RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 4-5 : By Author : w


Books

The Walk On (The Triple Threat, 1)

By: John Feinstein

Bestselling sportswriter John Feinstein kicks off a new series for middle grade featuring Alex Myers, a student athlete who tries to take on the sports establishment in his new town.   Alex Myers...

The Wanderings of Odysseus

By: Rosemary Sutcliff

For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden...

The Wanigan

By: Gloria Whelan

Before the spring of 1878, 11-year-old Annabel Lee had never even heard of a wanigan. But she and her mother are now stranded on the small floating cookshack for three months while her father and the other...


The War in Georgia

By: Jerrie Oughton

The War of the Worlds

By: H.G. Wells

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the publication of H. G. Wells's famous novel about a Martian invasion. To celebrate, we are reissuing our adaptation of this sci-fi classic with brand-new cover...

The War with Grandpa

By: Robert K. Smith

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE! The hilarious story of a boy who leaps into battle when he’s forced to share a room with his grandfather. Peter is thrilled that Grandpa is coming to live with...


The Water Horse

By: Dick King-Smith
illustrated by: David Parkins

Now in paperback! From the award-winning author of Babe: The Gallant Pig comes the story of how the Loch Ness monster finds his home, thanks to the human family that raises him.

The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.Enter...

The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.Enter...


Resources

Pocket Cats: Shadow Magic

By: Kitty Wells
illustrated by: Joanna Harrison

BOOK TALK
 
Maddy is excited about her cousin, Chloe, coming to stay with her family.  When her formerly friendly cousin shows up distant and antagonistic, Maddy is shocked and sad.  She...

Pocket Cats: Shadow Magic

By: Kitty Wells
illustrated by: Joanna Harrison

BOOK TALK
 
Maddy is excited about her cousin, Chloe, coming to stay with her family.  When her formerly friendly cousin shows up distant and antagonistic, Maddy is shocked and sad.  She...

Belle Prater’s Boy

By: Ruth White

TEACHERS GUIDE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
In this vivid coming-of-age story, two cousins develop a real friendship while discovering the truths about their families and themselves.
Twelve-year-old...


You’ll Like It Here (Everybody Does)

By: Ruth White

Book Talk
Imagine a world with no poverty, no disease, and no crime,  Sounds great, huh?  That’s what Meggie, her brother David, her mom, and grandfather all think, too, when they make an unexpected...

Doglands

By: Tim Willocks

BOOK TALK
 
Every mother wants her children’s lives to be better, and Keeva was no different. If they could escape the slave owners, forced labor and frequent abuse, she wanted them to...

The Worry Web Site

By: Jacqueline Wilson

BOOK TALK
 
How well do your friends at school know you? Do they know your hopes and dreams? Your fears? Your worries? After watching his students be cruel to each other, Mr. Speed comes...


Leepike Ridge

By: N.D. Wilson

Download Resource

100 Cupboards

By: N. D. Wilson

BOOK TALK
Henry York has a dream. He is standing on a hill near a large stone, under an ancient tree, with his pet wolf at his side. Something about the place, the stone, and the tree feels vaguely...

You Never Heard of Willie Mays?!

By: Jonah Winter
illustrated by: Terry Widener

Many believe baseball great Willie Mays to be the best player that ever lived. He hit 660 home runs (fourth best of all time), had a lifetime batting average of .302, and is second only to Babe Ruth...

Download Resource

Counting on Grace

By: Elizabeth Winthrop

1910. Pownal, Vermont. At 12, Grace and her best friend Arthur must leave school and go to work as a “doffers” on their mothers’ looms in the mill. Grace’s mother is the best worker,...

Download Resource

The Castle in the Attic

By: Elizabeth Winthrop

NOTE TO TEACHERS
The Castle in the Attic
Elizabeth Winthrop
Grades 5 - 8
The Castle in the Attic and The Battle for the Castle are stories of courage and trust, growing up and family....

Dear Levi and Dear Austin

By: Elvira Woodruff

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Dear Levi

and
Dear Austin
Elvira Woodruff
Grades 5-8
Elvira Woodruff details the rich history of two important periods in American history as she captures...


Crow

By: Barbara Wright

Download Resource

Crow

By: Barbara Wright

BOOK TALK
Perhaps you have heard your grandparents talk fondly about “the good old days,” but not everything that happened “in the good old days” was a good thing, especially for African Americans. ...