RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Educator Guides : By Title : b

Thematic and curriculum connections for picture books, beginning readers, and middle grade books. Prepared by educators, these guides are designed to excite students about literature while saving you valuable lesson preparation time. Browse below by title, author, grade, or theme—or use the search box on the right for a general guide search.



By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

With multiple Children's Choice Awards and over 1.8 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Bad Kitty, and Dork Diaries!

Download Resource

Back to School Book Guide for Middle Grade Educators

For fans of Frozen, The City of Ember, and The School of Good and Evil, the New York Times bestseller The Mark of the Dragonfly is a fast-paced adventure story about a mysterious girl and a fearless boy,...

Download Resource

The Beast in Ms. Rooney’s Room

By: Patricia Reilly Giff
illustrated by: Blanche Sims

Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia Reilly Giff has used her writing talents and experience as a teacher to create the beloved Polk Street School books.
Discover the original...

Beatrix Potter and the Unfortunate Tale of a Borrowed Guinea Pig Activities (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Deborah Hopkinson

Master of the historical fiction picture book, Hopkinson takes readers back to Victorian England and the home of budding young artist and animal lover Beatrix Potter. When Beatrix brings home her neighbor's...

Download Resource

Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special.

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow...

Download Resource

Belle Prater’s Boy

By: Ruth White

In this vivid coming-of-age story, two cousins develop a real friendship while discovering the truths about their families and themselves.

The Berenstain Bears

By: Stan & Jan Berenstain
illustrated by: the authors

Come for a visit in Bear Country with this classic First Time Book® from Stan and Jan Berenstain. The Bear family has a new addition . . . a baby girl named Honey! However, Sister isn’t sure...

Download Resource

Beyond the Chocolate War

By: Robert Cormier

In Robert Cormier’s unforgettable novels, an individual often stands alone, fighting for what is right–or just to survive–against powerful, sinister, and sometimes evil people....

Biographies Behind the Scenes

Download Resource


By: Bob Staake

"Like nothing you have seen before," raves Kirkus Reviews in a starred review.

In his most beautiful and moving work to date, Bob Staake explores the universal themes of loneliness, bullying,...

Download Resource

The Book Thief 10th Anniversary Educators’ Guide (Includes CCSS Correlations)

By: Markus Zusak

Download Resource

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

Books for Babies Brochure

Clickity! Clickity! Long green feet!  
Who is dancing that clickity beat?

Lizard is dancing on clickity feet.  
Clickity! Clickity! Happy feet!


Download Resource

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

The Books of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

Come inside award-winning author Jeanne DuPrau’s imaginary worlds, where the characters may be fictional, but their reactions to potential catastrophes remind us what all humans are capable of when faced...

Download Resource

The Borden Murders Educators’ Guide (With CCSS Correlations)

By: Guide Prepared by Colleen Carroll

Lizzie Borden took an axe, and gave her mother forty whacks. When she saw what she had done, she gave her father forty-one.
In a compelling, linear narrative, Miller takes readers along as she investigates...

Download Resource

The Boy Who Loved Words

By: Roni Schotter
illustrated by: Giselle Potter

This delightful picture book will inspire its readers to celebrate language and look for new words wherever they go.
Words. Selig loves everything about them–the...

Download Resource

Boy, Oh Boy!: Great Series for Boys

Here's the first book in the beloved and hilarious Alvin Ho chapter book series, which has been compared to Diary of a Wimpy Kid and is perfect for both beginning and reluctant readers.


Download Resource

Brendan Buckley’s Universe and Everything in It

By: Sundee Frazier

Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award, the story of a biracial boy who is into science and discovers that he shares this passion with a grandfather he never knew.


Download Resource

The Brian Books – Gary Paulsen

By: Gary Paulsen

Message from the Author
The River was a direct response to readers who sent letters telling me that Brian's story wasn't done at the end of Hatchet. So many wanted to know what...

Bud, Not Buddy

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

During the Great Depression, a 10-year-old homeless boy sets out in search of a man he believes to be his father.
Bud Caldwell's mother died when he was six...

Download Resource

Bullying Book Discussion Guide

By: Random House

Download Resource

Bullying: A Guide

By: Judy Blume Katherine Ayres Ralph Fletcher Jeffrey Lee Nick Springer

Macaroni Boy by Katherine Ayres
Blubber by Judy Blume
Spider Boy by Ralph Fletcher
True Blue by Jeffrey Lee
Feather Boy by Nick Springer

The books...

Burning Up

By: Caroline B. Cooney

Thematic Connections
Family & Relationships
Grades 7 up
Fifteen-year-old Macey Clare discovers dark...

Busing Brewster

By: Richard Michelson
illustrated by: R.G Roth

A New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Book
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children’s Book

Brewster is excited about starting first grade . . . until Mama announces...

Download Resource