RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Educator Guides : By Author : h


Thematic and curriculum connections for picture books, beginning readers, and middle grade books. Prepared by educators, these guides are designed to excite students about literature while saving you valuable lesson preparation time. Browse below by title, author, grade, or themeā€”or use the search box on the right for a general guide search.

Resources

Anthony Burns

By: Virginia Hamilton

NOTE TO TEACHERS
Anthony Burns:
The Defeat and Triumph of a Fugitive Slave
Virginia Hamilton
Grades 7-10
Anthony Burns may be considered an obscure person in American history,...

Scat

By: Carl Hiaasen

Bestselling author and columnist Carl Hiaasen returns with another hysterical mystery for kids set in Florida's Everglades.
 
Bunny Starch, the most feared biology teacher ever, is missing....

Download Resource

Hoot

By: Carl Hiaasen

Unfortunately, Roy’s first acquaintance in Florida is Dana Matherson, a well-known bully. Then again, if Dana hadn’t been sinking his thumbs into Roy’s temples and mashing his face against...

Download Resource

Flush

By: Carl Hiaasen

Bestselling novelist Carl Hiaasen is back with another hysterical mystery adventure for young readers, set in the Florida Keys.

You know it's going to be a rough summer when you spend Father's...

Download Resource

Chomp

By: Carl Hiaasen

Wahoo Cray lives in a zoo. His father is an animal wrangler, so he's grown up with all manner of gators, snakes, parrots, rats, monkeys, snappers, and more in his backyard. The critters he can handle. ...

Download Resource

Duck & Goose

By: Tad Hills

Here is the first book in the popular Duck & Goose line of picture books and board books. This New York Times Bestseller and ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book stars two unforgettable characters and...

Download Resource

Rumble Fish

By: S.E. Hinton

ABOUT THIS BOOK
Rusty-James is the toughest guy in the group of high-school kids who hang out and shoot pool down at Benny's, and he enjoys keeping up his reputation. What he wants most of all is...

Penny from Heaven

By: Jennifer L. Holm

Jennifer Holm's New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor Winner is the story of a summer of adventures and secrets that will change everything, at a time in America’s history, just after...

Download Resource

Babymouse

By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

With multiple Children's Choice Awards and over 1.8 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Bad Kitty, and Dork Diaries!
...

Download Resource

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

By: Kimberly Willis Holt

Download Resource

Dinosaurs

By: Dr. Thomas R. Holtz, Jr.
illustrated by: Luis V. Rey

WRITTEN BY A PROFESSIONAL paleontologist for young readers, this award-winning guide to the complete Dinosauria is packed with enough detail and insider information to satisfy even adult dinophiles!...

Download Resource

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

"What is breathtakingly shown here, through accurate, cross-hatched watercolor paintings; excerpts from Sullivan’s correspondence to her former teacher; and concise and poetic language, is the woman’s...

Download Resource

One Year in Coal Harbor

By: Polly Horvath

Readers rejoice—Primrose Squarp is back! The wise and curious heroine of the Newbery Honor Book Everything on a Waffle is facing another adventure-filled year in Coal Harbor.

Even though...

Download Resource