RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 4-5


Browse By:

Featured Books

Shingaling: A Wonder Story

By: R. J. Palacio

Over 2 million people have read the New York Times bestseller Wonder and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. Readers have also been...

The Boys of Fire and Ash

By: Meaghan McIsaac

"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus  Fans of Rick Riordan...

Lost Children of the Far Islands

By: Emily Raabe

Twins Gus and Leo and their little sister, Ila, live a quiet life in Maine—until their mother falls ill, and it becomes clear her strength is fading because she is protecting them from a terrible...


Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

By: Kelly Jones
illustrated by: Katie Kath

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.   Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her...

Anna & Elsa #4: The Great Ice Engine (Disney Frozen)

By: Erica David
illustrated by: Francesco Legramandi, Gabriella Matta, Manuela Razzi, and William Robinson

Princess Anna, Queen Elsa, Olaf the snowman, and all the stars from Disney Frozen are back in an all-new magical chapter book series perfect for girls and boys ages 6 to 9. Anna has an adventurous spirit....

Inside My Mind: A Book About Me! (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney/Pixar’s Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind. Boys and girls ages 6 to 9 will love writing, doodling, solving puzzles, and more...


Inside Out Junior Novelization (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney•Pixar’s Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind! Inside Out: The Junior Novelization retells the whole exciting story and features...

Jurassic World Dinosaur Field Guide (Jurassic World)

By: Dr. Thomas R. Holtz, Jr. and Dr. Michael Brett-Surman
illustrated by: Robert Walters

Jurassic World is the long-awaited next installment of the groundbreaking Jurassic Park series. T. rex’s, velociraptors, triceratops—as well as some all-new dinosaurs—will roar across...

Magic Tree House: Animal Games and Puzzles

By: Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce
illustrated by: Sal Murdocca

More than two hundred animal puzzles, games, and activities for kids who love the Magic Tree House books!   Take a walk on the wild side with Magic Tree House® animal activities! From cobras...


Featured Resources:

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

Fairy Tale Retellings Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a...

Download Resource

The Island of Dr. Libris Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Chris Grabenstein
Guide Prepared by: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, Room 228 Educational Consulting

New from the author of the New York Times bestseller Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson! Celebrate the power of imagination with this action-packed...

Download Resource

Nightbird Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Alice Hoffman
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children’s Literature Consultant

“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical. . . . [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember.” —Lois...

Download Resource

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jordan Stratford
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literary Consultant

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an...

Download Resource

Poetry Month Activity Booklet (with CCSS tie-ins)

By:

National Poetry Month offers the perfect opportunity to invigorate your classroom with creativity and imagination! Poetry has the unique ability to challenge students to think about the ordinary world...

Download Resource

The Penderwicks Poster with CCSS activities

By: Jeanne Birdsall
Guide prepared by: Elizabeth A. Poe, PhD, Children's and Young Adult Literature Specialist and Susan Geye, Director of Library Services

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...

Download Resource

NEA’s Read Across America 2015 Classroom Activity Guide

By: Dr. Seuss
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literacy Consultant

A perennial favorite, Dr. Seuss’s wonderfully wise graduation speech is the perfect send-off for children starting out in the world, be they nursery school, high school, or college grads! From soaring...

Download Resource

Finding the Worm Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Mark Goldblatt
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss,...

Download Resource

Uni the Unicorn Magic Sheet Music

By: Amy Krouse Rosenthal

An original picture book about a unicorn from bestselling author Amy Krouse Rosenthal (Plant a Kiss).
 
In this clever twist on the age-old belief that there’s no such thing as...

Download Resource

Dear Malala, We Stand with You Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Rosemary McCarney
Guide Prepared by: Kathleen Odean, a former school librarian and chair of the 2002 Newbery Award Committee

An inspiring letter to Malala Yousafzai, winner of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize, that is both a show of support and a call to action for girls around the world.
 
Malala became the youngest...

Download Resource

Nonfiction Stepping Stones Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

Have you been looking for engaging chapter books that will
appeal to young readers and help them build the literacy
skills they need? Well, look no further—you’ve found Stepping
Stones!...

Download Resource

Nest Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Esther Ehrlich
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...

Download Resource

Frostborn Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Lou Anders
Guide prepared by: Connie Rockman, youth literature consultant, adjunct professor of children's and young adult literature

Fantasy fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series will embrace this first novel in an adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series by a debut author....

Download Resource

Magic Tree House Reading Buddies Educator Guide

By: Mary Pope Osborne
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literacy Consultant

Download Resource

Thomas Jefferson Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jon Meacham
Guide Prepared by: Kathleen Odean, a former school librarian and chair of the 2002 Newbery Award Committee

In this special illustrated edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jon Meacham, young readers will learn about the life...

Download Resource

Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle Educator Guide

By: George Hagen
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC.

“A first-rate fantasy for middle-grade readers. Like Harry Potter,... Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series,... and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society books.”...

Download Resource

Wonder Teacher Planner

By: RJ Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenni Holm
Guide prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Believe in the possible . . . with this New York Times bestseller by three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm.
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer. Science can change the world...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Author Study Kit

By: Jenni Holm;

Believe in the possible . . . with this New York Times bestseller by three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm.
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer. Science can change the world...

Download Resource

Seuss in the Classroom Educator Guide

By: Dr. Seuss
Guide prepared by: Nance S. Wilson, PhD, Associate Professor of Literacy Education, State University of New York at Cortland.

Download Resource

Poetry K-8 Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House; Guide Prepared By: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, former high school English teachers and co-founders of Room 228 Educational Consulting

Download Resource

Comics Squad Book Talk

By: Jennifer Holm, Matthew Holm

BOOK TALK
Do you want to be a member of the Secret Super Ninja Club? Do you like Perilous Pizza? Do you love recess as much as Babymouse? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then Comics...

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...


Grades 3-6 Educator Guide Correlated to Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Anne Isaacs
Illustrated by: Kevin Hawkes

When Widow Tulip Jones of Bore, England, inherits a ranch in By-Golly Gully, Texas, and moves in with two trunks of tea, twelve pet tortoises, and three servants, hilarity ensues. The peaceful life suits...

Download Resource

The Noisy Paint Box Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Barb Rosenstock

A Caldecott Honor Book

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him...

Download Resource

Teach the Newbery Winners


Download Resource

Holocaust Remembrance


Download Resource