RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Coming of Age : By Author : d


Books

Danny the Champion of the World

By: Roald Dahl
illustrated by: Quentin Blake

Danny’s life seems perfect: his home is a gypsy caravan, he’s the youngest car mechanic around, and his best friend is his dad, who never runs out of wonderful stories to tell. And when Danny...

Solace of the Road

By: Siobhan Dowd

Holly’s story will leave a lasting impression on all who travel with her.Memories of mum are the only thing that make Holly Hogan happy. She hates her foster family with their too-nice ways and their...

A Million Miles from Boston

By: Karen Day

School's out! That means Lucy is off to her favorite place: Pierson Point, Maine, where she spends summers with her family. And as she tries to forget her worries about starting middle school and about...


Before I Die

By: Jenny Downham

For the many readers who love The Fault in Our Stars, this is the story of a girl who is determined to live, love, and to write her own ending before her time is finally up.Tessa has just months ...

Do-Over

By: Christine Hurley Deriso

Imagine having the power to turn back time. Not 100 years—just 10 seconds. Enough to take back those embarrassing missteps and wrong answers.Elsa’s mom died suddenly one year ago, but she appears...

Great Expectations

By: Charles Dickens
adapted by: Monica Kulling

Seven-year-old Pip is an orphan. He lives with his nasty older sister and works as a blacksmith’s apprentice. Pip dreams of a better life, but has no idea how to turn his luck around. Then a mysterious...


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

By: Roald Dahl
illustrated by: Quentin Blake

Fifty years ago, Roald Dahl created a world that captured the imagination of millions of readers, and a boy who captured their hearts. Now featuring an introduction by award-winning author Jon Scieszka,...

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Book One)

By: James Dashner

Read the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of...

The Door in the Wall

By: Marguerite De Angeli

Set in the fourteenth century, the classic story of one boy's personal heroism when he loses the use of his legs.


Resources

Someone Else’s Life

By:

BOOK TALK
When Rosie’s mum, Trudie, passes away from a genetic disease, Rosie is torn about whether or not she should take the test to find out if she has the gene for developing Huntington’s...

The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel)

By: James Dashner

BOOK TALK
Who suspected that there were men and woman evil enough to destroy civilization and mankind by infecting a mass of people with a highly contagious mutating disease that causes rage and lunacy?...

Happy Families

By: Tanita S. Davis

BOOK TALK

Two smart kids. Twins – a boy and a girl even. Home in the suburbs. Good schools and jobs. The Nicholas family was living the American Dream. At least that’s what sophomore twins...


A Million Miles from Boston

By: Karen Day

Book Talk
Lucy can’t wait for summer at the Point!  Her family spends every summer in this idyllic and sacred spot on the coast of Maine. Ever since her mom died from cancer when Lucy was six,...

The Books of Matt de la Pena

By: Matt de la Pena

Download Resource

You Against Me

By: Jenny Downham

BOOK TALK
A story that deals with sensitive issues of assault, this brave and unflinching novel is an honest and realistic portrayal when love comes between family bonds.  When Mikey’s sister claims...


You Against Me

By: Jenny Downham

If someone hurts your sister and you're any kind of man, you seek revenge.
If your brother's accused of a crime but says he didn't do it, you defend him.

When Mikey's sister claims a boy...

Download Resource

The City of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

BOOK TALK
Imagine living in a city that is running out of everything -- food, medicine, even electricity. Ember has no natural lighting -- only streetlamps that continually go out, thrusting the entire...