RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 4-5


Browse By:

Featured Books

Treasure: Ariel's Curious Kitten (Disney Princess: Palace Pets)

By: Tennant Redbank
illustrated by: Francesco Legramandi and Gabriella Matta

Princess Ariel from Disney’s The Little Mermaid has an adorable kitten named Treasure! Girls ages 6 to 9 will love the latest installment in the Palace Pets early chapter book series—which...

The Whisperer

By: Fiona McIntosh

In this adventurous retelling of The Prince and the Pauper, the lives of a runaway royal and a carnival worker become intertwined as each is compelled to fight for his life and family. Fans of The Sixty-Eight...

Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk

By: Liesl Shurtliff

Fans of Adam Gidwitz and Chris Colfer will give a GIANT cheer for this funny fairytale retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk!All work and no play makes Jack extremely bored. And when Jack gets bored, he...


The Black Reckoning

By: John Stephens

The final book in the bestselling Books of Beginning trilogy that began with The Emerald Atlas, which the New York Times called “a new Narnia for the tween set.” The adventures of siblings...

Apollo 13 (Totally True Adventures)

By: Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld

Could you survive an outer-space disaster? Aspiring astronauts and young explorers will love this out-of-this-world Totally True Adventure.   Astronauts Jim Lovell, Jack Swigert, and Fred Haise blasted...

The Penderwicks in Spring

By: Jeanne Birdsall

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...


The Island of Dr. Libris

By: Chris Grabenstein

Chris Grabenstein, author of the New York Times bestselling Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson, celebrates the power of imagination with...

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Crazy Critter Race

By: Maxwell Eaton III

The race is on for Ace and Bub in their sixth adventure in this popular young graphic novel series, which Kirkus called “funny from the first panel!” Ace and Bub are tangled up in an island-hopping...

Julia and the Art of Practical Travel

By: Lesley M. M. Blume

When her grandmother dies and the once-majestic family estate is sold, eleven-year-old Julia Lancaster and her aunt Constance must take to the road to find Julia’s long-lost mother. They bring with...


Featured Resources:

Fairy Tale Retellings Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a...

Download Resource

The Island of Dr. Libris Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Chris Grabenstein
Guide Prepared by: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, Room 228 Educational Consulting

Chris Grabenstein, author of the New York Times bestselling Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson, celebrates the power of imagination with...

Download Resource

Nightbird Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Alice Hoffman
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children’s Literature Consultant

“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical. . . . [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember.” —Lois...

Download Resource

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jordan Stratford
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literary Consultant

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an...

Download Resource

Poetry Month Activity Booklet (with CCSS tie-ins)

By:

National Poetry Month offers the perfect opportunity to invigorate your classroom with creativity and imagination! Poetry has the unique ability to challenge students to think about the ordinary world...

Download Resource

The Penderwicks Poster with CCSS activities

By: Jeanne Birdsall
Guide prepared by: Elizabeth A. Poe, PhD, Children's and Young Adult Literature Specialist and Susan Geye, Director of Library Services

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...

Download Resource

NEA’s Read Across America 2015 Classroom Activity Guide

By: Dr. Seuss
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literacy Consultant

A perennial favorite, Dr. Seuss’s wonderfully wise graduation speech is the perfect send-off for children starting out in the world, be they nursery school, high school, or college grads! From soaring...

Download Resource

Finding the Worm Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Mark Goldblatt
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant

The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss,...

Download Resource

Uni the Unicorn Magic Sheet Music

By: Amy Krouse Rosenthal

An original picture book about a unicorn from bestselling author Amy Krouse Rosenthal (Plant a Kiss).
 
In this clever twist on the age-old belief that there’s no such thing as...

Download Resource

Dear Malala, We Stand with You Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Rosemary McCarney
Guide Prepared by: Kathleen Odean, a former school librarian and chair of the 2002 Newbery Award Committee

An inspiring letter to Malala Yousafzai, winner of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize, that is both a show of support and a call to action for girls around the world.
 
Malala became the youngest...

Download Resource

Nonfiction Stepping Stones Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

Have you been looking for engaging chapter books that will
appeal to young readers and help them build the literacy
skills they need? Well, look no further—you’ve found Stepping
Stones!...

Download Resource

Nest Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Esther Ehrlich
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...

Download Resource

Frostborn Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Lou Anders
Guide prepared by: Connie Rockman, youth literature consultant, adjunct professor of children's and young adult literature

Fantasy fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series will embrace this first novel in an adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series by a debut author....

Download Resource

Magic Tree House Reading Buddies Educator Guide

By: Mary Pope Osborne
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literacy Consultant

Download Resource

Thomas Jefferson Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jon Meacham
Guide Prepared by: Kathleen Odean, a former school librarian and chair of the 2002 Newbery Award Committee

In this special illustrated edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jon Meacham, young readers will learn about the life...

Download Resource

Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle Educator Guide

By: George Hagen
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC.

“A first-rate fantasy for middle-grade readers. Like Harry Potter,... Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series,... and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society books.”...

Download Resource

Wonder Teacher Planner

By: RJ Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers and inspired a movement to choose kind.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenni Holm
Guide prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Author Study Kit

By: Jenni Holm;

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
...

Download Resource

Seuss in the Classroom Educator Guide

By: Dr. Seuss
Guide prepared by: Nance S. Wilson, PhD, Associate Professor of Literacy Education, State University of New York at Cortland.

Download Resource

Poetry K-8 Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House; Guide Prepared By: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, former high school English teachers and co-founders of Room 228 Educational Consulting

Download Resource

Comics Squad Book Talk

By: Jennifer Holm, Matthew Holm

BOOK TALK
Do you want to be a member of the Secret Super Ninja Club? Do you like Perilous Pizza? Do you love recess as much as Babymouse? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then Comics...

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

Grades 3-6 Educator Guide Correlated to Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Anne Isaacs
Illustrated by: Kevin Hawkes

When Widow Tulip Jones of Bore, England, inherits a ranch in By-Golly Gully, Texas, and moves in with two trunks of tea, twelve pet tortoises, and three servants, hilarity ensues. The peaceful life suits...

Download Resource

The Noisy Paint Box Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Barb Rosenstock

A Caldecott Honor Book

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him...

Download Resource

Teach the Newbery Winners


Download Resource

Holocaust Remembrance


Download Resource