RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Common Core Resources


Browse By:

Featured Resources:

Graphic Novels Educators’ Guide

By: Guide prepared by Teri Lesesne

A comprehensive educators' guide for using graphic novels in the classroom.

Download Resource

The Da Vinci Code (The Young Adult Adaptation) Educators’ Guide

By: Guide prepared by Kathleen Odean

This YA adaptation of The Da Vinci Code takes readers on a breathless journey from famous landmarks in Paris to London, and will remind fans everywhere why Dan Brown has written what the New York Times calls...

Download Resource

Cat in the Hat for President Classroom Educators’ Guide

By: Guide prepared by Rachael Worthington Walker

The Cat in the Hat is the kid's candidate, and he wants to show you that every vote counts! Use this guide to get kids exploring our democratic voting process and help them run their own election!
...

Download Resource

We the People Educators’ Guide (Includes CCSS Correlations)

By: Guide prepared by Kathleen O'Dean

With the presidential race in the headlines, children are hearing a lot about politics these days. In the not-too-distant future, those children will be entering the voting booth. To prepare for that day,they...

Download Resource

The Book Thief 10th Anniversary Educators’ Guide (Includes CCSS Correlations)

By: Markus Zusak

Download Resource

These Shallow Graves Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Donnelly
This guide was created by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, Oregon.

A New York Times bestseller from the acclaimed author of A Northern Light and Revolution. This thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of The Cellar and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls. It's a story...

Download Resource

Voyagers Educators’ Guide (with STEM connections)

#1 New York Times bestseller D. J. MacHale launches this part sci-fi, all action adventure, multiplatform series. 

Earth is about to go dark. Without a new power source, life as we know...

Download Resource

A to Z Mysteries Classroom Activities (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ron Roy
Illustrated by: John Steven Gurney

Help Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose solve mysteries from A to Z!
 
Kids love collecting the entire alphabet and super editions! With over 8 million copies in print, the A to Z Mysteries®...

Download Resource

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

The Penderwicks Poster with CCSS activities

By: Jeanne Birdsall
Guide prepared by: Elizabeth A. Poe, PhD, Children's and Young Adult Literature Specialist and Susan Geye, Director of Library Services

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

The Family Romanov Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Candace Fleming
Guide prepared by: Colleen Carroll, children's book author, curriculum writer/developer, literacy specialist, and education consultant.

“[A] superb history.... In these thrilling, highly readable pages, we meet Rasputin, the shaggy, lecherous mystic...; we visit the gilded ballrooms of the doomed aristocracy; and we pause in the...

Download Resource

Poetry K-8 Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House; Guide Prepared By: Erica Rand Silverman and Sharon Kennedy, former high school English teachers and co-founders of Room 228 Educational Consulting

Download Resource

Grades 6 and Up Educator Guide Correlated to the Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Grades 3-6 Educator Guide Correlated to Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Grades K-3 Educator Guide Correlated to Common Core State Standards

By: Random House

Download Resource

Exploring Multiple Perspectives in Young Adult Literature (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Random House

Download Resource

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

Newbery Award-winning author Matt de la Peña's The Living is "a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.” [Entertainment Weekly, A-]

  ...

Download Resource

Common Core 2013 Brochure

By: Random House

Download Resource

Magic Tree House New Teachers

If kids get hooked on Magic Tree House, they're hooked on reading! This is one series that kids, teachers, librarians, and parents all agree on. A perfect blend of magic, adventure, history, science, danger,...

Download Resource

Landmark Biographies

Schoolchildren will be fascinated by this clear account of Columbus's voyages and his encounters with storms, Indians, and political intrigue.  A map of the world in Columbus's time and a detailed...

Download Resource