thinks he has a normal life with his normal parents who run a normal deli.  Until one morning, he discovers that not only is his dad a fairy, but he has also been accused of...

Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy

By: Gary D. Schmidt

Download Resource

Black Box

By: Julie Schumacher

WHEN DORA, ELENA’S older sister, is diagnosed with depression and has to be admitted to the hospital, Elena can’t seem to make sense of their lives anymore. At school, the only people who acknowledge...

Download Resource

The Alchemyst

By: Michael Scott

Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.He holds the secret that...

Download Resource

The Sorceress

By: Michael Scott

Read the third book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
   Nicholas...

Download Resource

The Necromancer

By: Michael Scott

Read the fourth book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

San Francisco:  ...

Download Resource

The Warlock

By: Michael Scott

On Alcatraz Island, two human immortals – Machiavelli and Billy the Kid – are about to release loathsome monsters to terrorize and destroy the city of San Francisco. Meanwhile, in the city, a motley...

The Magician

By: Michael Scott

Read the second book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
   After...

Download Resource

The Warlock

By: Michael Scott

Read the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

The twins of...

Download Resource

The Alchemyst

By: Michael Scott

BOOK TALK
Josh and Sophie, 15-year-old twins, take summer jobs across the street from one another, one in a bookstore and one in a coffee shop. But the arrival of a sinister man in a sleek, dark car...

The Enchantress

By: Michael Scott

BOOK TALK

Josh and Sophie, traveling through a powerful leygate 10,000 years into the past with the immortals John Dee and Virginia Dare, are immediately faced with the startling revelation...

The Enchantress

By: Michael Scott

Read the sixth book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.The two that are one must...

Download Resource

Ice Island

By: Sherry Shahan

BOOK TALK
Tatum moves around Alaska with her parents as they work different jobs while saving money to build their own lodge.  Tatum’s dream is to race her own dogsled in the Iditarod with her...

Ice Island

By: Sherry Shahan

What begins as a training run with sled dogs turns into a race against time for Tatum and her new friend, a Siberian Yupik boy named Cole. When a freak blizzard hits this remote island off the coast of...

Download Resource

Child of the Mountains

By:

BOOK TALK
Lydia goes to live with Uncle William and Aunt Ethel Mae when her little brother, BJ, and Gran die and Mama is hauled off to jail.  She feels sad, lonely and guilty for a host of reasons,...


Child of the Mountains

By: Marilyn Sue Shank

"Unfolds in pitch-perfect regional dialect. . . . For fans of Ruth White's and Kerry Madden's Appalachian-inspired fiction."--Kirkus Reviews

It's about keeping the faith.

Growing...

Download Resource

A Boy and A Bear in a Boat

By: Dave Shelton

BOOK TALK
How much trouble can a boy, a bear and a boat get into?  The boy only wants to cross over to the other side.  But then some “unforeseeable anomalies” get in the way, such as storms...

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

By: Liesl Shurtliff

BOOK TALK
Have you ever wondered where Rumpelstiltskin came from? Or who his parents were? Or how he acquired the magic to turn straw into gold? Rump’s story begins when he is living with his grandmother...


Endymion Spring

By: Matthew Skelton

"You've stumbled on to something much larger than you can possibly imagine."

In the dead of night, a cloaked figure drags a heavy box through snow-covered streets. The chest, covered...

Download Resource

Empire of Ruins: The Hunchback Assignments 3

By: Arthur Slade

BOOK TALK
 
Modo is back with a task that just might drive him mad.  His next assignment?  To venture deep into the heart of the Australian jungle and find ancient Egyptian ruins.  Modo,...

True Blue

By: Jane Smiley

BOOK TALK
 
Abby loves everything about horses; riding, training, feeding, and grooming.  She is thrilled when she has the opportunity to buy her first horse, but she has no idea the ghost...


The Georges and the Jewels

By: Jane Smiley

BOOK TALK
Abby loves the horses her dad raises. She loves feeding them. She loves training them. She loves keeping them clean. What she doesn't love is that her dad won't let her name any of them....

Pie in the Sky

By: Jane Smiley

BOOK TALK
Abby wants nothing more than to train and ride her beautiful horse, True Blue, but after a bad experience at a horse clinic led by some big time horse trainer, everything changes.  Sophia,...

Diary of a Parent Trainer

By: Jenny Smith

BOOK TALK

Katie is bound and determined to keep a diary of how she trains the grown-ups in her life.  She has studied the operating modes of grown-ups and gives readers tips on how to maximize...


Stargirl and Love, Stargirl

By: Jerry Spinelli

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’s heart with just...

Download Resource

Milkweed

By: Jerry Spinelli

He’s a boy called Jew. Gypsy. Stopthief. Runt. Happy. Fast. Filthy son of Abraham.

He’s a boy who lives in the streets of Warsaw. He’s a boy who steals food for himself and...

Download Resource

Hokey Pokey

By: Jerry Spinelli

BOOK TALK
Jack is the leader of Hokey Pokey, a land where there are no grownups and kids rule.   His prize position is his bike, called Scramjet, and he races through Hokey Pokey and up and down...


Hokey Pokey

By: Jerry Spinelli

Welcome to Hokey Pokey. A place and a time, when childhood is at its best: games to play, bikes to ride, experiences to be had. There are no adults in Hokey Pokey, just kids, and the laws governing Hokey...

Download Resource

Liar & Spy

By: Rebecca Stead

The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of the Newbery Medal book When You Reach Me: a story about spies, games, and friendship. Seventh grader Georges moves into a Brooklyn apartment building...

Download Resource

Liar & Spy

By: Rebecca Stead

BOOK TALK
Georges is in the seventh-grade when his world turns upside down.  His father loses his job and the family moves from their house into an apartment. He loses his best friend to the “cool...


Behind the Bookcase

By: Mark Steensland
illustrated by: Kelly Murphy

BOOK TALK
After her Grandma Winnie's death, Sarah finds herself forced to spend the summer at the old woman's house while her parents attempt to fix the place up enough to sell it.  But, for Sarah,...

The Emerald Atlas

By: John Stephens

Book Talk
Three ancient lost books of magic, and three abandoned children wandering from one orphanage to another… what could they possibly have in common? Kate has only a vague memory of the night...

The Fire Chronicle

By: John Stephens

After the tumultuous events of last winter, Kate, Michael, and Emma long to continue the hunt for their missing parents. But they themselves are now in great danger, and so the wizard Stanislaus Pym hides...

Download Resource

The Fire Chronicle

By: John Stephens

BOOK TALK
After finding and mastering the power of the Emerald Atlas, Kate, Michael, and Emma continue the search for their parents who have been kidnapped.  However, the children are now in danger...

Edge Chronicles

By: Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

Download Resource

Under My Hat

By: Jonathan Strahan

BOOK TALK
Spells, black cats, pointy hats--this bewitching collection celebrates the fantasy and lore of witches and their brood.  With richly imagined poems, short stories, and other crafty creations...