RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Death, Dying & Grief

Browse By:

Featured Books

Nightmares! The Lost Lullaby

By: Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller
illustrated by: Karl Kwasny

The third book in the hilariously scary Nightmares! series by New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller is here! You thought the nightmares were over? You better keep the lights...

The Ungrateful Dead

By: Rose Cooper

Middle school is a life and death experience for Annabel Craven, a girl able to communicate with the spirit world with her phone. From the author of I TEXT DEAD PEOPLE! All Annabel Craven wants is...

The Memory Wall

By: Lev AC Rosen

There’s a fine line between real life and video games in this engrossing novel that’s part Kathryn Erskine’s Mockingbird, part Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls.   Severkin is...

Not As We Know It

By: Tom Avery

For fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.   Twins...

The Distance to Home

By: Jenn Bishop

For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop’s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game.  ...

Losing Gabriel: A Love Story

By: Lurlene McDaniel

“Sorry, John Green fans, but McDaniel’s been making us cry . . . for decades,” says Bustle.com. Now, in her latest novel, as three high school seniors are in the midst of planning...

The Land of 10,000 Madonnas

By: Kate Hattemer

Five teens backpack through Europe to fulfill the mysterious dying wish of their friend in this heartwarming novel from the author of The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy.   Jesse lives with his...

Tell Me Three Things

By: Julie Buxbaum

A New York Times BestsellerWhat if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met? Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for...

Tell Me Three Things

By: Julie Buxbaum

A New York Times BestsellerWhat if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met? Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for...

Featured Resources:

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller

Download Resource

Like Water on Stone (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Dana Walrath
Guide Prepared by: Judith Turner

"Evocative and hopeful," says Newbery Honor-Winner Rita Williams-Garcia of this intense survival story set during the Armenian genocide of 1915. 
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire...

Download Resource

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

Ciana Beauchamp hasn't seen or heard from Jon Mercer in months. Until now. He's back in Windemere to see her. Deep down Ciana is filled with joy and relief. She has never stopped loving...

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

A Michael L. Printz Honor Award Winner

“A gentle, lyrical story of incomprehensible sorrow faced with quiet courage.”—ELIZABETH WEIN, New York Times bestselling...

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Newbery Award-winning author Matt de la Peña's The Living is "a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.” [Entertainment Weekly, A-]


Download Resource

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin L. McQuein

Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....

The Language Inside Educator Guide

By: Holly Thompson

   Emma Karas was raised in Japan; it's the country she calls home. But when her mother is diagnosed with breast cancer, Emma's family moves to a town outside Lowell, Massachusetts, to stay...

Download Resource

Snowflakes Fall Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Patricia Maclachlan
Illustrated by: Steven Kellogg

In Snowflakes Fall, Newbery Medalist Patricia MacLachlan and award-winning artist Steven Kellogg portray life’s natural cycle: its beauty, its joy, and its sorrow. Together, the words and pictures...

Download Resource

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

Chasing Shadows Book Talk

By: Swati Avasthi
illustrated by: Craig Phillips

Holly, Corey, and Savitri take on the streets of Chicago as only freerunners can, but the dangerous streets hold danger and death.  When Corey is gunned down and Holly nearly dies, dreams...