RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Disabilities & Illness


Browse By:

Featured Books

10 Things I Can See From Here

By: Carrie Mac

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in...

Dog Diaries #10: Rolf

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

A dachshund loses a leg and finds his life's calling—as a therapy dog!   Scrappy dachshund Rolf von Noodle may be missing a hind leg, but he's got attitude and can-do spirit to spare! If anything,...

When You're Feeling Sick

By: Coy Bowles
illustrated by: Andy Elkerton

This laugh-out-loud picture book from Coy Bowles, guitarist for the Grammy Award–winning Zac Brown Band, will have sick kids feeling better in no time!   Sneezing? Coughing? Taking a sick day?...


Teddy & Co.

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Paola Zakimi

Fans of classic toy stories like Winnie-the-Pooh by A. A. Milne, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo, and Toys Go Out by Emily Jenkins will love Teddy & Co. by Newbery Medalist...

The Weight of Zero

By: Karen Fortunati

For fans of 13 Reasons Why and Girl in Pieces, this is a novel that shows the path to hope and life for a girl with mental illness.   Seventeen-year-old Catherine Pulaski knows Zero is coming for...

Holding Up the Universe (Retail Field)

By: Jennifer Niven

A New York Times BestsellerFrom the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone—and love someone—for...


Featured Resources:

The Noisy Paint Box Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Barb Rosenstock

A Caldecott Honor Book

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him...

Download Resource

Mountains Beyond Mountains Educator’s Guide

By: by Tracy Kidder, adapted for young people by Michael French

From Tracy Kidder, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Truck Full of Money, and adapted by Michael French comes this captivating and critically acclaimed young adult adaptation of the nonfiction edition...

Download Resource

The Tragedy Paper

By: Elizabeth LaBan

BOOK TALK

Seniors must write about a tragedy for their required English paper at Irving High School. The first day on campus, Duncan arrives to find a stack of CD’s and a note left to him...


All You Never Wanted

By: Adele Griffin

BOOK TALK
Alex seems to have everything financially, but she and her younger sister Thea struggle to find their place in the world.  Alex hides an embarrassingly awful secret and tries to maintain...

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

"What is breathtakingly shown here, through accurate, cross-hatched watercolor paintings; excerpts from Sullivan’s correspondence to her former teacher; and concise and poetic language, is the woman’s...

Download Resource

All the Way Home

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

BOOK TALK
Imagine what it would be like to have a disease that caused your legs to become twisted and almost useless. Living in Brooklyn most her life, polio survivor, Mariel Manning has had to live...


The Decoding of Lana Morris

By: Laura and Tom McNeal

Download Resource

Jersey Tomatoes are the Best

By: Maria Padian

Book Talk
Best friends and super talented Eva and Henry (short for the hated Henrietta) make the most of everything – even being from New Jersey. In their world, Jersey Tomatoes are the best. Gracefully...

The Winter War: A Novel

By: William Durbin

BOOK TALK
 
You wouldn't think that surviving polio and learning to walk again would be easy, but compared to defending your home from invading Russians, anything else seems easy. In the...


Wish

By: N. D. Wilson

BOOK TALK
 
Bee’s brother, Tommy, knows everything there is to know about sharks. He also knows that his life will be cut short by cystic fibrosis. And so does Bee. That’s why she wants...

Would You

By: Marthe Jocelyn

BOOK TALK
 
Natalie and her friends love to play would you . . .: Would you rather lose all your hair or all your teeth? Would you rather have your father sing in the supermarket or your...

Black Box

By: Julie Schumacher

WHEN DORA, ELENA’S older sister, is diagnosed with depression and has to be admitted to the hospital, Elena can’t seem to make sense of their lives anymore. At school, the only people who acknowledge...

Download Resource