RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Family & Relationships


Browse By:

Featured Books

In Darkling Wood

By: Emma Carroll

For fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, The Secret Garden, and Tuck Everlasting, In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic....

Ballpark Mysteries #13: The Capital Catch

By: David A. Kelly
illustrated by: Mark Meyers

Batter up! Baseball action and exciting whodunits star in this series! Next up is Washington D.C. and the Nationals team!   Mike and Kate are about to face their biggest, most important mystery yet!...

A Dragon's Guide to Making Perfect Wishes

By: Laurence Yep and Joanne Ryder

A Dragon’s Guide to Making Perfect Wishes (March) For fans of How to Train Your Dragon comes the newest adventure in the Dragon’s Guide series by two-time Newbery Honor winner Laurence Yep...


Even Superheroes Have to Sleep

By: Sara Crow
illustrated by: Adam Record

“will ease little readers to restful states”—Kirkus ReviewsToddlers will feel better about bedtime when they learn that superheroes, cowboys, princesses, and astronauts ALL have to sleep...

Bad Blood

By: Demitria Lunetta

“A story that will both warm your heart, and chill you to the bone."—KENDARE BLAKE, New York Times bestselling author of Three Dark Crowns“Dark and complex and wickedly romantic.”—GRETCHEN...

Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders

By: Raymond Arroyo

“Open the cover, fasten your seat belt, and get ready for a rip-roaring ride!” —Ridley Pearson, author of the New York Times bestselling series Kingdom Keepers"Surprising spiritual depth...


Ivy

By: Katherine Coville

For fans of Jessica Day George and E. D. Baker comes a charming young fantasy about a girl, her grandmother, and an animal hospital devoted to fantastical creatures.   Ivy’s grandmother is a...

Optimists Die First

By: Susin Nielsen

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.  Beware:...

The Uncommoners #1: The Crooked Sixpence

By: Jennifer Bell

Anyone with a Hogwarts-shaped hole in their lives can’t miss this fantasy series opener. Dive into a secret underground city below London where ordinary objects are capable of extraordinary magic!...


Featured Resources:

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--soon to be a major motion picture! In theaters May 19, it stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything...

Download Resource

Off the Page Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jodi Picoult
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, Oregon

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer, OFF THE PAGE is a tender and appealing YA novel filled with romance, humor, and adventure.
 
Delilah and Oliver...

Download Resource

The Penderwicks Poster with CCSS activities

By: Jeanne Birdsall
Guide prepared by: Elizabeth A. Poe, PhD, Children's and Young Adult Literature Specialist and Susan Geye, Director of Library Services

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...

Download Resource

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

BOOK TALK
Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving...

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

We Are the Goldens Book Talk

By: Dana Reinhardt

BOOK TALK
Nell and Layla are sisters, the best of friends and each other’s support. Layla willingly paves the way for Nell when she enters high school.  As a freshman, Nell makes the soccer team...


Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

I Pledge Allegiance Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Pat Mora and Libby Martinez

Libby's great aunt, Lobo, is from Mexico, but the United States has been her home for many years, and she wants to become a U.S. citizen. At the end of the week, Lobo will say the Pledge of Allegiance...

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

A Michael L. Printz Honor Award Winner

“A gentle, lyrical story of incomprehensible sorrow faced with quiet courage.”—ELIZABETH WEIN, New York Times bestselling...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Newbery Award-winning author Matt de la Peña's The Living is "a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.” [Entertainment Weekly, A-]

  ...

Download Resource