RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Coming of Age : By Author : d


Books

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

By: Roald Dahl
illustrated by: Quentin Blake

Fifty years ago, Roald Dahl created a world that captured the imagination of millions of readers, and a boy who captured their hearts. Now featuring an introduction by award-winning author Jon Scieszka,...

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Book One)

By: James Dashner

Read the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of...

The Door in the Wall

By: Marguerite De Angeli

Set in the fourteenth century, the classic story of one boy's personal heroism when he loses the use of his legs.


Bog Child

By: Siobhan Dowd

DIGGING FOR PEAT in the mountain with his Uncle Tally, Fergus finds the body of a child, and it looks like she’s been murdered. As Fergus tries to make sense of the mad world around him—his...

A Swift Pure Cry

By: Siobhan Dowd

Ireland 1984.After Shell's mother dies, her obsessively religious father descends into alcoholic mourning and Shell is left to care for her younger brother and sister. Her only release from the harshness...

The Ropemaker

By: Peter Dickinson

Tilja has grown up in the peaceful Valley, which is protected from the fearsome Empire by an enchanted forest. But the forest’s power has begun to fade and the Valley is in danger. Tilja is the youngest...


Oh, The Places You'll Go!

By: Dr. Seuss

A perennial favorite, Dr. Seuss’s wonderfully wise graduation speech is the perfect send-off for children starting out in the world, be they nursery school, high school, or college grads! From soaring...

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Book One)

By: James Dashner

Read the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of...

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

By: Roald Dahl: illustrated by John Schindelman

Celebrate fifty years of Charlie and the Chocolate FactoryFirst published in 1964 with whimsical illustrations by Joseph Schindelman, Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory became an instant...


Resources

Someone Else’s Life

By:

BOOK TALK
When Rosie’s mum, Trudie, passes away from a genetic disease, Rosie is torn about whether or not she should take the test to find out if she has the gene for developing Huntington’s...

The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel)

By: James Dashner

BOOK TALK
Who suspected that there were men and woman evil enough to destroy civilization and mankind by infecting a mass of people with a highly contagious mutating disease that causes rage and lunacy?...

Happy Families

By: Tanita S. Davis

BOOK TALK

Two smart kids. Twins – a boy and a girl even. Home in the suburbs. Good schools and jobs. The Nicholas family was living the American Dream. At least that’s what sophomore twins...


A Million Miles from Boston

By: Karen Day

Book Talk
Lucy can’t wait for summer at the Point!  Her family spends every summer in this idyllic and sacred spot on the coast of Maine. Ever since her mom died from cancer when Lucy was six,...

The Books of Matt de la Pena

By: Matt de la Pena

Download Resource

You Against Me

By: Jenny Downham

BOOK TALK
A story that deals with sensitive issues of assault, this brave and unflinching novel is an honest and realistic portrayal when love comes between family bonds.  When Mikey’s sister claims...


You Against Me

By: Jenny Downham

If someone hurts your sister and you're any kind of man, you seek revenge.
If your brother's accused of a crime but says he didn't do it, you defend him.

When Mikey's sister claims a boy...

Download Resource

The City of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

BOOK TALK
Imagine living in a city that is running out of everything -- food, medicine, even electricity. Ember has no natural lighting -- only streetlamps that continually go out, thrusting the entire...