RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Emotions & Feelings


Browse By:

Featured Books

Inside Out (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: Alan Batson

Disney/Pixar's Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind. Boys and girls ages 2 to 5 will love this full-color Little Golden Book retelling the...

My New Mom & Me

By: Renata Galindo

Here is a heartwarming and completely accessible story about adoption, diversity, and acceptance. Told from the point of view of a puppy who is adopted by a cat, this gentle and reassuring tale is perfect...

Rose and the Wish Thing

By: Caroline Magerl

Rose feels alone in a new town. Everything is different and strange. She wishes, she searches, but she’s not even sure what for. Then, from somewhere far away, someone—or something—begins...


Some of the Parts

By: Hannah Barnaby

For fans of Love Letters to the Dead and I’ll Give You the Sun comes a heartrending story of a teen who sets out on an unusual quest.    For months, Tallie McGovern...

Arrows

By: Melissa Gorzelanczyk

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d...

A Friend for Bo

By: Elisabeth Zuniga

Fans of Tad Hills’s Duck & Goose books will feel right at home with A Friend for Bo, the story of a little rabbit who makes a new friend named Rollie! The only problem is that Rollie doesn’t...


Sadness Saves the Day! (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: Tracey West
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney/Pixar Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: the world inside the human mind. In this You Decide the Ending chapter book based on the film, the reader will...

Mom, Dad, and Me (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: Christy Webster
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney/Pixar Inside Out takes you to a place everyone knows but no one has ever seen: the human mind. Perfect for girls and boys ages 4 to 6, this Step 2 Step into Reading leveled reader focuses on the...

How to Mend a Heart

By: Sara Gillingham

A charming arts-and-crafts approach to dealing with first moments of heartbreak. Be it caused by a lost pet, a friend’s moving away, or even simple childhood injustice, Sara Gillingham (How to Grow...


Featured Resources:

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller


If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...


And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

When high school senior Paul Wagoner walks into his school library with a stolen gun, he threatens his girlfriend Emily Beam, then takes his own life. In the wake of the tragedy, an angry and guilt-ridden...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Newbery Award-winning author Matt de la Peña's The Living is "a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.” [Entertainment Weekly, A-]

  ...

Download Resource

The Living Book Talk

By: Matt de la Pena

BOOK TALK
Shy feels so fortunate when he lands a summer job on a cruise ship, and meets Carmen, the girl he hopes will be the love of his life. The job soon becomes a nightmare when Shy witnesses...

Will in Scarlet Book Talk

By: Matthew Cody

BOOK TALK
His father missing, their kingdom under attack, and no money to mention, Will Scarlet goes on the run in order to avoid being killed.  His unknowing venture into Sherwood Forest lands him...

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin L. McQuein

BOOK TALK
Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....


The Midnight Dress Book Talk

By: Karen Foxlee

BOOK TALK
Rose and her father never stay in one place very long. Barely long enough for social services to track them, and definitely not long enough to fit in and make friends. But all that changes...

Loud Awake and Lost Book Talk

By: Adele Griffin

BOOK TALK
Six weeks before her car plunged into the icy waters under the Bowditch Bridge, 17-year-old Ember Leferrier started taking charge of her future. Eight months after the accident, Ember can’t...

The Language Inside Educator Guide

By: Holly Thompson

A nuanced novel in verse that explores identit, friendship, love, loss, and home in a multicultural world.

For Emma Karas, Japan is home. It is where she has lived almost her entire life. But...

Download Resource