RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Educator Guides : By Title : a

Thematic and curriculum connections for picture books, beginning readers, and middle grade books. Prepared by educators, these guides are designed to excite students about literature while saving you valuable lesson preparation time. Browse below by title, author, grade, or theme—or use the search box on the right for a general guide search.


A Day No Pigs Would Die

By: Robert Newton Peck
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Director of Library Services, the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities, Greenville, South Carolina

In this classic autobiographical novel set in the 1920s in rural Vermont, 12-year-old Robert Peck comes of age when his father dies and leaves him to manage the...

Download Resource

A Passion for Victory (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Benson Bobrick
Guide Prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children’s book author, curriculum writer-developer, and education consultant

From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas...

Download Resource

A Place to Belong

By: Joan Lowery Nixon

In 1856, Mrs. Kelly, a young widow who is unable to provide for her children, makes the ultimate sacrifice: She sends Frances Mary, Mike, Megan, Danny, Peg, and Petey to the West on...

A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin

By: Jen Bryant
illustrated by: Melissa Sweet

A Robert F. Sibert Honor Book

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book

Winner of the NCTE Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction...

Download Resource

A Thousand Never Evers

By: Shana Burg

IN KUCKACHOO, MISSISSIPPI, 1963, Addie Ann Pickett worships her brother Elias and follows in his footsteps by attending the black junior high school. But when her careless act leads to her brother’s...

Download Resource

A to Z Mysteries

Help Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose solve mysteries from A to Z!
Kids love collecting the entire alphabet and super editions! With over 8 million copies in print, the A to Z Mysteries®...

Download Resource

A to Z Mysteries Classroom Activities (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ron Roy
Illustrated by: John Steven Gurney

Help Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose solve mysteries from A to Z!
Kids love collecting the entire alphabet and super editions! With over 8 million copies in print, the A to Z Mysteries®...

Download Resource

A Volcano Beneath the Snow Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Al Marrin

John Brown is a man of many legacies, from hero, freedom fighter, and martyr, to liar, fanatic, and "the father of American terrorism." Some have said that it was his seizure of the arsenal at Harper's...

Download Resource

After the First Death

By: Robert Cormier

In Robert Cormier’s unforgettable novels, an individual often stands alone, fighting for what is right–or just to survive–against powerful, sinister, and sometimes evil people....

Alida’s Song and The Cookcamp

By: Gary Paulsen

Life with a boy’s loving grandmother gives him strength and faith in himself, drawing him away from the edge and into the center of life, in these two remarkable novels based on...

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller

Download Resource

All the Way Home

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

This warm and touching novel tells the story of Brick and Mariel, two 11-year-old friends who know firsthand about adversity and together embark on a journey that...

Download Resource

Amelia Lost: The Life and Disappearance of Amelia Earhart

By: Candace Fleming

From the acclaimed author of The Great and Only Barnum—as well as The Lincolns, Our Eleanor, and Ben Franklin's Almanac—comes the thrilling story of America's most celebrated flyer, Amelia...

Download Resource

The American Story: 100 True Tales from American History

By: Jennifer Armstrong
illustrated by: Roger Roth

American history comes alive in these 100 true stories that define our country.
This magnificent treasury tells the story of America through 100 true tales. Some are tales of triumph—the...

Download Resource

Andrew Lost

By: J. C. Greenburg
illustrated by: Debbie Palen

When Andrew’s latest invention, the Atom Sucker, goes haywire, Andrew and Judy are shrunk down to microscopic level! Andrew and Judy find themselves lost on their neighbor’s dog, where they...

Download Resource

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

"What is breathtakingly shown here, through accurate, cross-hatched watercolor paintings; excerpts from Sullivan’s correspondence to her former teacher; and concise and poetic language, is the woman’s...

Download Resource

Another Day/Every Day Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie ins)

The eagerly anticipated companion to David Levithan’s New York Times bestseller Every Day
In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David...

Download Resource

Anthony Burns

By: Virginia Hamilton

Anthony Burns:
The Defeat and Triumph of a Fugitive Slave
Virginia Hamilton
Grades 7-10
Anthony Burns may be considered an obscure person in American history,...

As Good as Anybody

By: Richard Michelson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

MARTIN LUTHER KING, Jr. and Abraham Joshua Heschel. Their names stand for the quest for justice and equality.Martin grew up in a loving family in the American South, at a time when this country was plagued...

Download Resource

Ashes of Roses

By: Mary Jane Auch

Margaret Rose Nolan is sixteen years old when her family leaves their native Ireland and comes to America in search of better opportunities.

The plan is to stay with Uncle...

Ashtown Burials Series Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: N. D. Wilson

Fans of both Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones will be captivated by the lost civilizations, ancient secrets, and buried treasure found in the third book of the Ashtown Burials series, an action-packed adventure...

Download Resource

Astronaut Handbook

By: Meghan McCarthy

DO YOU HAVE what it takes to be an astronaut? Meghan McCarthy blasts readers off to astronaut school in her new, young, nonfiction picture book. Take a ride on the “Vomit Comet” and learn how...

Download Resource

Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky

By: Faith Ringgold

Inspired by people who have overcome adversity, Faith Ringgold creates picture books for children that celebrate freedom, courage, and peace.
The Invisible...

Autumn Winifred Oliver Does Things Different

By: Kristin O'Donnell Tubb

Download Resource