RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Disabilities & Illness


Browse By:

Featured Books

Dog Diaries #3: Barry

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

Barry der Menschenretter—a.k.a. Barry—the most famous St. Bernard dog in history, tells the story of his life for the first time. Eight-thousand feet above sea level, in the treacherous pass...

We All Fall Down

By: Robert Cormier

Buddy Walker is troubled by his parent’s recent divorce, and when Harry Flowers suggests a prank, he goes along, just for opportunity to do something different. He doesn’t realize that someone...

The Tragedy Paper

By: Elizabeth LaBan

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully...


Dog Diaries #1: Ginger

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

For anyone who has ever wanted a puppy, the DOG DIARIES series tells a dog's story in a new way--from a dog's point of view! Focusing on a different breed for each book, starting with a Golden Retriever...

Dog Diaries #2: Buddy

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

For anyone who has ever wanted a puppy, the DOG DIARIES series tells a dog's story in a new way--from a dog's point of view! Focusing on a different breed for each book, starting with a Golden Retriever...

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

"What is breathtakingly shown here, through accurate, cross-hatched watercolor paintings; excerpts from Sullivan’s correspondence to her former teacher; and concise and poetic language, is the woman’s...


The Acorn People

By: Ron Jones

Even though he knows the camp is for disabled children, Ron Jones anticipates sunny days of hiking, swimming, and boating as a counselor at Camp Wiggin. But he arrives and realizes how severely disabled...

Deenie

By: Judy Blume

When Deenie finds out that she has scoliosis, she’s scared. When she sees the brace for the first time, she wants to scream.But the words won’t come out. And Deenie, beautiful Deenie, who everyone...

The Silent Boy

By: Lois Lowry

Precocious Katy Thatcher comes to realize what a gentle, silent boy did for his family. He meant to help, not harm. It didn’t turn out that way.“The author balances humor and generosity with...


Featured Resources:

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Noisy Paint Box Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Barb Rosenstock

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they expected him...

Download Resource

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

Mountains Beyond Mountains Educator’s Guide

By: by Tracy Kidder, adapted for young people by Michael French

Tracy Kidder's critically acclaimed adult nonfiction work, Mountains Beyond Mountains has been adapted for young people by Michael French. In this young adult edition, readers are introduced to Dr. Paul...

Download Resource

Paperboy

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
Memphis, Tennessee, summer 1959. A soon-to-be seventh grade boy agrees to take over his friend Rat’s paper route for a month. And what an adventure our unnamed hero has. First, you must...

The Tragedy Paper

By: Elizabeth LaBan

BOOK TALK

Seniors must write about a tragedy for their required English paper at Irving High School. The first day on campus, Duncan arrives to find a stack of CD’s and a note left to him...


All You Never Wanted

By: Adele Griffin

BOOK TALK
Alex seems to have everything financially, but she and her younger sister Thea struggle to find their place in the world.  Alex hides an embarrassingly awful secret and tries to maintain...

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

"What is breathtakingly shown here, through accurate, cross-hatched watercolor paintings; excerpts from Sullivan’s correspondence to her former teacher; and concise and poetic language, is the woman’s...

Download Resource

All the Way Home

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

BOOK TALK
Imagine what it would be like to have a disease that caused your legs to become twisted and almost useless. Living in Brooklyn most her life, polio survivor, Mariel Manning has had to live...


The Decoding of Lana Morris

By: Laura and Tom McNeal

Sixteen-year-old Lana Morris wishes her life were different, that she were somewhere else, someone else. Her foster mother wants her gone, she's stuck taking care of the other kids in the house, she longs...

Download Resource

Jersey Tomatoes are the Best

By: Maria Padian

Book Talk
Best friends and super talented Eva and Henry (short for the hated Henrietta) make the most of everything – even being from New Jersey. In their world, Jersey Tomatoes are the best. Gracefully...

The Winter War: A Novel

By: William Durbin

BOOK TALK
 
You wouldn't think that surviving polio and learning to walk again would be easy, but compared to defending your home from invading Russians, anything else seems easy. In the...