RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Educator Guides : By Title : w


Thematic and curriculum connections for picture books, beginning readers, and middle grade books. Prepared by educators, these guides are designed to excite students about literature while saving you valuable lesson preparation time. Browse below by title, author, grade, or theme—or use the search box on the right for a general guide search.

Resources

Waiting for the Biblioburro

By: Written by Monica Brown
illustrations by: John Parra

A remarkable tale of books and reading, now in a bilingual Spanish-English edition.
 
On most days, teacher and librarian Luis Soriano Bohórquez packs his two burros, Alfa and Beto,...

Download Resource

The War Between the Classes

By: Gloria Miklowitz

What are Amy and Adam going to do about their love life? Neither Amy's traditionalist Japanese parents nor Adam's snobby, upper-class mother will accept their relationship. To make things worse, Amy and...

Download Resource

The Warden’s Daughter Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Guide Prepared by Pat Scales

Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli spins a tale of a cannonball of a girl, coming to terms with her mother's death while living with her prison warden father.
Cammie O'Reilly is the Warden's daughter,...

Download Resource

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.
...

Download Resource

We the People Educators’ Guide (Includes CCSS Correlations)

By: Guide prepared by Kathleen O'Dean

With the presidential race in the headlines, children are hearing a lot about politics these days. In the not-too-distant future, those children will be entering the voting booth. To prepare for that day,they...

Download Resource

Welcome to Wonderland Activity Kit

By: Chris Grabenstein

From Chris Grabenstein, the bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and co-author with James Patterson of I Funny, House of Robots, and Treasure Hunters, comes a hilarious illustrated...

Download Resource

What Pet Should I Get? Educator Event Kit

By: Dr. Seuss

A #1 New York Times bestseller!
 
This previously never-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss about making up one’s mind is the literary equivalent of buried treasure! What happens...

Download Resource

When You Reach Me

By: Rebecca Stead

Winner of the 2010 John Newbery Medal

Four mysterious letters change Miranda’s world forever.

By sixth grade, Miranda and her best friend, Sal, know how to navigate their New...

Download Resource

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

By: Kimberly Willis Holt

Download Resource

Where in the Wild?

By: David M. Schwartz

Download Resource

Whittington

By: Alan Armstrong

The power of reading is beautifully captured in this 2006 Newbery Honor-winning book.
Bernie keeps a barn full of animals the rest of the world has no use for–two retired trotters, a rooster,...

Download Resource

Why Audio Books Matter

By: Rose Brock, Ph.D.

Why is listening so important? School librarian Dr. Rose Brock explains how audiobooks develop literacy skills, the connection between reading and listening, and how you can build and market a strong audiobook...

Download Resource

Will Wilder: The Relic of Perilous Falls Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Guide prepared by Connie Rockman

Will Wilder didn't mean to unlock his otherworldly gift. But that is exactly what happens when Will "borrows" a sacred relic believed to protect the town of Perilous Falls for nearly a century. Even though...

Download Resource

The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jordan Stratford
Guide prepared by: Rachael Worthington Walker, Children's Literary Consultant

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an...

Download Resource

Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Kit

By: R.J. Palacio

Information on how your class can participate in the Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Challenge for the 2016-2017 School Year.

Download Resource

Wonder Choose Kind Poster with activities

By: R.J. Palacio

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!

Over 5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen...

Download Resource

Wonder Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: RJ Palacio
Guide Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!

Over 5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen...

Download Resource

Wonder Teacher Planner

By: RJ Palacio

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!

Over 5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen...

Download Resource

Woods Runner

By: Gary Paulsen

Download Resource

The World of Leo Lionni

By: Leo Lionni


Download Resource

Written in Stone

By: Rosanne Parry

   Rosanne Parry author of Heart of a Shepherd, shines a light on Native American tribes of the Pacific Northwest in the 1920s, a time of critical cultural upheaval.

   Pearl...

Download Resource