RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Fairy Tales & Fables


Browse By:

Featured Books

Frozen Fever: The Deluxe Novelization (Disney Frozen)

By: Victoria Saxon
illustrated by: RH Disney

It's Anna's birthday and Elsa and Kristoff are determined to give her the best celebration ever, but Elsa's icy powers may put more than just the party at risk. This hardcover novel is based on the new...

The Cottage in the Woods

By: Katherine Coville

For fans of Shannon Hale, Adam Gidwitz, and Michael Buckley comes a luminous new twist on a tale readers only thought they knew. . .   Once upon a time, there was a girl with golden locks. But that’s...

The Book of Jonah

By: Peter Spier

Two-time Caldecott illustrator Peter Spier’s visual retelling of a favorite Bible story is back in print! In a tale full of action, adventure, and strife, Jonah is asked by God to tell the people...


A Castle Full of Cats

By: Ruth Sanderson

The queen’s cats have taken over the palace, and the king has had enough! Beloved artist Ruth Sanderson brings her signature detailed and lush style to this humorous story of royal compromise. Told...

Barbie in Princess Power (Barbie in Princess Power): Read & Listen Edition

By: Mary Tillworth

In BarbieTM in Princess Power, Barbie stars as a modern-day princess who discovers she has special powers! Will she be able to rid the kingdom of its enemy with the help of her best friends? Girls...

A Royal Pet Problem (Disney Junior: Sofia the First)

By: Andrea Posner-Sanchez
illustrated by: RH Disney

When a Mix-Up Potion combines their pets, Princess Sofia and her siblings have to straighten everything out—before the rabbit-dragon and peacock-baboon creatures wreck their school! Girls ages 2...


Time to Shine! (Disney Princess)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney princesses Anna and Elsa, from the hit movie Frozen, are featured in fun-to-color scenes in this activity book perfect for girls 3 to 7. Plus there’s eye-catching glitter on the cover and...

A Princess Can! (Disney Princess)

By: Apple Jordan
illustrated by: Francesco Legramandi and Gabriella Matta

A princess can do anything! Girls ages 4 to 6 will love reading about Merida, Rapunzel, and the rest of the Disney princesses in this Step 1 Step into Reading leveled reader featuring a shiny foil cover...

Cute Curls and Lovely Locks (Disney Princess)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Pretend to be a Disney Princess with this activity book plus hair extension! The Disney princesses are known for their grace, charm—and gorgeous hair! Now girls ages 3 to 7 can pretend to be a princess...


Featured Resources:

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E. Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents.  However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Anne Isaacs
Illustrated by: Kevin Hawkes

When Widow Tulip Jones of Bore, England, inherits a ranch in By-Golly Gully, Texas, and moves in with two trunks of tea, twelve pet tortoises, and three servants, hilarity ensues. The peaceful life suits...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

Will in Scarlet Book Talk

By: Matthew Cody

BOOK TALK
His father missing, their kingdom under attack, and no money to mention, Will Scarlet goes on the run in order to avoid being killed.  His unknowing venture into Sherwood Forest lands him...

The Midnight Dress Book Talk

By: Karen Foxlee

BOOK TALK
Rose and her father never stay in one place very long. Barely long enough for social services to track them, and definitely not long enough to fit in and make friends. But all that changes...

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

Of Beast and Beauty

By: Stacey Jay

BOOK TALK
This fairy tale for modern teens begins with the blind Princess Isra of the Smooth Skins.  Her fate, to be sacrificed, promises to keep the city of Yuan prosperous.  Gem, her captured...

Far Far Away Reading Group Guide

By: Tom McNeal

A National Book Award Finalist
An Edgar Award Finalist
A California Book Award Gold Medal Winner

A dark, contemporary fairy tale in the tradition of Neil Gaiman.
Jeremy Johnson...

Download Resource

The Lost Sun

By: Tessa Gratton

BOOK TALK
Soren lives in the United States of Asgard, a modern country populated by Norsemen who descend from Odin.  Soren Bearskin hates the berserker blood that lives in his veins.  It was that...


Far Far Away

By: Tom McNeal

BOOK TALK
Jeremy Johnson Johnson’s life has always been tough, but he became an outcast in his small town when he started hearing strange voices in his head.  No one knows that Jeremy has a ghost-buddy,...

Faerie After

By: Janni Lee Simner

BOOK TALK
Janni Lee Simner’s dark, fantastical world of faerie returns in the final book of the Bones of Faerie Trilogy. Though Liza has brought spring back to the human world, she hasn't been able...

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

By: Liesl Shurtliff

BOOK TALK
Have you ever wondered where Rumpelstiltskin came from? Or who his parents were? Or how he acquired the magic to turn straw into gold? Rump’s story begins when he is living with his grandmother...