RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 4-5 : By Title : w


Books

The War of the Worlds

By: H.G. Wells

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the publication of H. G. Wells's famous novel about a Martian invasion. To celebrate, we are reissuing our adaptation of this sci-fi classic with brand-new cover...

The War with Grandpa

By: Robert K. Smith

Peter thinks the only way he can reclaim his room is by declaring war on his grandfather.Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, William Allen White Award, Tennessee Children's Choice Book Award, Parents' Choice...

The Water Horse

By: Dick King-Smith
illustrated by: David Parkins

Now in paperback! From the award-winning author of Babe: The Gallant Pig comes the story of how the Loch Ness monster finds his home, thanks to the human family that raises him.


The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

A wonderful middle-grade novel narrated by Kenny, 9, about his middle-class black family, the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan. When Kenny's 13-year-old brother, Byron, gets to be too much trouble, ...

The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

A wonderful middle-grade novel narrated by Kenny, 9, about his middle-class black family, the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan. When Kenny's 13-year-old brother, Byron, gets to be too much trouble, ...

The Wednesdays

By: Julie Bourbeau
illustrated by: Jason Beene

Mystery, magic, mischief and monsters abound in this slightly fantastical story of a human kid who wants to stay that way. Perfect for fans of Ransom Riggs and Maryrose Wood.Max’s village is absolutely...


The Whisperer

By: Fiona McIntosh

In this adventurous retelling of The Prince and the Pauper, the lives of a runaway royal and a carnival worker become intertwined as each is compelled to fight for his life and family. Fans of The Sixty-Eight...

The White City

By: John Claude Bemis

In The Nine Pound Hammer, John Bemis introduced middle-grade readers to a whole new approach to epic fantasy, founded on characters and themes from American mythology and lore, including the legend of...


Resources

The Wednesdays

By: Julie Bourbeau
illustrated by: Jason Beene

BOOK TALK
They’re sneaky.  They’re silly.  They’re sinister.  What are they, you might ask?  They are the Wednesdays and they are out to cause mischief and mayhem in the town of Mount Tibadabo. ...

When Life Gives You O.J.

By: Erica S. Perl

Book Talks
After her grandmother dies and Zelly’s family moves from Brooklyn to a home in Vermont, she thinks her dream of owning a dog will finally come true.  No such luck; her parents are still...

When You Reach Me

By: Rebecca Stead

Winner of the 2010 John Newbery Medal

Four mysterious letters change Miranda’s world forever.

By sixth grade, Miranda and her best friend, Sal, know how to navigate their New...

Download Resource

When You Reach Me

By: Rebecca Stead

BOOK TALK
 
Albert Einstein said, "The most beautiful experience we can have is the mysterious." When You Reach Me is just the kind of book that you will experience - mysterious, with strange...

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

By: Kimberly Willis Holt

Download Resource

Whittington

By: Alan Armstrong

The power of reading is beautifully captured in this 2006 Newbery Honor-winning book.
Bernie keeps a barn full of animals the rest of the world has no use for–two retired trotters, a rooster,...

Download Resource

Windblowne

By: Stephen Messer

BOOK TALK
 
Welcome to Windblowne, a town built in the tops of magnificent oak trees filled with people who make and fly wonderful kites. Oliver wants more than anything to be a master kite...

Winter Door

By: Isobelle Carmody

BOOK TALK
 
The bitterest winter in anyone's memory threatens to shut down the town where Rage Winnoway and her devoted dog, Billy, live. Rage mourns for her dogs that are no longer with...

The Winter Pony

By: Iain Lawrence

BOOK TALK
As a new-born pony, my experiences are limited--at least at first.  I enjoy running around the forest with my mother and the other ponies.  This good life doesn’t last long, though. ...


The Winter War: A Novel

By: William Durbin

BOOK TALK
 
You wouldn't think that surviving polio and learning to walk again would be easy, but compared to defending your home from invading Russians, anything else seems easy. In the...

Winter Wood

By: Steve Augarde

BOOK TALK
 
Midge thought that her encounters with the Various, the hidden tribes of little people hiding from the human world on her family?s farm, were behind her. In order to ensure their...

The Witch’s Revenge

By: D. A. Nelson

BOOK TALK
Welcome to Marnoch Mor, a magical kingdom that is kept secret from the human world by the Eye of Lornish.  Morag is a human allowed to live among the magical folks because she has already...


The Wolf Tree

By: John Claude Bemis

BOOK TALK
 
What would you do if a dying stranger staggered into a room of you and your friends and informed you of a horrible Darkness spreading like a virus across Kansas, turning good...

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jordan Stratford
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literary Consultant

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an...

Download Resource

Wonder

By: R. J. Palacio

BOOK TALK
Have you ever been bullied for being different?  Or maybe you have bullied someone else for being different.  Maybe you are the person who befriends the kid who is different.  No matter...


Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Challenge

By: R.J. Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Incentive Jar Labels

By: R.J. Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Rules

By: R.J. Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Wonder Choose Kind Poster with activities

By: R.J. Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Wonder Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: RJ Palacio
Guide Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

The Wonder of Charlie Anne

By: Kimberly Netwon Fusco

BOOK TALK
After Charlie Anne’s mother dies, her cousin Mirabel comes to take care of Charlie Anne and her siblings, but Mirabel lacks compassion and doesn’t know how to show love.  Then when...


Wonder Teacher Planner

By: RJ Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

The Worry Web Site

By: Jacqueline Wilson

BOOK TALK
 
How well do your friends at school know you? Do they know your hopes and dreams? Your fears? Your worries? After watching his students be cruel to each other, Mr. Speed comes...