RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Death, Dying & Grief


Browse By:

Featured Books

Nightmares!

By: Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller
illustrated by: Karl Kwasny

A New York Times Bestseller!Jason Segel, multitalented actor, writer, and musician, teams up with New York Times bestselling author Kirsten Miller for the hilariously frightening, middle-grade novel Nightmares!,...

My Brother's Shadow

By: Tom Avery

Fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious...

Nest

By: Esther Ehrlich

For fans of Jennifer Holm (Penny from Heaven, Turtle in Paradise), a heartfelt and unforgettable middle-grade novel about an irresistible girl and her family, tragic change, and the healing power of love...


Six Feet Over It

By: Jennifer Longo

Home is where the bodies are buried.   Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo’s YA debut about a girl stuck living in a cemetery will change the way you look at life,...

I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister

By: Amelie Sarn
translated from the French by: Y. Maudet

For readers of The Tyrant’s Daughter, Out of Nowhere, and I Am Malala, this poignant story about two Muslim sisters is about love, loss, religion, forgiveness, women’s rights,...

Death by Toilet Paper

By: Donna Gephart

Fans of How to Survive Middle School will welcome the adventures of a contest-crazed seventh grader who uses his wits and way with words in hopes of winning a big cash prize to help his family avoid eviction. Benjamin...


The Year of Chasing Dreams

By: Lurlene McDaniel

"Readers will swoon over this story of love despite impossible odds."--Romantic TimesFrom the author of Don't Die, My Love comes this young adult novel that intertwines a family saga with a grand...

We Were Liars

By: E. Lockhart

A New York Times Bestseller"Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents."--Wall Street Journal"A rich, stunning summer mystery...

The Dandelion's Tale

By: Kevin Sheehan
illustrated by: Rob Dunlavey

In this poignant story about the friendship between a dandelion and a sparrow, young readers are given a reassuring, yet emotionally powerful introduction to the natural cycle of life. One fine summer...


Featured Resources:

The Year of Chasing Dreams Book Talk

By: Lurlene McDaniel

BOOK TALK
Moving to France didn’t help Ingrid and Gabby Waverly escape their past in London, it threw them into a nightmare world of demons, hounds and gargoyles. In, The Lovely and the Lost, Page...

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E. Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents.  However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

The Morris Award-winning author of Paper Covers Rock delivers another stunning boarding school novel about the aftermath of suicide, female friendship, and romantic tragedy.


When high...

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Shy took the summer job to make some money. In a few months on a luxury cruise liner, he'll rake in the tips and be able to help his mom and sister out with the bills. And how bad can it be? Bikinis, free...

Download Resource

Premeditated Book Talk

By: Josin McQuein

BOOK TALK
Dinah’s cousin Claire just tried to kill herself. When Dinah figures out that it was because of a boy and the terrible things that he did, Dinah decides to exact revenge on behalf of Claire....


The Language Inside Educator Guide

By: Holly Thompson

A nuanced novel in verse that explores identit, friendship, love, loss, and home in a multicultural world.

For Emma Karas, Japan is home. It is where she has lived almost her entire life. But...

Download Resource

Snowflakes Fall Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Patricia MacLachlan
illustrated by: Steven Kellogg

In Snowflakes Fall, Newbery Medalist Patricia MacLachlan and award-winning artist Steven Kellogg portray life’s natural cycle: its beauty, its joy, and its sorrow. Together, the words and pictures...

Download Resource

The Book Thief Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi...

Download Resource

Chasing Shadows Book Talk

By: Swati Avasthi
illustrated by: Craig Phillips

BOOK TALK
Holly, Corey, and Savitri take on the streets of Chicago as only freerunners can, but the dangerous streets hold danger and death.  When Corey is gunned down and Holly nearly dies, dreams...

Steelheart Book Talk

By: Brandon Sanderson

BOOK TALK
David was just a young boy on that fateful day ten years ago when the world changed. When Epics, with their super-human powers, began to use those powers to rule. And one Epic named Steelheart...

A Matter of Days

By: Amber Kizer

BOOK TALK
In just 56 days, the BluStar plague has decimated the population of the world. Nadia and her little brother Rabbit are two of the few people who have survived, thanks to a secret vaccination...