RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 4-5 : By Author : w


Books

The Wanderings of Odysseus

By: Rosemary Sutcliff

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey.From the Hardcover edition.

The War Between the Classes

By: Gloria Miklowitz

What are Amy and Adam going to do about their love life? Neither Amy's traditionalist Japanese parents nor Adam's snobby, upper-class mother will accept their relationship. To make things worse, Amy and...

The Warlock

By: Michael Scott

Read the fifth book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.The twins of prophecy have...


The Wave

By: Todd Strasser

This novel dramatizes an incident that took place in a California school in 1969. A teacher creates an experimental movement in his class to help students understand how people could have followed Hitler....

The Wave

By: Todd Strasser

The Wave is based on a true incident that occured in a high school history class in Palo Alto, California, in 1969.The powerful forces of group pressure that pervaded many historic movements such as Nazism...

The Weekend Was Murder

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

From Joan Lowery Nixon, four-time Edgar Allen Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award winner and author of the Orphan Train historical fiction series, comes The Weekend was Murder!    Mary Elizabeth...


The White City

By: John Claude Bemis

In The Nine Pound Hammer, John Bemis introduced middle-grade readers to a whole new approach to epic fantasy, founded on characters and themes from American mythology and lore, including the legend of...

The White Gates

By: Bonnie Ramthun

WHEN TORIN SINCLAIR’S mom gets a job as the town doctor in Snow Park, Colorado, Tor can’t wait to learn to snowboard. But on Tor’s first night there, a member of the high school snowboarding...

The Whizz Pop Chocolate Shop

By: Kate Saunders

"Reminiscent of Road Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory . . . a great read-aloud." --BooklistWelcome to the most magical house in London. The family of eleven-year-old twins Oz and Lily...


Resources

Pocket Cats: Shadow Magic

By: Kitty Wells
illustrated by: Joanna Harrison

BOOK TALK
 
Maddy is excited about her cousin, Chloe, coming to stay with her family.  When her formerly friendly cousin shows up distant and antagonistic, Maddy is shocked and sad.  She...

Pocket Cats: Shadow Magic

By: Kitty Wells
illustrated by: Joanna Harrison

BOOK TALK
 
Maddy is excited about her cousin, Chloe, coming to stay with her family.  When her formerly friendly cousin shows up distant and antagonistic, Maddy is shocked and sad.  She...

Belle Prater’s Boy

By: Ruth White

TEACHERS GUIDE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
In this vivid coming-of-age story, two cousins develop a real friendship while discovering the truths about their families and themselves.
Twelve-year-old...


You’ll Like It Here (Everybody Does)

By: Ruth White

Book Talk
Imagine a world with no poverty, no disease, and no crime,  Sounds great, huh?  That’s what Meggie, her brother David, her mom, and grandfather all think, too, when they make an unexpected...

Doglands

By: Tim Willocks

BOOK TALK
 
Every mother wants her children’s lives to be better, and Keeva was no different. If they could escape the slave owners, forced labor and frequent abuse, she wanted them to...

The Worry Web Site

By: Jacqueline Wilson

BOOK TALK
 
How well do your friends at school know you? Do they know your hopes and dreams? Your fears? Your worries? After watching his students be cruel to each other, Mr. Speed comes...


Leepike Ridge

By: N.D. Wilson

Before he wrote the bestselling 100 Cupboards trilogy and Ashtown Burials series, N. D. Wilson delighted readers with his first unforgettable action-adventure story of survival. . . .
 
...

Download Resource

100 Cupboards

By: N. D. Wilson

BOOK TALK
Henry York has a dream. He is standing on a hill near a large stone, under an ancient tree, with his pet wolf at his side. Something about the place, the stone, and the tree feels vaguely...

You Never Heard of Willie Mays?!

By: Jonah Winter
illustrated by: Terry Widener

He hit 660 home runs (fourth best of all time), had a lifetime batting average of .302, and is second only to Babe Ruth on The Sporting News's list of "Baseball's 100 Greatest Players." Many believe him...

Download Resource

Counting on Grace

By: Elizabeth Winthrop

1910. Pownal, Vermont. At 12, Grace and her best friend Arthur must leave school and go to work as a “doffers” on their mothers’ looms in the mill. Grace’s mother is the best worker,...

Download Resource

The Castle in the Attic

By: Elizabeth Winthrop

NOTE TO TEACHERS
The Castle in the Attic
Elizabeth Winthrop
Grades 5 - 8
The Castle in the Attic and The Battle for the Castle are stories of courage and trust, growing up and family....

Dear Levi and Dear Austin

By: Elvira Woodruff

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Dear Levi

and
Dear Austin
Elvira Woodruff
Grades 5-8
Elvira Woodruff details the rich history of two important periods in American history as she captures...


Crow

By: Barbara Wright

Download Resource

Crow

By: Barbara Wright

BOOK TALK
Perhaps you have heard your grandparents talk fondly about “the good old days,” but not everything that happened “in the good old days” was a good thing, especially for African Americans. ...