RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 6-8


Browse By:

Featured Books

Be Not Afraid

By: Cecilia Galante

Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mother’s suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly—because she can...

Blackwood: A Hexed Story

By: Michelle Krys

An exclusive ebook original short story by debut author Michelle Krys to coincide with the publication of Hexed, a new series about a snarky sixteen-year-old cheerleader who's forced into a centuries-old...

Deception's Pawn

By: Esther Friesner

Fortune favors the bold in this adventurous tale of broken friendships, forbidden love, and a fiery heroine’s journey to escape the role into which she was born. Perfect for YA fantasy fans of Shannon...


The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion

By: Chris McCoy

It’s Superbad meets Spaceballs in this hilarious extraterrestrial road trip!   Just a few days before prom, Bennett pulls off something he never imagined possible: his dream girl, Sophie, agrees...

Bloodkin (Book 2)

By: Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

Fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone will love this second book in the Maeve'ra trilogy by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes that asks the question: how much is one life worth, and when is the price...

The Wondrous and the Wicked

By: Page Morgan

For fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen series comes the exciting conclustion to the trilogy that includes The Beautiful and the Cursed and The Lovely and the Lost. The Waverly sisters must save themselves before...


Son of Fortune

By: Victoria McKernan

Aiden Lynch is a survivor—only 16 years old, he's seen himself through near-starvation on the Kansas prairie, a brutal journey on the Oregon trail, and backbreaking work in a lumber camp. Now he's...

The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials: The Collector's Edition (Maze Runner, Book One and Book Two)

By: James Dashner

Get lost in the thrilling action and twisting plotlines of James Dashner’s #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series. Read the first two books—The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials—discover...

The Whisperer

By: Fiona McIntosh

In this adventurous retelling of The Prince and the Pauper, the lives of a runaway royal and a carnival worker become intertwined as each is compelled to fight for his life and family. Fans of The Sixty-Eight...


Featured Resources:

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

Fairy Tale Retellings Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a...

Download Resource

The Island of Dr. Libris Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Chris Grabenstein
Guide Prepared by: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, Room 228 Educational Consulting

Chris Grabenstein, author of the New York Times bestselling Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson, celebrates the power of imagination with...

Download Resource

Nightbird Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Alice Hoffman
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children’s Literature Consultant

“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical. . . . [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember.” —Lois...

Download Resource

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jordan Stratford
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literary Consultant

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an...

Download Resource

The Penderwicks Poster with CCSS activities

By: Jeanne Birdsall
Guide prepared by: Elizabeth A. Poe, PhD, Children's and Young Adult Literature Specialist and Susan Geye, Director of Library Services

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...

Download Resource

Finding the Worm Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Mark Goldblatt
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss,...

Download Resource

Like Water on Stone (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Dana Walrath
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915. 
 
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire...

Download Resource

Unbroken Family and Educator Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Laura Hillenbrand
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

The #1 New York Times bestseller, which is also a major motion picture directed by Angelina Jolie, has now been adapted by the author for young adults. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this riveting...

Download Resource

Nest Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Esther Ehrlich
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...

Download Resource

Under the Blood Red Sun Educator Guide

By: Graham Salisbury
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

Tomi was born in Hawaii. His grandfather and parents were born in Japan, and came to America to escape poverty.

World War II seems far away from Tomi and his friends, who are too busy playing...

Download Resource

Skink–No Surrender Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Carl Hiaasen
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

Carl Hiaasen serves up his unique brand of swamp justice in the New York Times bestseller Skink—No Surrender.
 
A National Book Award Longlist Selection
 
When your...

Download Resource

Frostborn Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Lou Anders
Guide prepared by: Connie Rockman, youth literature consultant, adjunct professor of children's and young adult literature

Fantasy fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series will embrace this first novel in an adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series by a debut author....

Download Resource

The Family Romanov Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Candace Fleming
Guide prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer/developer, literacy specialist, and education consultant.

“[A] superb history.... In these thrilling, highly readable pages, we meet Rasputin, the shaggy, lecherous mystic...; we visit the gilded ballrooms of the doomed aristocracy; and we pause in the...

Download Resource

Thomas Jefferson Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jon Meacham
Guide Prepared by: Kathleen Odean, a former school librarian and chair of the 2002 Newbery Award Committee

In this special illustrated edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jon Meacham, young readers will learn about the life...

Download Resource

Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle Educator Guide

By: George Hagen
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC.

“A first-rate fantasy for middle-grade readers. Like Harry Potter,... Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series,... and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society books.”...

Download Resource

Wonder Teacher Planner

By: RJ Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenni Holm
Guide prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Believe in the possible . . . with this New York Times bestseller by three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm.
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer. Science can change the world...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Author Study Kit

By: Jenni Holm;

Believe in the possible . . . with this New York Times bestseller by three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm.
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer. Science can change the world...

Download Resource

Poetry K-8 Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House; Guide Prepared By: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, former high school English teachers and co-founders of Room 228 Educational Consulting

Download Resource

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

BOOK TALK
Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving...


The Fire Wish Book Talk

By: Amber Lough

BOOK TALK
The story of Najwa, a jinni and Zayele, a princess whose desperate wish lands both girls in trouble, is book one of an exciting new fantasy. Both girls only know of the hatred between the...

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Lovely and the Lost Book Talk

By: Page Morgan

BOOK TALK
Moving to France didn’t help Ingrid and Gabby Waverly escape their past in London, it threw them into a nightmare world of demons, hounds and gargoyles. In, The Lovely and the Lost, Page...


Grades 6 and Up Educator Guide Correlated to the Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Grades 3-6 Educator Guide Correlated to Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Son of Fortune Book Talk

By: Victoria McKernan

BOOK TALK
When Aiden kills a man, he is forced to flee the lumber camp and find passage on a ship to San Francisco.  He proves to the ship captain he works hard and saves the captain’s brother’s...


Mister Max and the Book of Lost Things Book Talk

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Iacopo Bruno

BOOK TALK
Max’s parents are actors and when they receive an offer to travel to India to perform for the Maharajah, the family immediately makes a plan for the voyage.  However, for some unknown...

Teach the Newbery Winners


Download Resource

Flipped: Read the Book, See the Movie

By: Wendelin Van Draanen

The first time she saw him, she flipped. The first time he saw her, he ran. That was the second grade, but not much has changed by the seventh. She says: “My Bryce. Still walking around with my first...

Download Resource

Holocaust Remembrance


Download Resource