RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Death, Dying & Grief


Browse By:

Featured Books

Somebody's Baby

By: Lurlene McDaniel

“Sorry, John Green fans, but McDaniel’s been making us cry . . . for decades.” —Bustle.com  Love, family, acceptance, and forgiveness are at the center of this heartfelt novel...

Now I Rise

By: Kiersten White

The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White’s New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN—the series that reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . ....

We Were Liars Deluxe Edition

By: E. Lockhart

The New York Times bestseller We Were Liars is now available as a not-to-be-missed hardcover deluxe edition! Whether you know how it ends (shh . . . don’t tell!) or have let too many seasons go by...


Windfall

By: Jennifer E. Smith

This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one Jenny Han says is filled with all of her "favorite things," Morgan Matson calls...

Lemons

By: Melissa Savage

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that’s perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw!  ...

The Heartbeats of Wing Jones

By: Katherine Webber

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights in this sweeping, warm, arrestingly original novel about family, poverty, and hope.   Wing Jones, like everyone else in her town, has worshipped her older brother,...


Goodbye Days

By: Jeff Zentner

“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming.” —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.Perfect for fans of Thirteen...

Denton Little's Still Not Dead

By: Lance Rubin

"Denton and his quirky friends are laugh-out-loud funny, even as their riotous adventures raise deeper questions about science, government control, life, and death." -- SLJ You only live once—unless...

Because of the Sun

By: Jenny Torres Sanchez

“An absorbing page-turner, equal parts light and dark, and filled with the sweetest, swooniest ache. Everyone needs to read Jenny Torres Sanchez. Now.” —JENNIFER NIVEN, New York...


Featured Resources:

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

Like Water on Stone (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Dana Walrath
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915. 
 
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire...

Download Resource

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

BOOK TALK
Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving...


We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares


From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is an epic star-crossed romance about a girl who might be able to save the world ....

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

When high school senior Paul Wagoner walks into his school library with a stolen gun, he threatens his girlfriend Emily Beam, then takes his own life. In the wake of the tragedy, an angry and guilt-ridden...

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Newbery Award-winning author Matt de la Peña's The Living is "a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.” [Entertainment Weekly, A-]

  ...

Download Resource

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin L. McQuein

BOOK TALK
Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....

The Language Inside Educator Guide

By: Holly Thompson

   Emma Karas was raised in Japan; it's the country she calls home. But when her mother is diagnosed with breast cancer, Emma's family moves to a town outside Lowell, Massachusetts, to stay...

Download Resource

Snowflakes Fall Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Patricia MacLachlan
illustrated by: Steven Kellogg

In Snowflakes Fall, Newbery Medalist Patricia MacLachlan and award-winning artist Steven Kellogg portray life’s natural cycle: its beauty, its joy, and its sorrow. Together, the words and pictures...

Download Resource

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

Chasing Shadows Book Talk

By: Swati Avasthi
illustrated by: Craig Phillips

BOOK TALK
Holly, Corey, and Savitri take on the streets of Chicago as only freerunners can, but the dangerous streets hold danger and death.  When Corey is gunned down and Holly nearly dies, dreams...