RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Family & Relationships


Browse By:

Featured Books

Mitzi Tulane, Preschool Detective in What's That Smell?

By: Lauren McLaughlin
illustrated by: Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Mitzi Tulane may be only three years old, but she sure knows how to follow a trail of evidence and solve tough mysteries. From the strange happenings in the kitchen to the sudden arrival of every family...

I Love You, Grandma!

By: Tish Rabe
illustrated by: David Hitch

For the first time in Little Golden Books, a grandma story!   A four-year-old boy narrates this sweet rhyming story about how fun it is to visit his grandma. Together they walk on the beach, garden,...

Mitzi Tulane, Preschool Detective in What's That Smell?

By: Lauren McLaughlin
illustrated by: Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Mitzi Tulane may be only three years old, but she sure knows how to follow a trail of evidence and solve tough mysteries. From the strange happenings in the kitchen to the sudden arrival of every family...


Garth Williams's Furry Tales

By: Various
illustrated by: Garth Williams

Nine beautiful Little Golden Books, brought to life by one of the greatest illustrators of the 20th century, come together in a deluxe volume that’s perfect for gift-giving.   This collection...

Rampage (The Singular Menace, 3)

By: John Sandford and Michele Cook

John Sandford and Michele Cook complete their New York Times bestselling thriller series in this explosive finale. Fans of James Dashner, Harlan Coben, and Suzanne Collins will love this nail-biting trilogy....

This Is Not the Abby Show

By: Debbie Reed Fischer

Fans of Joey Pigza, Meg Cabot, and Because of Mr. Terupt will root for hilarious, one-of-a-kind Abby as she navigates ADHD, middle school, family, and friendships.   Abby was born for the spotlight....


Belle is My Babysitter (Disney Princess)

By: Victoria Saxon and Andrea Posner-Sanchez
illustrated by: Fabio Laguna and Meritxell Andreu

A Disney Princess makes the best babysitter! Children ages 2 to 5 will love this Little Golden Book that tells a funny story about Princess Belle looking after Chip. Since Chip has spent so much time as...

Just My Brother, Sister, and Me

By: Written and illustrated by Mercer Mayer

Mercer Mayer’s Little Critter spends time with his brother and sister in these classic, funny, and heartwarming stories. Featuring Just Me and My Little Brother and Me Too!, this two-in-one picture...

The Prizewinners of Piedmont Place

By: Bill Doyle
illustrated by: Colin Jack

The lovable wackiness of Modern Family meets zany contests in this delightful new series that will have readers laughing out loud!   Cal Talaska can’t wait for his family to win the Great Grab...


Featured Resources:

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller


If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic...

Download Resource

Off the Page Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jodi Picoult
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, Oregon

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer, OFF THE PAGE is a tender and appealing YA novel filled with romance, humor, and adventure.
 
Delilah and Oliver...

Download Resource

The Penderwicks Poster with CCSS activities

By: Jeanne Birdsall
Guide prepared by: Elizabeth A. Poe, PhD, Children's and Young Adult Literature Specialist and Susan Geye, Director of Library Services

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...

Download Resource

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

BOOK TALK
Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving...

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

We Are the Goldens Book Talk

By: Dana Reinhardt

BOOK TALK
Nell and Layla are sisters, the best of friends and each other’s support. Layla willingly paves the way for Nell when she enters high school.  As a freshman, Nell makes the soccer team...


Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

I Pledge Allegiance Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Pat Mora and Libby Martinez

Libby's great aunt, Lobo, is from Mexico, but the United States has been her home for many years, and she wants to become a U.S. citizen. At the end of the week, Lobo will say the Pledge of Allegiance...

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

A Michael L. Printz Honor Award Winner

“A gentle, lyrical story of incomprehensible sorrow faced with quiet courage.”—ELIZABETH WEIN, New York Times bestselling...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Newbery Award-winning author Matt de la Peña's The Living is "a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.” [Entertainment Weekly, A-]

  ...

Download Resource