RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Disabilities & Illness

Browse By:

Featured Books

Holding Up the Universe (Retail Field)

By: Jennifer Niven

A New York Times BestsellerFrom the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone—and love someone—for...

Holding Up the Universe

By: Jennifer Niven

A New York Times BestsellerFrom the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone—and love someone—for...

Not As We Know It

By: Tom Avery

For fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.   Twins...

This Is Not the Abby Show

By: Debbie Reed Fischer

“Abby’s funny and engaging first-person narrative recalls the tone of Jeff Kinney’s Wimpy Kid and Rachel Renee Russell’s Dork Diaries, and the ultimate message—friends can...

Douglas, You Need Glasses!

By: Ged Adamson

Meet Douglas, a dog with a big problem: he needs eyeglasses but doesn’t know it, and his bad eyesight tends to land him in some pretty hairy situations.   Readers will laugh along with the new...

Dog Diaries #8: Fala

By: Kate Klimo
illustrated by: Tim Jessell

President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Scottie dog Fala helps run a nation!   As President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s nearly constant companion, Fala the Scottish terrier was in the unique...

Placebo Junkies

By: J.C. Carleson

Going Bovine meets Trainspotting in this gritty portrait of at-risk teens gaming the prescription drug trial system.   Meet Audie: Professional lab rat. Guinea pig. Serial human test subject. For...

The Girl at the Center of the World

By: Austin Aslan

In this fast-paced, exhilarating sequel to the acclaimed The Islands at the End of the World, Leilani and her family on the Big Island of Hawai’i face the challenge of survival in the world of the...

Too Young to Die

By: Lurlene McDaniel

Melissa Austin has always worked hard to make things go her way, and now she's determined  to have the best junior year ever.  Everything appears to look promising as usual...until she receives...

Featured Resources:

The Noisy Paint Box Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Barb Rosenstock

A Caldecott Honor Book

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him...

Download Resource

Mountains Beyond Mountains Educator’s Guide

By: by Tracy Kidder, adapted for young people by Michael French

From Tracy Kidder, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Truck Full of Money, and adapted by Michael French comes this captivating and critically acclaimed young adult adaptation of the nonfiction edition...

Download Resource

The Tragedy Paper

By: Elizabeth LaBan


Seniors must write about a tragedy for their required English paper at Irving High School. The first day on campus, Duncan arrives to find a stack of CD’s and a note left to him...

All You Never Wanted

By: Adele Griffin

Alex seems to have everything financially, but she and her younger sister Thea struggle to find their place in the world.  Alex hides an embarrassingly awful secret and tries to maintain...

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: Raul Colon

"What is breathtakingly shown here, through accurate, cross-hatched watercolor paintings; excerpts from Sullivan’s correspondence to her former teacher; and concise and poetic language, is the woman’s...

Download Resource

All the Way Home

By: Patricia Reilly Giff

Imagine what it would be like to have a disease that caused your legs to become twisted and almost useless. Living in Brooklyn most her life, polio survivor, Mariel Manning has had to live...

The Decoding of Lana Morris

By: Laura and Tom McNeal

Download Resource

Jersey Tomatoes are the Best

By: Maria Padian

Book Talk
Best friends and super talented Eva and Henry (short for the hated Henrietta) make the most of everything – even being from New Jersey. In their world, Jersey Tomatoes are the best. Gracefully...

The Winter War: A Novel

By: William Durbin

You wouldn't think that surviving polio and learning to walk again would be easy, but compared to defending your home from invading Russians, anything else seems easy. In the...


By: N. D. Wilson

Bee’s brother, Tommy, knows everything there is to know about sharks. He also knows that his life will be cut short by cystic fibrosis. And so does Bee. That’s why she wants...

Would You

By: Marthe Jocelyn

Natalie and her friends love to play would you . . .: Would you rather lose all your hair or all your teeth? Would you rather have your father sing in the supermarket or your...

Black Box

By: Julie Schumacher

WHEN DORA, ELENA’S older sister, is diagnosed with depression and has to be admitted to the hospital, Elena can’t seem to make sense of their lives anymore. At school, the only people who acknowledge...

Download Resource