RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Grades 4-5


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Caller

By: Juliet Marillier

In the final book in this gripping, romantic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Shannon Hale, Neryn’s band of rebels reach their climactic confrontation with...

Sammy Keyes and the Kiss Goodbye

By: Wendelin Van Draanen

The final mystery starring Sammy Keyes: “the most winning junior detective ever in teen lit. (Take that, Nancy Drew!)” —Midwest Children’s Book Review   Sammy doesn’t...

The Walk On (The Triple Threat, 1)

By: John Feinstein

Bestselling sportswriter John Feinstein kicks off a new series for middle grade featuring Alex Myers, a student athlete who tries to take on the sports establishment in his new town.   Alex Myers...


Nest

By: Esther Ehrlich

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...

My Brother's Shadow

By: Tom Avery

Fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious...

House of the Red Fish

By: Graham Salisbury

1943, one year after the end of Under the Blood-Red Sun, Tomi’s Papa and Grandpa are still under arrest, and the paradise of Hawaii now lives in fear—waiting for another attack, while trying...


Everything I Need to Know About Christmas I Learned From a Little Golden Book

By: Diane Muldrow

The Poky Little Puppy, the Gingerbread Man, and many other classic Golden Books characters help illustrate this wise and witty guide to the holidays! Delightfully retro yet utterly of the moment, this...

The Rule of Thoughts (Mortality Doctrine, Book Two)

By: James Dashner

From James Dashner, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Maze Runner series that includes The Maze Runner—now a major motion picture from Twentieth Century Fox—comes The Rule of...

Astray (Gated Sequel)

By: Amy Christine Parker

Lyla is caught between two worlds. The isolated Community that she grew up in and the outside world that she’s navigating for the very first time. The outsiders call the Community a cult, but Pioneer...


Featured Resources:

Nonfiction Stepping Stones Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

Have you been looking for engaging chapter books that will
appeal to young readers and help them build the literacy
skills they need? Well, look no further—you’ve found Stepping
Stones!...

Download Resource

Nest Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Esther Ehrlich
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...

Download Resource

Frostborn Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Lou Anders
Guide prepared by: Connie Rockman, youth literature consultant, adjunct professor of children's and young adult literature

Fantasy fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series will embrace this first novel in an adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series by a debut author....

Download Resource

Magic Tree House Reading Buddies Educator Guide

By: Mary Pope Osborne
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literacy Consultant

Download Resource

Thomas Jefferson Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jon Meacham
Guide Prepared by: Kathleen Odean, a former school librarian and chair of the 2002 Newbery Award Committee

In this special illustrated edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jon Meacham, young readers will learn about the life...

Download Resource

Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle Educator Guide

By: George Hagen
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC.

“A first-rate fantasy for middle-grade readers. Like Harry Potter,... Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series,... and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society books.”...

Download Resource

Wonder Teacher Planner

By: R. J. Palacio

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

...

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenni Holm
Guide prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Believe in the possible . . . with this brilliantly quirky, thought-provoking novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk....

Download Resource

Jennifer L. Holm Author Study Kit

By: Jenni Holm;

Believe in the possible . . . with this brilliantly quirky, thought-provoking novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk....

Download Resource

Seuss in the Classroom Educator Guide

By: Dr. Seuss
Guide prepared by: Nance S. Wilson, PhD, Associate Professor of Literacy Education, State University of New York at Cortland.

Download Resource

Poetry K-8 Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House; Guide Prepared By: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, former high school English teachers and co-founders of Room 228 Educational Consulting

Download Resource

Comics Squad Book Talk

By: Jennifer Holm, Matthew Holm, Jarrett J. Krosoczka, Dan Santat, Raina Telgemeier, Dave Roman, Gene Yang, Ursula Vernon, Eric Wight, Dav Pilkey

BOOK TALK
Do you want to be a member of the Secret Super Ninja Club? Do you like Perilous Pizza? Do you love recess as much as Babymouse? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then Comics...


Grades 3-6 Educator Guide Correlated to Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Anne Isaacs
Illustrated by: Kevin Hawkes

When Widow Tulip Jones of Bore, England, inherits a ranch in By-Golly Gully, Texas, and moves in with two trunks of tea, twelve pet tortoises, and three servants, hilarity ensues. The peaceful life suits...

Download Resource

The Noisy Paint Box Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Barb Rosenstock

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they expected him...

Download Resource

Wonder Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: RJ Palacio
Guide Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

...

Download Resource